We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Convenient location "” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ringhotel Loew's Merkur to your Saves list
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“" Convenient location "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to the Alt Stadt. Our two night stay was great even though we were across from the train station we found our room to be very quiet with the windows open. The room was large and had been updated. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was large with a nice Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We had two double rooms( as we were four adults) and the second room same price was much smaller and did not have a tub or updating. Only drawback was that breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi were all extras 11 Euro for breakfast, $12.50 for parking per day and around 5 Euro for 24hr Wi-Fi which most places we had stayed in included this. It ended up being a bit pricey but all in all the hotel was nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an updated room and one on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice and positive comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Nuremberg and that you give a recommendation of our hotel to future guests.

Let me just add one important information: You name the extras absolutely correct: We charge 11 Euro for our big breakfast buffet, what is below the average for a German City hotel and we charge 4,95 Euros for a 24 h Wlan-Ticket.

However: Guests who book directly online via our homepage get a free 24h Wlan ticket.

The parking fee is 12,50 Euros, not Dollars.

Thank you for your nice description of our hotel: I hope you had a pleasant time in Germany and a safe flight home.

Yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    66
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
39
38
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel (a couple of days in the second half of September 2013) visiting Nuremberg for business purposes. Having in mind the austerity of the German Hotels I have made a reservation and I got a comfort single room (which I strongly recommend), large enough and decently equipped (maybe minimalist, but convenient after all), but the view was poor (interior patio of the hotel or something like that). The hotel and the rooms were clean and the service acceptable, the staff (front desk and restaurant) generally friendly and helpful; no bellboy available, so the transfer of the luggage through the narrow corridors and half-levels on the same floor it is was not easy. The hotel is under renovation on the second floor, so do not stop the elevator at this second floor since the doors still open and there is a risk of accident (I was warned of the situation by the front desk staff). The breakfast was also decent, German style too, efficiently served and I recommend it since is optional. The hotel is situated very close to the central railway station (very convenient if you have a connection by train) and also a 10’ walk to the downtown . As a location for short business purposes the hotel is suitable and convenient, but a wouldn’t recommend it for a longer stay with family or kids since is a little bit austere.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your detailled and friendly comment on your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the time in Nuremberg and at our hotel. We appreciate your correct and fair description of the hotel, its facilities and departments. And it's true: We don't have a bellboy.

Let me add just a few information to readers who haven't been in our hotel before. The modernisation and refurbishing of hotel rooms you mentioned now has come to its end. Since the end of September we are very proud to welcome our guests in 16 new refurbished and icompletely modernized hotel rooms.

Concerning the boring view from your room we can also offer our guests a spectacular view on the main railway station and its 24 platforms, if they like. Please let us know if you would like to have a room, where you can enjoy that spectacular view when you are staying in Nuremberg next time.

Yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I traveled with a group to this hotel and stayed two days.

Pros: The view from my room! My room faced the city and the train tracks. I was placed in a blissful trance looking out my room window! The location was good for walking to the city center and for taking the train. My room was fairly large for european standards and was clean and comfortable. The pool was a welcome surprise! Enjoyed the water massage and the sauna.....great for relaxing after a day of walking!

Cons: Each time you lifted the telephone receiver you were charged! Even to call the front desk or other rooms in the hotel! We were not told this upfront. Some rooms were much smaller than others and had little to no view. Getting to the pool is a bit of a challenge as they are undergoing renovations. The room key is very heavy.....I know that this may seem silly but it adds weight to a purse and is bulky for a guy to carry.

Room Tip: Ask to face the train station for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your friedndly commentary concering your stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our indoor swimming pool and other facilities at our hotel, especially our new dreamwater lounge - that is what you described as our massage.

Referring to yor comment on our old traditional hotel room keys you are absolutely right. There are quite heavy. But there is no need for our guest to carry them much around because our receptionist is always happy to receive your room key and our reception is always on duty.
24/7.

Concerning the charge of an information call to the receptionist I still have to find out what went wrong because a direct call to our receptionist is always free of charge - and our telecommunication network is always working on that standard. However it can be that if you dial the official telephone number of our hotel in your hotel room than indeed the system will identify your call as an outside call and charge s small fee. Probably this happened.

