We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg to your Saves list
Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights after departing a Christmas Market riverboat tour and glad we did. The only bump in the road at this hotel was the first room we were given. The location on the 6th floor at the end of the hall, corner room and away from the elevator was everything we had requested prior to arrival however construction is ongoing right next door and the room had a wonderful view of the construction pit as well as a huge yellow building crane. No thanks! I have to say the front desk staff did go out of there way to accommodate our needs as requested but we were happy to take a room on the 4th floor overlooking the side street. It was a tad smaller since it was not a corner room but we were so busy exploring the old city and Christmas market that size didn't matter.
We had dinner in the hotel the first night due to snow and the food was quite good. We also had the breakfast buffet which was very satisfying, leisurely paced and plentiful.
It's an easy walk into the old city and all the sights, places and things we wanted to see & do were at most a 30 minute stroll away. Kaiserberg Castle is up hill but it is a lovely and leisurely stroll. We found Albrecht Dürer house very interesting and as we left our visit in started snowing which made our walk back to the hotel magical. The train depot is also a brief walk if one chooses to explore further from this location.
A very very interesting city to explore and glad we stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the ongoing construction site when given your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    111
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
91
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It's Christmas Eve here. We (2 adults / 2 young children) had arrived here from a long 24 hour drive and, before I get to the negatives, I have to point out that the staff are wonderful. From those serving on the desk to the porters. Particularly since, for emphasis, it's Christmas Eve.

The entrance is grandiose in a '90s style and kinda kitch with the promise of opulence. However once inside the room it's more of a tired looking and somewhat basic room. Couldn't get through on the phone (German voicemail), only German spoken on the TV, Room instructions pretty basic with no instruction for the internet. Lights seem either on or off even though it has a different set of switches - the room doesn't do ambience.

The bed was a double bed (with twin mattresses) and twin quilts that seem so popular in Germany which makes me wonder how they propagate the species. But maybe I am spoiled as I stayed in the Hilton in Zagreb which was modern, larger and cheaper. The room service food was pretty poor (dried spaghetti for the kid and fish that was OK but certainly not restaurant standard.

All in all - I would not stay here again but not because of the staff but the dire need of a revamp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great food - good breakfast. Decent rooms and bathrooms. Good location - not too far from the Christmas Market, restaurants, and shopping. Helpful staff. Has elevators. Highly recommend it. Very Western.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the central train station. It is just outside the old city walls. The room was very nice and had all the convenience features that you would want. Internet access is not free if you want it at all times. They give you an hour free a day, and there are a couple of computers available for you to use. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are at this hotel and are interested in doing your own laundry, there is a self service coin operated laundromat about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, at Tafelfeldstrasse 42. The walk to the old town area is about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have been there a few times now for business trips and can say that this is a very nice business hotel. The rooms are very spacious and modern. The hotel has a nice little bar. Breakfast is also to recommend, there is nothing missing. The location of the hotel is also perfect, right across the central station.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but were very impressed with the size of the room (it had an extra bed tucked away in the corner which our teenage daughter loved), quality of the breakfast (very important to my German husband), view of the old town from the upper level hot tub/sauna and proximity to the train station and shopping/tourist attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times, I have also stayed in many other hotels in Nuremberg over the last 7 years and the Sheraton is a clear winner.
The staff and the hotel are very good and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are ample and spotlessly clean, the fitness centre is very good with a view over the city.
Whenever I'm in Nuremeberg I always try to get into the Sheraton if I can but it's a very busy town for trade fairs so my tip is to book well in advance if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Address: Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#5 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is pledged to cater to the highest standards. As a privately managed first-class hotel it is one of Nuremberg's prime locations. Welcome to the Franconian metropolis and its historical old town. Since 2003 Nuremberg's No. 1 in the major hotel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nuremberg
Sheraton Nuremberg
Nuremberg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.