We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Save Saved
You added Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We wanted to be close to the Altstadt so that the car could be dispensed with. This hotel is about as close as it gets. It's easy to find with SatNav bringing you to the front of the hotel. Yes, the hotel is a little worn perhaps. I think this adds to its charm. Yes, there is no aircon but as brits, we're not used to that. Powerful fans are provided.

The staff are very helpful and speak good English.

Breakfast is excellent with hot and the usual buffet fare.

We're coming back for the Christkindlmarkt. Nuff said?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
27
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five days. The location is perfect, literally a few minutes walk from the train station, you can walk through the underground and come out onto Konigstrasse and the hotel is less than a minutes walk from there. we were on the third floor and had a lovely room overlooking Konigstrasse. By now I have worked out that there are very few hotels in Germany with air conditioning and this was one of them. We left the windows open most of the time and when the noise of the street became too much we switched on the fan and closed over the windows. Our room was a good size, not the biggest double room I have ever stayed in but I liked the fact that we had great views from the windows. The lift was a bit shaky so we only used it for bringing our luggage up to the room and back down when we were leaving. We got used to the stairs after a while!! I am reliably informed by management that the lift is checked every month to ensure it is working properly and as a result this would not deter me from staying at this hotel again. The people working on reception and in the dining room were helpful and friendly at all times. The breakfast was nice, there was an okay choice of food but I would prefer if the food was kept covered especially when the weather was so hot. The tourist information office is just around the corner and the hotel is located in the old town so everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet then request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights when temperature was in the mid 30s. The hotel, like many in Germany, had no air conditioning but fans are supplied and windows open wide to give some relief. Our superior room was large with comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Hairdrier, safe and kettle were all included (though no milk to go with the tea). There's good free wifi (a code and password is required for each machine). The breakfast buffet is extensive with everything you could want. It's location is a 10 minute walk to the market place. Overall, no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansted
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I think this hotel is overpriced for what it provides. It was very hot, there is no air conditioning (apparently in Germany they don't use air conditioning, which I found amusing), just electric fans. The room we were given was their standard room, however it was too small and very hot, with the window open we could hear a constant engine noise which apparently was the wash room, we asked to change rooms and we upgraded to a room at the front which was fine. The staircase is spectacular, the lift very old and small. The "computer room" is a laptop on top of a high table so you have to stand to see the screen, we couldn't make it work. We couldn't make the ice machine work either, but we didn't ask for help. The breakfast was fine and the lady who works there was very kind and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located. Nuremberg is a great city with plenty to do. There is a Nuremberg card at the tourist office near the hotel which costs 23 euros and lasts for 2 days, this allows free public transport and entrance to all the city attractions, we went to the zoo, the castle, the museum, Duhrer's house and the caves, if you go to the caves take some warm clothing because it is very cold down there. The bar immediately outside the hotel is very slow with it appears only one waitress who isn't the friendliest person in the city. The Istanbul Turkish restaurant over the road from the hotel is very good and reasonably priced. The only place to change cash is at the train station, but there are plenty of ATMs everywhere. The beer is reasonably priced but difficult to understand. I fully recommend a visit to this city, but this hotel needs to reduce its prices or improve its services, at the end of the day we had a great time though in Nuremberg.

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday, just prior to our departure from this beautiful Franken city, we stopped for a simple lunch at the inviting patio of this historic property. It was 1:00pm and apparently there was only one server on duty over the lunch period. After 15minutes, she arrived to take our drink order. We asked to order our lunches as we were somewhat short of time before our train departure. 4 soups and a pretzel. 30 minutes later we inquired how the order was coming and were asked it we wanted the soup hot. Her attitude was surly and unfriendly. When the order finally came, it was incomplete. She made no offer to complete it and we quickly ate it, paid the bill and left. This incident was totally unexpected at this 4 star property and we would be unable to recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Nuremburg. Our room was not very large, but it had a very large bathroom and was quite comfortable. The location is outstanding for enjoying the extensive fussgangerzone (pedestrian zone) in central Nuremburg. We came by car, and the hotel has a limited number of dedicated parking spots in the narrow alley behind the building -- a little tough to find at first, but actually very convenient for a city center location. I was disappointed that our schedule only allowed us to spend one night here; we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Perfect location in the center (many chain hotels ring the city, not quite as walkable/picturesque). We splurged on a suite and it was divine. Contrasting with the more traditional appearance of the rest of the hotel, the suite had modern furniture and hardware floors, without sacrificing old world charm. Plenty of room for our little family--separate large BR for us with ample room for baby bed; older son loved his comfortable bed in the living area. There were at least six windows in the rooms, which was lovely. Cool enough at night; despite a little outside noise, great sleeping conditions. Excellent service, fantastic breakfast. Should we return, would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.