We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Save Saved
You added Ringhotel Loew's Merkur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved the Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I traveled with a group to this hotel and stayed two days.

Pros: The view from my room! My room faced the city and the train tracks. I was placed in a blissful trance looking out my room window! The location was good for walking to the city center and for taking the train. My room was fairly large for european standards and was clean and comfortable. The pool was a welcome surprise! Enjoyed the water massage and the sauna.....great for relaxing after a day of walking!

Cons: Each time you lifted the telephone receiver you were charged! Even to call the front desk or other rooms in the hotel! We were not told this upfront. Some rooms were much smaller than others and had little to no view. Getting to the pool is a bit of a challenge as they are undergoing renovations. The room key is very heavy.....I know that this may seem silly but it adds weight to a purse and is bulky for a guy to carry.

Room Tip: Ask to face the train station for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your friedndly commentary concering your stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our indoor swimming pool and other facilities at our hotel, especially our new dreamwater lounge - that is what you described as our massage.

Referring to yor comment on our old traditional hotel room keys you are absolutely right. There are quite heavy. But there is no need for our guest to carry them much around because our receptionist is always happy to receive your room key and our reception is always on duty.
24/7.

Concerning the charge of an information call to the receptionist I still have to find out what went wrong because a direct call to our receptionist is always free of charge - and our telecommunication network is always working on that standard. However it can be that if you dial the official telephone number of our hotel in your hotel room than indeed the system will identify your call as an outside call and charge s small fee. Probably this happened.

Best wishes, yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
31
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted visite also Nurenberg centre and not only Playmobile park as always - and for our intetions suits this hotel very well. We were accommodate in house 3 - so were suprised by labyrinth which lead to our room - but we were navigated by staff and second time we found the way without problem.
Plus - friendly staff, location, great breakfast, swimming pool
Minus - parking, recontruction at 2nd floor - but still with possiblity to get out from the lift seems to me dangerous, our familly rooms was closed - but still not right beside or right in front - one of them had smaller bed, so it wasn't comfortable to sleep there as in the second one...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthalt auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Für Ihr großes Lob über meine Mitarbeiter, das Frühstück, die Lage oder unseren Swimmingpool möchte ich mich bedanken. Es freut mich, dass Sie all diese Dinge genossen haben.

Ein Wort zu der Baustelle, die Sie ansprechen. Dieser Modernisierungsabschnitt befindet sich auf einer einzigen Etage (2. Stock) in einem Gebäudeteil unseres weitläufigen Hotels. Dort finden während der Umbauarbeiten, die in ganz kurzer Zeit abgeschlossen sein werden, selbstverständlich auch keine Zimmervermietungen statt. Es ist also kein Gast in irgendeiner Form genötigt, im zweiten Stock den Lift zu benützen. Wehnn Sie aus versehen dort aus dem Lift traten, tut mir das leid - und dafür möchte ich mich entschuldigen. Auch ich würde erschrecken, wenn ich plötzlich aus dem Lift trete und in eine Baustelle blicke.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freuen sich mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel rates themselves as a 4 star hotel but I would give at maximum 2-3 stars.
I went in the summer and after have carrying my bags for a labirint and at least 3 stairs without any kind of help of the staff I finally arrived in a humble room without air conditioner or a fan. It was about 7 p.m. and the tempertaure inside the room was around 35 celsius degrees. impossible to sleep with this condition.
I refused to stay in that room and finally they offered me a room with air conditioner.
I was difficult to acess the internet and the people on the reception desk was not willing to help you with this.
I parked my car in a parking space a few meters far from the hotel and when I asked to some help to take off the luggage form the car , they said that there was no one to help . then I took the car off the parking lot, then parked the car in front of the door take out the luggage and drove the car back to the the parking lot. Detail :- the hotel has a parking space inside the building and they didn't tell me that I could do all this "operation" inside the building and not having to drive the car back to the parking lot.
very bad service . I'll not return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Beschreibung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Schade, dass es Ihnen nicht so gut gefallen hat, wie Sie das vielleicht erwartet haben. In Nürnberg haben wir etweas andere klimatische Verhältnisse als Sie es vielllericht aus Ihrem Heimatort gewohnt sind - deshalb bildet eine Klimaanlage nach der offiziellen DEHOGA-Klassifizierung kein Muss-Kriterium für ein 2-, 3- oder gar 4-Sterne-Hotel.

Allerdings stöhnten auch wir in Nürnberg für einige Wochen unter einer für uns untypischen Hitze, die sich leider nicht aus dem Gebäude verbannen ließ. Umso mehr freut es mich, dass wir Ihre Aufenthaltsqualität durch ein voll klimatisiertes Zimmer verbessern konnten.

Was Ihre Nutzung unseres Internt-Zugangs angeht, so bin ich augenblicklich hinterfragt, welche Hilfestellung Sie von unseren Mitarbeitern erwartet haben, um sich ins Internet einzuwählen. Üblicherweise kommen unsre Gäste sehr gut auch ohne die Hilfe unserer Mitarbeiter zurecht.

Sehr unglücklich ist in der Tat die Erklärung der Parkflächen gewesen. Dies hätten wir Ihnen besser kommunizieren können, damit Sie sich Wege hätten ersparen können. Vielleicht ist es Ihnen ein kleiner Trost, dass nur die wenigsten Innenstadthotels in Nürnberg über Hotelparkplätze verfügen, die direkt an das Hotel grenzen. Aber das können Sie nicht wissen, wenn Sie zum ersten Mal in Nürnberg sind.

