We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only stayed here for one night but were very impressed with the size of the room (it had an extra bed tucked away in the corner which our teenage daughter loved), quality of the breakfast (very important to my German husband), view of the old town from the upper level hot tub/sauna and proximity to the train station and shopping/tourist attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    73
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
71
39
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times, I have also stayed in many other hotels in Nuremberg over the last 7 years and the Sheraton is a clear winner.
The staff and the hotel are very good and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are ample and spotlessly clean, the fitness centre is very good with a view over the city.
Whenever I'm in Nuremeberg I always try to get into the Sheraton if I can but it's a very busy town for trade fairs so my tip is to book well in advance if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This property has one of the best personality, friendliness, and helpfulness staff at the front desk. Good SPG recognition. Good in house restaurant for the area. Within walking distance of train station and old town sightseeing. The only negative is that the gym is too hot and small. However if you are undecided between this hotel and the other SPG Le Meridien, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A property with well-maintained rooms that are on the larger side for European accommodations that has a full complement of equally well-maintained amenities. The staff was very attentive (addressing me by name often) and the rooftop spa is a welcome retreat after a day of touring or business. While just outside of the city walls, it is an easy and short walk to most of the sights or to transportation that will take you there.

This is a modern hotel, and it comes with many of the welcome conveniences and expectations of that. In many ways, it exceeds those with an attentive staff and vigilant standards for maintenance. Bottom-line, if you are looking for a very nice product in Nuremberg that delivers in every area as promised, this is that property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great location near the old town- an easy walk under the main ring road. Parking was reasonable-- both underground and across the steet. Staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. We arrived midday on a Saturday and the room was available right away. Since it was a short stay, we did not use the spa. Room was a good size, perfectly clean. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina/virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I selected this hotel for its proximity both to the Old Town and to the main rail station which is the transportation hub. It lies within an easy walk of a couple of blocks of each. Our room was on the 6th floor -- spacious and spotlessly clean with comfortable chairs for sitting and reading as well as a desk for working. It may have been an upgraded room, because we were there for three nights over the weekend and there weren't many business travellers there at the time. The large bed was two separate twin beds side by side as is fairly normal for Europe "king beds". The mattress was the firm German type and the feather bed quilts were what I remembered from my stay in Germany as a student years ago. We slept like logs! The large windows on two sides opened up (being able to open windows is important to me) to a view that wasn't particularly scenic in terms of quaint buildings -- but we could see the trains come and go (and loved hearing them as we lay in bed at night -- a reminder of sounds of our childhood) and we could get fresh air. As a bonus we had a terrific view of the fireworks display at the end of a festival going on that weekend. Breakfast was included in our rate and the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. The very best thing about the hotel was the staff -- everyone from manager to maid. They were cheerful, friendly, helpful, and were calling us by name by the end of our stay. The hotel gives one free hour internet connection per day. To get access full time one must buy the time. It would be nice to have full time access without the fee. Parking is underground for a fee of 15 euros per night. We felt this was reasonable for a city hotel. I wanted to do one more museum stop on the morning of our departure and because the hotel wasn't fully booked was told not to worry if we weren't back until an hour or so after the normal check out time. I loved this hotel and would happily return. I think we had excellent value, but were there on a package rate as seniors over a weekend.

Room Tip: We were in room 624 -- very near elevator so at first I worried it would be noisy. We didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nürnberg is a fairly standard small city Sheraton. It is located, like a large number of hotels in German cities, within a short walk (300 metres) of the main railway station. Unlike many such hotels, it is convenient not only for rail travellers, but also for self-drive hire car travellers like us, because it has open air and undercover guest car parks.

The hotel also is well located as a base for walking around the beautiful extensively renovated and rebuilt old town of Nuremberg. Nearby are pedestrian tunnels to the old town which avoid the traffic on the busy Frauentorgraben and Bahnhofplatz. We walked a pleasant 5-6km loop return route through the old town, via its major churches, squares, bridges, waterways, fortifications and the three-part Nuremberg Castle complex which overlooks the town. Other major sights, such as the Palace of Justice (2.8km), and the Nazi Party rally grounds (5.8km) were short drives away.

Hotel staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet, and bedding excellent. Fitout and furnishings were fairly standard but well maintained and in good order. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and good value at €30 for two. The accommodation rate of €139 was reasonable value in the summer high season. Wi-fi Internet was an additional €8 daily charge. Parking was €12 per 24 hours.

This hotel is unremarkable in appearance and design, but it is a reliable, well-run and well-located establishment in which we would stay again, and that we recommend to visitors to Nuremberg with similar interests and accommodation requirements. The English-language web page of the hotel at www.sheratonnuernberg.com/en has further information.

Room Tip: As in most German hotels, if you prefer a double bed instead of twin beds, it is best to specify thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg

Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nuremberg
Sheraton Nuremberg
Nuremberg Sheraton
Address: Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is pledged to cater to the highest standards. As a privately managed first-class hotel it is one of Nuremberg's prime locations. Welcome to the Franconian metropolis and its historical old town. Since 2003 Nuremberg's No. 1 in the major hotel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.