We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albrecht Durer House

Albrecht Durer House
Albrecht-Durer-Strasse 39, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Sebald)
49-911-2-31-25-68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

As a long-time fan of Durer (also called the Leonardo Da Vinci of Germany) I thought it was quite informative. The English audio guide is a bit silly with the "voice" of Agnes Durer and even though the house has been reconstructed you still get a feeling of what life must have been like in his time. There are some of his art pieces (of course copies) and on the top floor is what was his workshop which I thought was quite interesting. There is also a small museum shop across the street when you exit the museum with nice souvenirs and copies of his work.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    65
    30
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Okay if you are in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After reading the reviews we didn't know whether to look forward to the AD house or to dread it. It ended up being a little bit of both. There is a small museum and an audio guide (with the pretend voice of Agnes Durer) telling a little about their life. Would have been more interesting if the audio guide didn't keep saying things like, "of course this room is not exactly like it was in my day..." or "this is not the same furniture I would have had," etc. One upstairs room is dedicated to his paintings--sort of... [They are all copies painted by other artists.] Like so much of Nuremberg after the WW2 bombings, this house has been reconstructed. Probably would have liked it better if I had only spent about 2-3 Euros instead of 5. They did give me a voucher for a free postcard from the gift shop area for visiting that day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahuhara
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If there is nothing else to do...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very small museum of Durer's house - only one room with the copies of his paintings (no originals), the rest are the rooms were he lived, including a kitchen, living rooms and studios. Quite dull to my taste.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I know next to nothing about art, but I've loved Durer's work since I was a kid: the Hare, the Owl, his famous self-portrait.
There aren't any originals here, but the visitor can see his workshop complete with the type of tools and equipment he used. The audio guide, narrated by his "wife" Agnes is a hoot as well as being informative. Be aware that it's just below the castle, so you'll have a bit of a climb getting there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The athmosphere, the bier it's great. Be sure that you order your "schweinehaxen" in time, otherwise they may run out.

I would recommend it for everybody

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albrecht Durer House also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Albrecht Durer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albrecht Durer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.