Best wishes, yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted visite also Nurenberg centre and not only Playmobile park as always - and for our intetions suits this hotel very well. We were accommodate in house 3 - so were suprised by labyrinth which lead to our room - but we were navigated by staff and second time we found the way without problem.
Plus - friendly staff, location, great breakfast, swimming pool
Minus - parking, recontruction at 2nd floor - but still with possiblity to get out from the lift seems to me dangerous, our familly rooms was closed - but still not right beside or right in front - one of them had smaller bed, so it wasn't comfortable to sleep there as in the second one...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthalt auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Für Ihr großes Lob über meine Mitarbeiter, das Frühstück, die Lage oder unseren Swimmingpool möchte ich mich bedanken. Es freut mich, dass Sie all diese Dinge genossen haben.

Ein Wort zu der Baustelle, die Sie ansprechen. Dieser Modernisierungsabschnitt befindet sich auf einer einzigen Etage (2. Stock) in einem Gebäudeteil unseres weitläufigen Hotels. Dort finden während der Umbauarbeiten, die in ganz kurzer Zeit abgeschlossen sein werden, selbstverständlich auch keine Zimmervermietungen statt. Es ist also kein Gast in irgendeiner Form genötigt, im zweiten Stock den Lift zu benützen. Wehnn Sie aus versehen dort aus dem Lift traten, tut mir das leid - und dafür möchte ich mich entschuldigen. Auch ich würde erschrecken, wenn ich plötzlich aus dem Lift trete und in eine Baustelle blicke.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freuen sich mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel rates themselves as a 4 star hotel but I would give at maximum 2-3 stars.
I went in the summer and after have carrying my bags for a labirint and at least 3 stairs without any kind of help of the staff I finally arrived in a humble room without air conditioner or a fan. It was about 7 p.m. and the tempertaure inside the room was around 35 celsius degrees. impossible to sleep with this condition.
I refused to stay in that room and finally they offered me a room with air conditioner.
I was difficult to acess the internet and the people on the reception desk was not willing to help you with this.
I parked my car in a parking space a few meters far from the hotel and when I asked to some help to take off the luggage form the car , they said that there was no one to help . then I took the car off the parking lot, then parked the car in front of the door take out the luggage and drove the car back to the the parking lot. Detail :- the hotel has a parking space inside the building and they didn't tell me that I could do all this "operation" inside the building and not having to drive the car back to the parking lot.
very bad service . I'll not return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Beschreibung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Schade, dass es Ihnen nicht so gut gefallen hat, wie Sie das vielleicht erwartet haben. In Nürnberg haben wir etweas andere klimatische Verhältnisse als Sie es vielllericht aus Ihrem Heimatort gewohnt sind - deshalb bildet eine Klimaanlage nach der offiziellen DEHOGA-Klassifizierung kein Muss-Kriterium für ein 2-, 3- oder gar 4-Sterne-Hotel.

Allerdings stöhnten auch wir in Nürnberg für einige Wochen unter einer für uns untypischen Hitze, die sich leider nicht aus dem Gebäude verbannen ließ. Umso mehr freut es mich, dass wir Ihre Aufenthaltsqualität durch ein voll klimatisiertes Zimmer verbessern konnten.

Was Ihre Nutzung unseres Internt-Zugangs angeht, so bin ich augenblicklich hinterfragt, welche Hilfestellung Sie von unseren Mitarbeitern erwartet haben, um sich ins Internet einzuwählen. Üblicherweise kommen unsre Gäste sehr gut auch ohne die Hilfe unserer Mitarbeiter zurecht.

Sehr unglücklich ist in der Tat die Erklärung der Parkflächen gewesen. Dies hätten wir Ihnen besser kommunizieren können, damit Sie sich Wege hätten ersparen können. Vielleicht ist es Ihnen ein kleiner Trost, dass nur die wenigsten Innenstadthotels in Nürnberg über Hotelparkplätze verfügen, die direkt an das Hotel grenzen. Aber das können Sie nicht wissen, wenn Sie zum ersten Mal in Nürnberg sind.

