We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting medieval artifacts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Germanisches Nationalmuseum

Germanisches Nationalmuseum
Kartausergasse 1, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
49-911-1-33-10
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Germanisches Nationalmuseum like an insider
$248*
and up
Ranked #10 of 146 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting medieval artifacts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This museum had a wide range of artifacts dating back to prehistory and an excellent armoury display.Don't expect the British Museum or the Louvre here but it is very well laid out. Again, as with so many things in Nuremburg, most of the displays are accompanied by German only text. I recommend checking out the art as well. They have a rembrandt self portrait and Durer's works as well as Messerschmit's monstrosities. Students get a discount.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    77
    21
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic Array of Items”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of this museum. We had a few hours to kill after visiting the Christmas market, and since it was near the train station (and free on Wednesday nights), it fit the bill. And it might have been the best museum we saw in all of Germany. Everything from old weapons, art, and various other treasures were scattered through the museum. Other reviewers were correct that the layout is a bit confusing, but that shouldn't stop you from checking it out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent but VERY confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

An excellent museum with something to appeal to all tastes. Very large - you need a long time to get round particularly (if you are like us) you find it very confusing. The map they provide is far from clear on how to get from one section to another and the signs are not particularly helpful either. The staff (many or maybe most of whom seem to speak some English) help when they can but unless you have many hours to spare be prepared to miss much of what is there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A surprising delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very big museum on the theme of German culture and history (and pre-history). Great artifacts well presented with English text as well as German. Do push open the doors that seem closed as there are hidden treasures in the enormous complex of older passageways and buildings.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Confusing, but informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This museum, which had extremely helpful staff, was very confusing to figure out.

It is very large and I could've spent at least a day or a day and a half looking all around it. The museum has quite an extensive history into the beauty and pride of all that is Germany. NOTE: the history stops before the 2nd world war. This is probably so because that information is pretty much all over Germany. It was actually refreshing to see all things that make up the greatness of Germany. Almost all of the exhibits had German information with some basic information in English next to it. That was nice. I didn't get the audio guide so I can't comment on that. I still enjoyed myself though.

There is a nice café attached to it that my wife and I were able to sit with our dog while we took turns going through the museum. It is worth going for the vast amount of information, but be aware that it is very confusing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Germanisches Nationalmuseum also viewed

 

Been to Germanisches Nationalmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Germanisches Nationalmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.