We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuremberg's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agneshof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agneshof to your Saves list
Hotel Agneshof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agnesgasse 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nuremberg's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am loathed to tell everyone how great this hotel is, as both my wife and I consider it Nuremberg's, and of course our, best kept secret!
This is not 5 star uber modern with all the bells and whistles, nor does it pretend to be.
The Agneshof is a great 3-4 star hotel in a great part of the old town,in a safe welcoming and residential area.
We walked around the area at all times of the day and night and only encountered friendly locals.
The staff were very helpful, all spoke excellent English and made some great recommendations for local places to eat.
Everything you want is on your doorstep and a 10-12 minute walk to the centre of Nuremberg.
A charming, clean and well run hotel and the only place i would stay when in Nuremberg.
Book with no hesitation, this place will not disappoint!
WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello David G, Thank you for providing us with your honest comments on trip advisor, we truly appreciate you taking the time to do this. We particularly had been pleased to read your comment "the staff were very helpful". Our top priority is to ensure in any interaction we have with our guests, we are always coming across in a friendly and personable manner, and it is wonderful to know that your experience has been just that. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our 3-star-hotel soon. Best regards, your Agneshof Nuremberg · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    153
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
52
135
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

An ideal touristic location in the Altstadt, the Old City, impeccable, simple but well-appointed rooms at a reasonable rate are certainly enough reasons to come back to the Hotel Agneshof Nürnberg. Yes, breakfast was fresh, delicious, and copious and the street was quiet. The chief reason I will look no further in future visits: its welcoming, knowledgeable, and genuinely caring staff. The front desk staff are true concierges who speak perfect English but were willing to help me speak the little German I know. They helped find everything I needed in the beautiful city of Nürnberg. I have nothing less than praise to report.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello mmekaiser, thank you for your review of the Agneshof Nuremberg. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback regarding your recent stay, and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for mentioning how we have been able to make your stay feel like "a home away from home" which pleases us. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, the Agenshof Nuremberg · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Simple, small, yet efficient room in a great location within the city walls. Could walk all over in the city walls and also walked to a really cool cemetary outside of the walls. VERY EASY to take the bus to the Documentation Center which was the only thing we needed a bus for during our 2 night stay. Could have even spent another day. This hotel, in my opinion, is located in the nicer part of the walled city. Very close to the castle which was very cool. At night this area seemed quieter but you could safely walk to check out the more rowdy part of the walled city. This was our first 2 days in Germany andt we loved it! Glad we did it first in our trip. Not sure we would have appreciated it as much later in the trip.

Room Tip: No A/C but windows everywhere in Germany opened wide. A little warm but not bad at the beginning of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello Patty P, we are happy to hear that your two night stay was a great experience, especially since it was your first trip to Germany. And we are glad that the convenience of location was to your like and even though we were not able to accommodate you with an air conditioning in the room you enjoyed your stay. But if the temperature is uncommonly warm we can offer fans. We hope that in the future we will get another chance to welcome you back. Sincerely, your Agenshof Nuremberg · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable (quite nice for a 3 star hotel) and very good value for money. The bar area was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but this would only be an issue on very hot days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello Bri1966, first of all we would like to thank for your comments here on tripadvisor and we hope you had a safe trip back home. You are true we are not equipped with air conditioning. But if the temperature is uncommonly warm we can offer fans. That is why we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass this on to the team. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, the Agneshof Nuremberg · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Enjoyed a couple of nights here and was impressed with property, service and ambiance. Glad, asalwas, that everyone spoke better English than my German. Helpful with directions and got us a cabin less than 2 minutes.
Close to the castle in the northeast end of the old city yet easy walking distance to other sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello dwdwWausau_Wi, Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay and your recommendation. We are so pleased to see that we delivered the service you were expecting and that our location worked for you and your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Your team of the Agneshof Nuremberg · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel has very good location in the old town. So it is walking distance to the main attraction, or restaurants, epecially on Sunday night, when most of the restaurants are close.
Our room was in second floor, facing the inner garden. When we open the window, the scene was nice flowers and greens. So it is very relaxing. The room is bit small.
Servicing, when I check out, the receiption has some problem on my visa card, a lady, looks like manager, didt not spend too much time on it althought I told her I that they could try another option. And before settle my biling, she used the machine to settle billing for a gentleman behind me. I end up paid in cash. The attitude was very dispointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello benbenjia, we are happy to note that you found the location convenient and the rooms good. We do our best to ensure each guests time in the hotel is exceptional and apologize for any inconvenience that may have marred your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the information you provided, it is both constructive and beneficial. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, your Agneshof Nuremberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is the perfect place if you are visiting Nuernberg.
Location: 2 minutes from Hauptmarkt.
Rooms: excellent for the price.
breakfast: amazing, we loved it!
staff: very helpful
PLUS you don't get to pay much for all that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Hotel Agneshof, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello BerlinLoversSummer, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Agneshof in December 2012. We are delighted that our location and facilities are well-suited to your needs, and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in this venture. Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to Nuremberg in the near future. Kind regards, the team of the Agneshof · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agneshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agneshof

Address: Agnesgasse 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agneshof 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel mit mediterran-frankischem Flair mitten in der malerischen Altstadt von Nurnberg. Das Hotel Agneshof liegt ruhig und versteckt in der Agnesgasse, zwischen Sebaldkirche und Kaiserburg, im am besten erhaltenen Viertel der historischen Innenstadt. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Agneshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agneshof Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agneshof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.