Schade, dass wir Ihnen keine bessere Zeit in Nürnberg bescheren konnten, aber ich hoffe, Sie haben sich wenigstens angesichts des strahlenden Sonnenscheins beim Blick in den Himmel ein bisschen wie zu Hause in Sao Paolo fühlen können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located close to the city of Nuremberg, opposite the main train station. So if you want to visit Nuremberg, this is a good place to start. What made me down-mark the hotel were a few things: firstly, if your room is located in Haus 3, there is not easy way to get to your room. It is ore like a labyrinth. And not only that. There is an elevator only for the first part. You still have to go up *and* down with all your luggage. Quite inconvenient, Then, parking comes at a cost of 15 Euros, and the internet is, unlike in many other hotels in thsi category, charged at premium rates. On top of this we made quite an interesting experience at the bar of the hotel: we ordered cocktails. A Caipirinha and a Planters Punch, both listed in the cocktail menu. The waitress asked: what is a Planters Punch? I had to show here the item n the menu. Well, overall not such a great experience. If I come back to Nuremberg, I certainly would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

ich darf Ihnen Ihnen erst einmal ein Kompliment an Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse aussprechen. Die sind wirklich exzellent. Leider übersetzt der Google-Translator Ihre gutes Englisch dann wieder in radebrechendes Deutsch zurück, was einige Aussagen über Ihren Aufenthalt wieder leicht missverständlich macht.

Grundsätzlich akzeptiere ich selbstverständlich Ihre Kommentierung in allen Teilen, wo Sie einen subjektiven Eindruck vermitteln.

Nicht akzeptabel ist für mich allerdings, wenn Sie einfach falsche Preise nennen - und dies mehrfach!!

Sie haben weder 15 € für den Parkplatz zahlen müssen, noch verlangen wir für WLAN- Premium Rate, wie Sie das so schön formulieren.

Richtig ist, dass ein Parkplatz pro Nacht 12,50 € kostet (das sind für die Nürnberger Stadthotellerie ganz normale Standardpreise) und dass Sie im Hotel in der Lounge kostenlos das Internet benutzen konnten.

Kostenloses Internet aut dem Zimmer genießen darübeerhinaus alle Telekom-Kunden und alle unsere Gäste, die direkt bei uns buchen - und nicht über einen Reiseveranstalter. Das kommunizieren wir transparent und nachvollziehbar auf unserer Homepage. Und selbst wenn dies von Ihnen - aus welchen Gründen auch immer - nicht genutzt wurde, so kostet die 24-Stunden Nutzung des Internets bei uns mit einem HotSpot-Ticket 4,95 €. Für diesen Preis bekommen Sie auf dem Münchener Oktoberfest in diesem Jahr nicht einmal eine halbe Maß Bier. Premium Rate? You are pulling my leg!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, spacious and clean rooms, with a great bathroom (not many hotels in this price class offer a bath tub AND seperate shower). The staff os very friendly and helpful. When I booked the riom on their website something went wrong with the date which i did not notice in the cofirmation email. When I arrived they showed no booking. But the lady at reception quickly solved this issue without delay.
The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cam be ordered through room service.
I will definitely come back when next in Nueremberg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel to other readers of tripadvisor.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially your recomendation of our cuisine is something that makes us happy and is a big delight for my staff and me.

Yours sincerely

Peter Loew and the team of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is the main draw for this hotel.

Our Room was generally very well sized and lots of room of my wife and myself. Although this hotel is old they have refurbished it sometime ago and rooms are clean.

Receptionist are always helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is good compared with other European hotels but after 4 days there is no change in the selection.

The hotel is actually made up of different sections and buildings, Probably added later in its 30 year history. The point is not all the rooms are the same. We saw 2 rooms and they were very different. So what kind of room u get would be your luck.

Our room was on the first floor and the sound of traffic was very clear. With the occasional siren being very loud.

The cleaning service got progressively worse as the nights went on. By the last day we did not even have tissues and shampoo was not provided as well.

Whilst I would stay here again I would still prefer to stay in the ancient town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthatt bei uns auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat. Entschuldigen Sie bitte, dass ich mich jetzt erst für Ihre Bewertung bedanke - leider hat sich bei uns aufgrund eines technischen Problems die Antwort etwas verzögert.

Ich hoffe, Sie hatten inzwischen einen guten und gesunden Flug zurück in Ihre Heimat. Wir hoffen, das Ihr Aufenthalt in Nürnberg einen Teil Ihrer schönen Erinerungen an Europa bildet.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Quite good and friendly hotel. Rooms are well kept, and quite comfortable (at least I had - staying in the older part of the hotel).
Rooms are clean. Breakfast good, with variety of selections of food. Attentive service. Despite the hotel location is nearby railway station - the external noise is acceptable. Problem might be during summer days (looks that the hotel has no HVAC in rooms, and windows opening might be the noise problem).
Parking is available, but quite complicated to go there (from the city routes), missing is good information on it.
Overall classification: Good value ratio for hotel standard & price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundliche Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben und dies auch den Lesern von Tripadvisor mitteilen. Persönlich bin ich immer sehr dankbar, wenn sich erfahrene Reisende auf diesem Portal zu Worte melden und Ihre Wahrnehmungen schildern. Denn gerade solche Reisende sind es, welche die Stärken und Schwächen eines Hotels mit der Objektivität des Kenners fair einordnen können. Darüber freue ich mich jedes Mal.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freut sich

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotels Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.