We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in nice city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt to your Saves list
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koenigstrasse 74 | 90402 Nurnberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good choice in nice city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

An easy walk via an underground passage from the train station and you find the IBIS Altstadt in an excellent location, right on the pedestrian zone in the Altstadt.

The hotel is the usual IBIS standard (which I think is good) and the room I stayed in (and another one I saw) seemed to have been remodelled recently. I had a room at the back overlooking the square which fronts onto the new museum and it was quiet. I could imagine, as others have noted, that a room in the front may have some noise.

Value for money and a good choice in a nice city. I'll stay here again next time.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    203
    73
    14
    5
See reviews for
73
163
52
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt is very convenient, just a short walk from the central train station and on the main street of Nuernberg's pedestrian way in the Altsadt. Typical Ibis quality standards with the exception that our room seemed to be the largest Ibis room we've ever been in. Breakfast was good and the large breakfast room well-lit and designed. The only small downside is that Nuernberg's peep shows and sex clubs are on the next block and outside noise can be a little distracting in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hard to believe this is only a 2 star. It was a fabulous hotel in a great location just inside the walls of Nurnberg. Rooms were large, clean and even had views.Not only would we recommend, but we will go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Unfriendly, disinterested reception female staff
.Parking arrangements, described on the Internet, misleading, as one can only park, for a high fee, in public car park or 2 hrs metre parking max on street.
Female reception staff smoking inside & in 2's in front of hotel door......
28th December 2011
Verena O'Brien

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were welcomed friendly, but the next morning ,because of firealarm, we had to hurry out off the room. Couldn't take a shower. It was false alarm, but we could not here that in our room! There was no sorry for that. After this we noticed our car was broken in, while it was in the 'garded'! parkinggarage!!. It was not a nice beginning of our Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

This Hotel is moderately priced but offers good value. Close to train station and most Nuremberg sites. Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

For business or pleasure, i always prefer Accor group hotels. They call Ibis as 2 start but trust me, it can compete with 3 stars of most hotel and hotel chains.
Location is perfect, close to Christmas market as well as train station. Not noisy and not too much walking. Just perfect for couple wishing to enjoy Christmas market.
Room given at first was smoked though it was no smoking... some crazy visitor i m sure. But replacement was given immediately at the busiest of the weekend. New room was very good, facing street, well protected, windows do open, AC works fine. Cleanliness is very good... If you have stayed in Novotel, you know what I am talking about.
All in all, great experience. Next time Nuremberg market = stay at this hotel only!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Address: Koenigstrasse 74 | 90402 Nurnberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the railway station and 7 km from the airport, the Ibis Nüernberg Altstadt hotel is located in the heart of the old city. Book one of our 53 rooms, all with Wifi Internet access. The hotel also features a bar, a 24 hr snack service andundercover public pay parking. The centre of Nuremberg is 800 m away. The Meistersingerhalle cultural and convention centre is 4 km away, and the Opernhaus is 200 m from the hotel. The Nuremberg Arena is 4 km away. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.