We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Save Saved
You added Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knorrstrasse 2-8, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Gostenhof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simple but nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I liked my staying in this Hotel although I think the hotels in Nuremberg in general are quite expensive, so, it was good for the price, comparing to the others. It is a simple 3 star hotel with a nice location from where you can walk and see the main center. The stuff is sympathetic and helpful and the breakfast is very nice served in a cozy place; the stuff for breakfast is also very kind and sweet. The Hotel outside is cute, a building like an old times. I recommend it. Be aware, it is not a 4 or 5 stars but it is good and familiar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
21
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Steichele at the beginning of September. The location was great, close to the Altstadt. As we had arrived in Nuremberg by train late in the evening, although we knew we had to get off at Weisser Turm U-bahn station, we were unable to find the hotel and would have been walking round for some time were it not for a helpful couple who located it for using a mobile phone!

The hotel is traditionally German and is also a restaurant. Food is OK and service average. Our room was on the fourth floor, reached by the smallest and most old-fashioned lift I have ever seen. The room was very small and hot with no air conditioning in 33 degrees of heat. Bathroom was tiny and shower cubicle raised up off the floor which I found to be rather dangerous when getting out as you had to step down with nothing to hold on to.

One thing that we really enjoyed was the plentiful breakfast, however the staff were not particularly pleasant.

I am a fan of traditional German hotels but found the Steichele to be disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't choose the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I found this Hotel to be very good, the location was excellant for sight seeing around the city centre. My room was good and their breakfast of a good standard. I was most impressed
with the Restaurant and the food was great. Staff very helpful to a non german speaking
person.I ate there both nights I stayed and would stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had one night here and found it convenient for the centre of Nurnberg. It is in a quiet side street, our room at the back was very quiet. Parking is in the multi story almost opposite the hotel - expensive but you get a discount from the hotel reception.
We arrived at 11am but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in early. The room is a little dated in appearance and the bathroom was very small but both were nice and clean. We booked an evening meal in the restaurant, which was just as well as it was full when we eat there. Breakfast was ok, not the best that we experienced in Germany and the staff didn't seem to fill up items as they finished. Not bad - just OK.
The wifi didn't seem to work for us but it wasn't a big deal and we didn't take issue with it.
Nice stay overall and fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good location, next to metro station and at the old city centre. Very good breakfast and nice breakfast room.
Room was quite big, but it had a very bad smell (like mold smell). The room and furniture was very old, carpet very old and dirty. Bathroom small and awful decoration and colour. Needs renovation. No staff at the reception, you should always wait until somebody come from the restaurant. Only for one night stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 7/2013. Location is great, peaceful little street within walkingdistance from the centre. Service is friendly and you'll get all the info you need from the reception, they are very helpful. Rooms are comfortable, perhaps a little retro, but very clean and in good shape. Wifi is working not so good in the room, but in public areas perfect. Breakfast has coldcuts, cheese, breadrolls etc. All you need to start the day.
Do not miss the terrace of this hotel/weinstube. Good vinelist with menu of local specialties. We had fish, and it was very good.
We can recommend this hotel, when visiting Nurnberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed for a weekend at the Hotel Steichele and was very glad to see that it was an authentic Bavarian experience. The newer building hotel is attached to the very traditional and historic restaurant ( this building escaped bombing during WW2 so it is absolutely authentic and the restaurant decor has been left in situ ) You can eat roast venison and imagine the people that came before you over the past 100 years ! My room was modern and comfortable with a pillow and duvet cover of pure cotton and airy goose feathers. The weekend buffet breakfast is served until 11 am which is late for most German standards, so if you need a rest this is great. The owner is friendly and charming and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has many extra touches such as umbrellas you can borrow, allergy free pillows.I highly recommend this hotel for an authentic experience especially since a great deal of hotels in Nurnberg are either chain type or in modern buildings.

Room Tip: The hotel has an elevator and the rooms are on 4 floors so there is no problem in transporting your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Address: Knorrstrasse 2-8, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Gostenhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steichele, Hotel And Weinrestaurant
Steichele Hotel Nuremberg
Steichele Hotel Weinrestaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.