We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt to your Saves list
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koenigstrasse 74 | 90402 Nurnberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I had to stay here for a night, and it was poor value at €89. Room was rather basic. Hot water was only lukewarm when I went to bed at midnight, which is something that has never happened to me before in a decent hotel! Beware the patchy wi-fi coverage: even though you pay for it, there are some rooms in which it simply doesn't work (the odd rooms located halfway between floors), meaning I had to catch up on work sitting on the stairs. Location is excellent, but this isn't really a plus: there are a large number of hotels in Nuremberg which is a very compact city, so unless you can get this in a really cheap deal I would suggest trying elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    218
    75
    14
    6
See reviews for
78
178
54
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This ibis is located superbly and is a very friendly and comfortable hotel. In the Königstrasse it is just minutes away from the main trainstation and the subway station there. With the subway one can ride directly to the airport. So arrival by train or plane is a breeze.
Right next store to the hotel is Der Beck, a wonderful place for breakfast sandwiches (or sandwiches at any time of day) and a variety of coffee/tee drinks.
Nearby is the Mauthalle with its basement restaurant and brewery. Very tasty food and beer. Proceeding farther toward the city center, one finds the Lorenzkirche (St. Laurence Church) with its breathtaking artpieces and various organs. It's a beautiful gothic structure and offers frequent concerts.
We were in Nuremberg at Christmas. So we made daily walks (5-10 min. depending on how much window-shopping one did on the way) to the central market square to Christmas Market (Christkindlesmarkt).
The hotel's accommodations were comfortable, clean, and modern. The room was a little bit on the small side, but that is common, and we didn't spend much time in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful for a wide variety of activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This small hotel is very close to the main railway station, at the end of Konigstrasse. It is a typical no-frills Ibis hotel, with clean, simple rooms. My room was larger than expected, bigger than other Ibis rooms that I've stayed in. The price was 44-48 per night, excl. breakfast, which is 10 euro.

Bathroom (shower, no bath) was simple, clean, as expected.

There is a small Aldi supermarket across the street, and a good Irish pub called Finnegan's a few doors away. The Irish pub in the basement of the hotel isn't great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all, I think it is nearly impossible to find a better location in Nuremberg if you want to visit the WWII Nazi sights and the Alstadt area. If you arrive by train or bus, you walk right out to the hotel. There is a TI across the street, restaurants all around you and easy connections to public transportation. The room itself was very clean, modern and quiet. The staff was friendly. It's not a 5 star resort or spa but it's a comfortable, clean room within easy reach of all the sights you could want to see. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

What you need if you are traveling in very limited time, absolutely LOCATION.
This hotel has prime location, in the old town of Nurnberg, 3 minutes walk to the Main station, Tourist office across the hotel, surrounded by restaurants, easy to get public trans, etc. We feel like we have big room for european size hotel and we had smoking room which is difficult to find in the very budget hotel like this. Definitely very recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Smoking room. We had a city view on the top floor with spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had the same positive experience as @ehelden and others. A small, clean and simple room for not a lot of money is all that one needs since you should be out exploring the historic Aldstadt, the old city. Or out eating at numerous great restaurants nearby (I picked Istanbul, literally two doors down; reviewed elsewhere).

The floors are hardwood, of pretty decent quality, which I prefer to carpets infected with all sorts of germs and odd smells.

Lots of electrical outlets to charge your gadgets (if you're not European, I hope that you have enough adapters!).

The Internet access is paid, by M-3 Communications. They offer Accor packages of up to a week and nothing in their FAQ's (German and English) indicate if it can be used in other properties besides this Ibis, if you are moving around.

Room Tip: If you're staying at other Accor hotels in Germany on an excursion, find out if M-3's weekly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichenau b Muenchen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent one night ,because we had an early flight and we live near Munich.The night and the location was perfect ,the staff was very friendly and plan on coming back in the summer to see the old city of Nürnberg..Thank you for a stress free night before our vacation.


Ernst

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Address: Koenigstrasse 74 | 90402 Nurnberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#17 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the railway station and 7 km from the airport, the Ibis Nüernberg Altstadt hotel is located in the heart of the old city. Book one of our 53 rooms, all with Wifi Internet access. The hotel also features a bar, a 24 hr snack service andundercover public pay parking. The centre of Nuremberg is 800 m away. The Meistersingerhalle cultural and convention centre is 4 km away, and the Opernhaus is 200 m from the hotel. The Nuremberg Arena is 4 km away. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.