We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do their best.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg to your Saves list
Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“They do their best.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

....which is not always enough. For a one night business stay, the Sheraton Nuremberg is absolutely fine, although quite expensive. But it offers a much better standard than the Le Meridien where I stayed a couple of weeks ago. Especially the rooms for one person are bigger (just normal double room). It's about 5 minutes walking from the station (take exit West....). As far as I have seen the hotel has been modernized and refurbushed in 2001. So everything is not brand new, but absolutely ok and well maintained. What I liked especially: Good choice of amenities and iron in every room. And very friendly staff. What i find a shame (but that, unfortunately, applies to many exoensive hotels): Asking a fee for the use of internet - just the first hour is for free.
But overall, a good and nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    115
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
93
49
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in Room 231 for two nights in December after a Main River Christmas Markets cruise and before taking an inter-city express (ICE) train direct to Frankfurt Airport Terminal One and our flight home. Hotel is very convenient to both the Nurnberg Christmas market stalls along Köingstrasse to the Hauptmarkt (gingerbread, bratwurst, glühwein, ‘plum people’ and handmade decorations) plus to the main train station just one block from the hotel’s front door. Turn right and walk over a few blocks to the Old Town; turn left and roll your luggage down the street, across the intersection (mind the bicycle lane) and up the ramp into the train station. I had requested a room on a higher floor but accepted a lower one which was ready when we arrived from the River Queen ship. None of the rooms has much of a view because the city has built up around the Sheraton. No problem because there is an outdoor terrace on the 8th floor (open even in winter) which overlooks the city -- train tracks, power station plus tower roof tops and church spires inside the walls of the old town. There is also a spa/gym on the top floor. Our room had a brown décor with beige carpet and curtains, dark wood doors, chairs, desk and closets but white duvet and linens. Not very inspiring but clean and quiet. The included breakfast in the Tafelhof Restaurant was good with hot and cold selections and an omelet station. The restaurant reopens for dinner at 6:00 PM but we wanted to eat early so went to their nearby Boymanns Bar which has a small food menu. The sausages with sauerkraut and salad plate with chicken were both excellent washed down with local beers on tap. Servers were attentive and even delivered our main courses under silver plate covers along with flatware in cloth napkins – nice touch. Our early checkout at 5:00 AM went smoothly as did our roll through the almost empty station to board the train. Would stay here again as a tourist or business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice room and SPA! Here are the problematic details:

- Service in the restaurant very slow, rack of lamb was overcooked and too salty.
- The shower "curtain" from glas on the bath-tub is too short, the bathroom is swamped with water after taking a normal shower. Very annoying!
- The bathroom heater stinks when you turn it on
- The cappuccino is good but not great

These details matter when expecting a 5-star service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucern, switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Sheraton in Nuernberg is a short walk to the train station (quite manageable with suitcases). The room was well appointed and of a good size (especially for a 'standard' room). The breakfast offerings were of the expected standard and very well priced. It is an easy walk into town and is well placed for the tourist. All in all, a good hotel and good value for money.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel was close to the Christmas markets and the rooms were quite clean and modern. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and the service staff at breakfast were quite accommodating. In addition, the hotel is very close to the train station, which makes travel so convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights after departing a Christmas Market riverboat tour and glad we did. The only bump in the road at this hotel was the first room we were given. The location on the 6th floor at the end of the hall, corner room and away from the elevator was everything we had requested prior to arrival however construction is ongoing right next door and the room had a wonderful view of the construction pit as well as a huge yellow building crane. No thanks! I have to say the front desk staff did go out of there way to accommodate our needs as requested but we were happy to take a room on the 4th floor overlooking the side street. It was a tad smaller since it was not a corner room but we were so busy exploring the old city and Christmas market that size didn't matter.
We had dinner in the hotel the first night due to snow and the food was quite good. We also had the breakfast buffet which was very satisfying, leisurely paced and plentiful.
It's an easy walk into the old city and all the sights, places and things we wanted to see & do were at most a 30 minute stroll away. Kaiserberg Castle is up hill but it is a lovely and leisurely stroll. We found Albrecht Dürer house very interesting and as we left our visit in started snowing which made our walk back to the hotel magical. The train depot is also a brief walk if one chooses to explore further from this location.
A very very interesting city to explore and glad we stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the ongoing construction site when given your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It's Christmas Eve here. We (2 adults / 2 young children) had arrived here from a long 24 hour drive and, before I get to the negatives, I have to point out that the staff are wonderful. From those serving on the desk to the porters. Particularly since, for emphasis, it's Christmas Eve.

The entrance is grandiose in a '90s style and kinda kitch with the promise of opulence. However once inside the room it's more of a tired looking and somewhat basic room. Couldn't get through on the phone (German voicemail), only German spoken on the TV, Room instructions pretty basic with no instruction for the internet. Lights seem either on or off even though it has a different set of switches - the room doesn't do ambience.

The bed was a double bed (with twin mattresses) and twin quilts that seem so popular in Germany which makes me wonder how they propagate the species. But maybe I am spoiled as I stayed in the Hilton in Zagreb which was modern, larger and cheaper. The room service food was pretty poor (dried spaghetti for the kid and fish that was OK but certainly not restaurant standard.

All in all - I would not stay here again but not because of the staff but the dire need of a revamp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Address: Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#7 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#26 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is pledged to cater to the highest standards. As a privately managed first-class hotel it is one of Nuremberg's prime locations. Welcome to the Franconian metropolis and its historical old town. Since 2003 Nuremberg's No. 1 in the major hotel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nuremberg
Sheraton Nuremberg
Nuremberg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.