We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and character ... would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg to your Saves list
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great location and character ... would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip for a convention at the nearby messe hall. The location is outstanding for this purpose, only 2 blocks from the train station on the main street into the old city. Trains available from Munich/airport and Frankfurt airport, about 2 hours from each one. (Munich = 40 min on S bahn, 1 connection then 70 min, Frankfurt = 2.5 hrs from airport). Local Nuremberg subway is approx 15 minutes to the fairgrounds.

In the evenings after the convention we could return to our rooms in less than 30 min, the meet again soon for dinner. There are several good local restaurants within a couple of blocks from this hotel and many more within 20 min walk around the old city. Nuremberg is a charming place, nice to spend a few days.

Upon check-in there was some confusion about my reservation and the clerk said I was "upgraded" to a superior room. I'm not sure how it compared to a "standard" room, but frankly it was still very small like a European single room. The shower and bath were new marble, the bed was comfortable, and the windows could be opened. Maybe the new marble bath was "superior"? In any case, I was comfortable enough there. (One small issue: the bed pillow was like a cream puff, soft but nothing in it. I had to fold the extra bed blanket and put it under the pillow to have enough support. They need to stock some firmer pillows)

Breakfast was okay. There was an assortment of meats, cheeses, fruit, etc. but nothing spectacular. Definitely good enough.

The staff was friendly and made me feel welcome. The building is typical of an older center-city European hotel, a bit worn but working fine.

Overall I enjoyed my trip and would probably choose this hotel again if staying in Nuremberg, for business or for pleasure. The hotel staff and character combined with the great location make it a very good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
36
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Some hotels you just love even if there are some small cons. When we entered the hotel and saw the reception which was incorporated in the wall I understood this will be a good night! Walking up the stairs was like staying in a Spanish Parador. The lady in the reception was utterly helpful. We had a superior room (Always book a superior room to avoid getting the hotels smallest rooms)! The room was very nice and the we had a good breakfast in the morning. The cons? The Wifi didn't work in our room and some maintenance work should have been done, but we had a great stay! The position of the hotel is ideal; just a couple of minutes from the railway station and close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

No idea why this hotel is rated so low down on this site, we loved our stay here. This was our third visit to Nuremberg and was definitely the best hotel so far. It is very atmospheric (there is some history to this place both good and bad) we had a room on the front above the big balcony which was surprisingly quiet, comfortably furnished and spacious. A big bowl of fresh fruit was provided in the room and there are bowls of fruit in public areas for guests to help themselves from. The bathroom was small but had all we needed, all linens were good quality and the whole place was spotlessly clean with public areas having some nice rugs and furniture.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice both hot and cold including sparkling wine. The staff clearly take great pride in the hotel and this shows in their genuine hospitality and friendliness. The location is excellent it is a very easy walk from the main train station yet right in the downtown shopping and 10 mins to the historic area near the castle.

Can't wait to go back, we always have a good time in this often overlooked city and will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room for one night for 134 euros and was extremely disappointed with my stay, so much so I left the hotel as soon as I booked the ibis down the road for 69 euros, the ibis being a far superior hotel than this. The first "standard" room we were given had a damp matted carpet around the shower area, black marks all over the walls and the decor of a horror movie asylum. I complained to front desk, saying I was not satisfied with the quality of the room for the money, to which I was told they were actually charging more on a walk in rate. I then said the room in no way reflected what was advertised online, to which I was told "the pictures online for standard rooms are actually of superior rooms". She tried to up sell me a room but having already said it was sold under false advertising, she said I could have a superior room for no additional charge. I transferred to the superior room which was quite old fashioned ( not in the good way), but upon closer inspection I would not have wanted to walk bare foot on the carpet as it was dirty, full of holes and matted. The woman I spoke to seemed un phased by my complaint, almost treating our conversation as a game( I am not the type of complainer who gets angry or shouts). With the poor state of the rooms, actual keys and little security on the front door, we felt very disappointed, concerned for our belongings security and let down by the hotel. Needless to say don't stay here unless you like dirty, maingy rooms that smell musty, there are much cheaper and nicer basic hotels in Nuremberg.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XXXIII, Manager at Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Gentlemen,

It is most unfortunate for your negativity towards your very brief visit. However during your approximate 15-minute stay, you used various furnishings of the booked room, then left the hotel without paying and we never charged for this service. Needless to say, so far we have not charged your credit card for the amount of the room price owed.
To allow the experience of style, comfort, willingness to provide service, individuality and the attention given to local preferences and cultural traditions is not a price issue in our hotel but our strict commitment, even we are very conscious indeed of the fact that not everyone values these criteria– as is the case with you.

Against this background, we were not surprised that in your evaluation you purposely recommend the offer and room price of a neighboring hotel located on the same street. This hotel is part of an international company group whose hotel brand distinguishes itself by a very modest, sparse supply and the promise of worldwide uniformity irrespective of the location.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "security“: Our reception staff works 24/7, the top-quality key system is coded and the keys cannot be copied. If a key is lost, the entire lock must be replaced. Every room has direct dialing telephones with emergency numbers and a large, high-quality safe with electronic combination lock that in the premium rooms even has capacity for 17-inch notebooks. At night, our staff makes several rounds throughout the hotel and the closest police station is roughly 200 yards away. In addition, we have various hidden security measures in place that I cannot discuss, of course. In the past decades, no person has ever been assaulted and there has been no incursion into the property of a guest.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "wall-to-wall carpet": Our rooms are furnished with fine wood parquet or wall-to-wall carpet. The latter is vacuumed thoroughly and chemically cleaned and disinfected every day. The room you used and complain about is furnished with a high-quality, emission-free virgin wool carpet (the presumably “felted” spots you complained about are in fact unavoidable seams of the natural material!) and there are hygienically packaged terry-towel slippers available at no charge, as in all premium "Kaiserhof" rooms. The existence of these slippers unfortunately escaped your attention.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "old fashioned - but not in a good way": Many of our guestrooms are individually furnished with original, restored antiques – in stylish combination with contemporary functional furniture. We regret that you did not give our staff the opportunity to explain to you this misunderstanding, which was yours.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is not luxurious, but it is clean and comfortable. However the location, breakfast and staff are excellent. It is inside the old city just 5 mins walk from the railway station and metro. Access to the airport on the subway is easy. It is also on the edge of the pedestrian area with many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is an extensive selection of fruit, cereal, meats, cheeses, breads and juices available at breakfast. All the staff I met spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great location, right in the old part of the city with the pedestrian walkways all around. Small city so could walk everywhere. Walking distance from the main train station. Beautiful old building. When we were there the hotel was renovating many of their rooms so we were given one of their suites which was very comfortable particularly the beds. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke English as our Germany was limited. My son particularly liked their fitness room which was very well equipped for a small area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff- parking was a slight problem as the hotel car park was full, however you can park in certain areas of the street free of charge from early evening to 8 am the following day. The room we stayed in was clean and had everything needed however the bathroom was extremely small (room 27). The hotel is in an excellent location and there is a great bar right next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.