We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool collection!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuremberg Toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum)

Nuremberg Toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum)
Karlstrasse 13-15, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Sebald)
0911/2-31-31-64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 65 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty cool collection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We went here on a whim. We purchased a day pass for all the city museums and this was near the Albrecht Durer house so we thought we would kill an hour there before lunch! It was a great way to pass an hours worth of time. The dollhouse collection is crazy and the historical/regional toy collections are really cool!
If you have some spare time and are in the area (only a few minutes walk from Hauptmarkt, definitely check it out! (and the have good clean bathrooms which is always a bonus in that area!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    92
    27
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“my LO had great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This afternoon my LO had a wonderful place to play himself and with other kids. The museum has three floors and a playroom full of toys, table games and wooden bricks which was my LO's favorite and we spent all afternoon there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“fun but overwhelming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

this museum covers toys thru the ages…and there are lots of toys of every kind on every floor. we paid one euro extra for the english audio guide which was a good decision as it takes you thru the highlights in each section. otherwise, it would have been hard to decide what to look at.

if you read german, you could spend hours here. it took us about 2 hours to follow the 'guided' tour. our main disappointment was that the electric train wasn't running. it would have been more fun to see it go : )

i especially enjoyed the various dollhouses and miniatures. there's also a sizeable doll collection which we skipped (i like their houses better).

no photography is allowed.

lockers available with a 1 euro deposit which is refunded

i think the museum management is missing an income opportunity - a museum shop with TOYS would be a great addition to their site.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Even if you think, like I did, this would be dull, think again. Incredible selection of toys and games going back centuries. Brought back some memories of childhood toys and showed the history of some toys today. Some very ingenious toys from yesteryear. Includes historic toys, games and puzzles with specific areas for dolls, doll houses, trains and other models. Most displays are in German but they do have a handheld device for other languages to explain it all (although you have to ask for it as it was not offered). Worth a look.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Journey back into childhood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This Museum is tucked away off the central square and is contained in the upper floors of a house above a Café.
It contains a large collection of toys to evoke memories of childhood for both boys and Girls, from early wooden toys, through to electric slot car racing, small armies of lead soldiers in many guises solids, flats and continental semi round figures and Britain’s hollow casts. A vast commercial display of “Steiff” animals to delight collectors of such, including unique examples only ever included in such large shop displays. Space toys, railway layouts, Trains in just about every gauge.
Interestingly a small collection of pre-war German soldiers including rare and not so often seen personality figures including “Hitler” and his staff car and Post war Swiss military figures made from the earlier German moulds. Tinplate battleships from the middle of the 19th Century to WW2 pocket Battleship models.
Plus dolls in all shapes and sizes, associated dolls clothing, Dolls houses and a considerable collection of cars and commercial vehicles from many countries.
Overall worth the visit, an interesting trip back to childhood well displayed. Wheelchair access to most of it with internal lifts, Toilet facilities are available in the Café below. Only open Tuesday to Sunday.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuremberg Toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum) also viewed

 

Been to Nuremberg Toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuremberg Toy Museum (Spielzeugmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.