Schade, dass wir Ihnen keine bessere Zeit in Nürnberg bescheren konnten, aber ich hoffe, Sie haben sich wenigstens angesichts des strahlenden Sonnenscheins beim Blick in den Himmel ein bisschen wie zu Hause in Sao Paolo fühlen können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located close to the city of Nuremberg, opposite the main train station. So if you want to visit Nuremberg, this is a good place to start. What made me down-mark the hotel were a few things: firstly, if your room is located in Haus 3, there is not easy way to get to your room. It is ore like a labyrinth. And not only that. There is an elevator only for the first part. You still have to go up *and* down with all your luggage. Quite inconvenient, Then, parking comes at a cost of 15 Euros, and the internet is, unlike in many other hotels in thsi category, charged at premium rates. On top of this we made quite an interesting experience at the bar of the hotel: we ordered cocktails. A Caipirinha and a Planters Punch, both listed in the cocktail menu. The waitress asked: what is a Planters Punch? I had to show here the item n the menu. Well, overall not such a great experience. If I come back to Nuremberg, I certainly would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

ich darf Ihnen Ihnen erst einmal ein Kompliment an Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse aussprechen. Die sind wirklich exzellent. Leider übersetzt der Google-Translator Ihre gutes Englisch dann wieder in radebrechendes Deutsch zurück, was einige Aussagen über Ihren Aufenthalt wieder leicht missverständlich macht.

Grundsätzlich akzeptiere ich selbstverständlich Ihre Kommentierung in allen Teilen, wo Sie einen subjektiven Eindruck vermitteln.

Nicht akzeptabel ist für mich allerdings, wenn Sie einfach falsche Preise nennen - und dies mehrfach!!

Sie haben weder 15 € für den Parkplatz zahlen müssen, noch verlangen wir für WLAN- Premium Rate, wie Sie das so schön formulieren.

Richtig ist, dass ein Parkplatz pro Nacht 12,50 € kostet (das sind für die Nürnberger Stadthotellerie ganz normale Standardpreise) und dass Sie im Hotel in der Lounge kostenlos das Internet benutzen konnten.

Kostenloses Internet aut dem Zimmer genießen darübeerhinaus alle Telekom-Kunden und alle unsere Gäste, die direkt bei uns buchen - und nicht über einen Reiseveranstalter. Das kommunizieren wir transparent und nachvollziehbar auf unserer Homepage. Und selbst wenn dies von Ihnen - aus welchen Gründen auch immer - nicht genutzt wurde, so kostet die 24-Stunden Nutzung des Internets bei uns mit einem HotSpot-Ticket 4,95 €. Für diesen Preis bekommen Sie auf dem Münchener Oktoberfest in diesem Jahr nicht einmal eine halbe Maß Bier. Premium Rate? You are pulling my leg!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, spacious and clean rooms, with a great bathroom (not many hotels in this price class offer a bath tub AND seperate shower). The staff os very friendly and helpful. When I booked the riom on their website something went wrong with the date which i did not notice in the cofirmation email. When I arrived they showed no booking. But the lady at reception quickly solved this issue without delay.
The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cam be ordered through room service.
I will definitely come back when next in Nueremberg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel to other readers of tripadvisor.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially your recomendation of our cuisine is something that makes us happy and is a big delight for my staff and me.

Yours sincerely

Peter Loew and the team of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zentraler geht es nicht! Das 4-Sterne-Haus mit Tradition und privatem Management ist direkt am Nurnberger Hauptbahnhof und Sudstadtpark gelegen. In bester Citylage ist es der ideale Ausgangspunkt fur Ihr Shopping-Vergnugen oder Ihren Spaziergang in die wunderbare Nurnberger Altstadt mit vielen interessanten Sehenswurdigkeiten.Direkte U-Bahn-Verbindung zur Messe und zum Flughafen. Tram direkt vor dem Haus.15 Veranstaltungsraume*Restaurant*Lobby-Bar "My Lord"*kostenloses W-Lan in allen Bereichen des Hotels*Hallenschwimmbad*finnische Sauna*Dampfdusche*Infrarot-Warmekabine und Dreamwater Lounge (geg.Gebuhr). Freuen Sie sich auf Gastlichkeit, die von Herzen kommt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.