We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg to your Saves list
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is not luxurious, but it is clean and comfortable. However the location, breakfast and staff are excellent. It is inside the old city just 5 mins walk from the railway station and metro. Access to the airport on the subway is easy. It is also on the edge of the pedestrian area with many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is an extensive selection of fruit, cereal, meats, cheeses, breads and juices available at breakfast. All the staff I met spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
33
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great location, right in the old part of the city with the pedestrian walkways all around. Small city so could walk everywhere. Walking distance from the main train station. Beautiful old building. When we were there the hotel was renovating many of their rooms so we were given one of their suites which was very comfortable particularly the beds. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke English as our Germany was limited. My son particularly liked their fitness room which was very well equipped for a small area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff- parking was a slight problem as the hotel car park was full, however you can park in certain areas of the street free of charge from early evening to 8 am the following day. The room we stayed in was clean and had everything needed however the bathroom was extremely small (room 27). The hotel is in an excellent location and there is a great bar right next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

On our way to the bavarian Forest was Nuernberg the perfect stop. A city you would not visit so easlily, but excellent for a stopover to see in half a day. The hotel is smack in the "old" center (Nuernberg was mostly destroyed in 1945, so most you see is recontruction) and the untouched Imperial castle is definetely worth a visit. The hotel looks very nice from the outside, but needs some work on the inside. Since we travel with two small children, we always look for larger accommodations, which we also enjoyed at the Deutscher Kaiser, we had a one bedroom suite on a high floor. The room was nice, but smaller than we had hoped. The public spaces are basic and a little tired. The breakfast was average for Germany, which is good by any other standard. Good for a one night stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We just stayed in the fourth floor suite, which they had upgraded us to because it was empty. All the hotel reception staff were lovely and very friendly. They also let us leave our luggage there for most of the day after we'd checked out *and* let us go to our room as early as 11 am because we came on a morning flight. The suite was fab, breakfasts generous and very nicely prepared. If we return we would definitely go back there. It's not the cheapest hotel in the town, but we couldn't fault a single thing about it and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: It might be that the bigger the room is, the nicer it is, judging from some reviews here. It's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Spent a mid-week holiday in Nuremberg. We made a mistake in train reservations and hotel reservation dates. Hotel staff very politely shifted our reservation to match our train travel plans. The hotel is a grand old building. Public areas are a bit bland with antique furniture placed randomly in public areas. There was a floor by floor cosmetic overhaul going on while we were there (that didn't impact our lodgings) that should address some of the previous comments about this property.

Rooms were nice but plain. Beds comfortable and for the price rather spacious room size by German standards. Front desk help was solicitious and polite. Definitely will return again in 2012. Reasonable price but not necessarily a bargain but certainly better than the cookie cutter world of chain hotels located nearby.

All in all a nice choice that facilitated having a nice time in Nuremberg during the week before Christmas 2011.

Room Tip: Room 35 has a nice view of the Fussganger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asserballeskov
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Check in was a nightmare they do not seem to have control of their reservation system, two of our party were told to come back to reception if the rooms were occupied already.
There was a very strange smell in the lift would suggest you use the stairs if you have to stay here. one of our party had to change his room as the shower didnt work, another complained that his shower head was broken and nothing was done despite us being there for three days.
The place is shabby and poorly maintained with no service.
the only redeeming feature was a half decent breakfast.
million dollar question would I stay here again, definitely not very poor value at 145 euros per night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Konigstrasse 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.