We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg to your Saves list
Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north carolina/virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I selected this hotel for its proximity both to the Old Town and to the main rail station which is the transportation hub. It lies within an easy walk of a couple of blocks of each. Our room was on the 6th floor -- spacious and spotlessly clean with comfortable chairs for sitting and reading as well as a desk for working. It may have been an upgraded room, because we were there for three nights over the weekend and there weren't many business travellers there at the time. The large bed was two separate twin beds side by side as is fairly normal for Europe "king beds". The mattress was the firm German type and the feather bed quilts were what I remembered from my stay in Germany as a student years ago. We slept like logs! The large windows on two sides opened up (being able to open windows is important to me) to a view that wasn't particularly scenic in terms of quaint buildings -- but we could see the trains come and go (and loved hearing them as we lay in bed at night -- a reminder of sounds of our childhood) and we could get fresh air. As a bonus we had a terrific view of the fireworks display at the end of a festival going on that weekend. Breakfast was included in our rate and the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. The very best thing about the hotel was the staff -- everyone from manager to maid. They were cheerful, friendly, helpful, and were calling us by name by the end of our stay. The hotel gives one free hour internet connection per day. To get access full time one must buy the time. It would be nice to have full time access without the fee. Parking is underground for a fee of 15 euros per night. We felt this was reasonable for a city hotel. I wanted to do one more museum stop on the morning of our departure and because the hotel wasn't fully booked was told not to worry if we weren't back until an hour or so after the normal check out time. I loved this hotel and would happily return. I think we had excellent value, but were there on a package rate as seniors over a weekend.

Room Tip: We were in room 624 -- very near elevator so at first I worried it would be noisy. We didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    116
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
94
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nürnberg is a fairly standard small city Sheraton. It is located, like a large number of hotels in German cities, within a short walk (300 metres) of the main railway station. Unlike many such hotels, it is convenient not only for rail travellers, but also for self-drive hire car travellers like us, because it has open air and undercover guest car parks.

The hotel also is well located as a base for walking around the beautiful extensively renovated and rebuilt old town of Nuremberg. Nearby are pedestrian tunnels to the old town which avoid the traffic on the busy Frauentorgraben and Bahnhofplatz. We walked a pleasant 5-6km loop return route through the old town, via its major churches, squares, bridges, waterways, fortifications and the three-part Nuremberg Castle complex which overlooks the town. Other major sights, such as the Palace of Justice (2.8km), and the Nazi Party rally grounds (5.8km) were short drives away.

Hotel staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet, and bedding excellent. Fitout and furnishings were fairly standard but well maintained and in good order. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and good value at €30 for two. The accommodation rate of €139 was reasonable value in the summer high season. Wi-fi Internet was an additional €8 daily charge. Parking was €12 per 24 hours.

This hotel is unremarkable in appearance and design, but it is a reliable, well-run and well-located establishment in which we would stay again, and that we recommend to visitors to Nuremberg with similar interests and accommodation requirements. The English-language web page of the hotel at www.sheratonnuernberg.com/en has further information.

Room Tip: As in most German hotels, if you prefer a double bed instead of twin beds, it is best to specify thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed this summer one night in the Sheraton Nürnberg hotel. The location is very convenient close to the old town and the train station. The hotel seems to be newly renovated. Rooms are spacious and clean but have no view. Our room was very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a garage and a parking space opposite of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were travelling with 3 young children and asked for 2 connecting rooms, that worked out perfect. Everybody had enough space and felt very comfy. Rooms are simply decorated, but very clean and nice. Our rooms had no view - it looked like construction site, it did not bother us since we stayed only one night. The breakfast buffet was excellent, very big selection, lots of organic produce, good fruit selection and at the end of our meal kids received "Playmobil" toy each. They were incredibly happy, did we. Our destination was Playmobil park near Nuremberg and it took 15-20 minutes to get there from the hotel. We would stay in the Sheraton Carlton Nuremberg again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location next to the Old Town, great food, great service. I chose the Sheraton for the comfort and safety of a fully smoke-free hotel. I'm happy with the choice and would stay here again, despite the disappointing absence of a Starwood Lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel worked out great for a 3 day stay from the US. Location is just outside the walled city with easy walking to the city. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the best pizza in town is right across street. I would stay here again...

Room Tip: Floor 1 rooms have easy staircase access to avoid sometimes busy elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and overall found it to be satisfactory. The room was just okay; bed was not the most comfortable and the bathroom was nothing luxurious, which I expected from the hotel's 5-star rating. We did not have breakfast included in our room rate and I thought the price for the buffet was a bit high. I was really disappointed that there was no a la carte option, although I found this to be the case in every hotel we stayed at in Germany, so be prepared to pay upwards of 20 Euro or more when visiting German hotels (much more in Munich/Berlin).

We liked that this hotel was close to the train station and old town - although we only found out the second day or so that if you turn right instead of left upon exiting the hotel, your walk to the center of the city will be much, much closer!

Nuremberg is a great place to visit and really convenient for traveling to other Bavarian cities. To that end, we appreciated that parking in this hotel was very easy and also the daily parking rate was reasonable.

This a fine hotel but nothing "special" or memorable about it in terms of a vacation property. It gets the job done but I can't say it was a beautiful property - just a basic Sheraton experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Address: Eilgutstrasse 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#7 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#25 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is pledged to cater to the highest standards. As a privately managed first-class hotel it is one of Nuremberg's prime locations. Welcome to the Franconian metropolis and its historical old town. Since 2003 Nuremberg's No. 1 in the major hotel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nuremberg
Sheraton Nuremberg
Nuremberg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.