We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good city hotel in Nurnberg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ringhotel Loew's Merkur to your Saves list
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good city hotel in Nurnberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted visite also Nurenberg centre and not only Playmobile park as always - and for our intetions suits this hotel very well. We were accommodate in house 3 - so were suprised by labyrinth which lead to our room - but we were navigated by staff and second time we found the way without problem.
Plus - friendly staff, location, great breakfast, swimming pool
Minus - parking, recontruction at 2nd floor - but still with possiblity to get out from the lift seems to me dangerous, our familly rooms was closed - but still not right beside or right in front - one of them had smaller bed, so it wasn't comfortable to sleep there as in the second one...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthalt auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Für Ihr großes Lob über meine Mitarbeiter, das Frühstück, die Lage oder unseren Swimmingpool möchte ich mich bedanken. Es freut mich, dass Sie all diese Dinge genossen haben.

Ein Wort zu der Baustelle, die Sie ansprechen. Dieser Modernisierungsabschnitt befindet sich auf einer einzigen Etage (2. Stock) in einem Gebäudeteil unseres weitläufigen Hotels. Dort finden während der Umbauarbeiten, die in ganz kurzer Zeit abgeschlossen sein werden, selbstverständlich auch keine Zimmervermietungen statt. Es ist also kein Gast in irgendeiner Form genötigt, im zweiten Stock den Lift zu benützen. Wehnn Sie aus versehen dort aus dem Lift traten, tut mir das leid - und dafür möchte ich mich entschuldigen. Auch ich würde erschrecken, wenn ich plötzlich aus dem Lift trete und in eine Baustelle blicke.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freuen sich mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
44
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel rates themselves as a 4 star hotel but I would give at maximum 2-3 stars.
I went in the summer and after have carrying my bags for a labirint and at least 3 stairs without any kind of help of the staff I finally arrived in a humble room without air conditioner or a fan. It was about 7 p.m. and the tempertaure inside the room was around 35 celsius degrees. impossible to sleep with this condition.
I refused to stay in that room and finally they offered me a room with air conditioner.
I was difficult to acess the internet and the people on the reception desk was not willing to help you with this.
I parked my car in a parking space a few meters far from the hotel and when I asked to some help to take off the luggage form the car , they said that there was no one to help . then I took the car off the parking lot, then parked the car in front of the door take out the luggage and drove the car back to the the parking lot. Detail :- the hotel has a parking space inside the building and they didn't tell me that I could do all this "operation" inside the building and not having to drive the car back to the parking lot.
very bad service . I'll not return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Beschreibung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Schade, dass es Ihnen nicht so gut gefallen hat, wie Sie das vielleicht erwartet haben. In Nürnberg haben wir etweas andere klimatische Verhältnisse als Sie es vielllericht aus Ihrem Heimatort gewohnt sind - deshalb bildet eine Klimaanlage nach der offiziellen DEHOGA-Klassifizierung kein Muss-Kriterium für ein 2-, 3- oder gar 4-Sterne-Hotel.

Allerdings stöhnten auch wir in Nürnberg für einige Wochen unter einer für uns untypischen Hitze, die sich leider nicht aus dem Gebäude verbannen ließ. Umso mehr freut es mich, dass wir Ihre Aufenthaltsqualität durch ein voll klimatisiertes Zimmer verbessern konnten.

Was Ihre Nutzung unseres Internt-Zugangs angeht, so bin ich augenblicklich hinterfragt, welche Hilfestellung Sie von unseren Mitarbeitern erwartet haben, um sich ins Internet einzuwählen. Üblicherweise kommen unsre Gäste sehr gut auch ohne die Hilfe unserer Mitarbeiter zurecht.

Sehr unglücklich ist in der Tat die Erklärung der Parkflächen gewesen. Dies hätten wir Ihnen besser kommunizieren können, damit Sie sich Wege hätten ersparen können. Vielleicht ist es Ihnen ein kleiner Trost, dass nur die wenigsten Innenstadthotels in Nürnberg über Hotelparkplätze verfügen, die direkt an das Hotel grenzen. Aber das können Sie nicht wissen, wenn Sie zum ersten Mal in Nürnberg sind.

Schade, dass wir Ihnen keine bessere Zeit in Nürnberg bescheren konnten, aber ich hoffe, Sie haben sich wenigstens angesichts des strahlenden Sonnenscheins beim Blick in den Himmel ein bisschen wie zu Hause in Sao Paolo fühlen können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located close to the city of Nuremberg, opposite the main train station. So if you want to visit Nuremberg, this is a good place to start. What made me down-mark the hotel were a few things: firstly, if your room is located in Haus 3, there is not easy way to get to your room. It is ore like a labyrinth. And not only that. There is an elevator only for the first part. You still have to go up *and* down with all your luggage. Quite inconvenient, Then, parking comes at a cost of 15 Euros, and the internet is, unlike in many other hotels in thsi category, charged at premium rates. On top of this we made quite an interesting experience at the bar of the hotel: we ordered cocktails. A Caipirinha and a Planters Punch, both listed in the cocktail menu. The waitress asked: what is a Planters Punch? I had to show here the item n the menu. Well, overall not such a great experience. If I come back to Nuremberg, I certainly would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

ich darf Ihnen Ihnen erst einmal ein Kompliment an Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse aussprechen. Die sind wirklich exzellent. Leider übersetzt der Google-Translator Ihre gutes Englisch dann wieder in radebrechendes Deutsch zurück, was einige Aussagen über Ihren Aufenthalt wieder leicht missverständlich macht.

Grundsätzlich akzeptiere ich selbstverständlich Ihre Kommentierung in allen Teilen, wo Sie einen subjektiven Eindruck vermitteln.

Nicht akzeptabel ist für mich allerdings, wenn Sie einfach falsche Preise nennen - und dies mehrfach!!

Sie haben weder 15 € für den Parkplatz zahlen müssen, noch verlangen wir für WLAN- Premium Rate, wie Sie das so schön formulieren.

Richtig ist, dass ein Parkplatz pro Nacht 12,50 € kostet (das sind für die Nürnberger Stadthotellerie ganz normale Standardpreise) und dass Sie im Hotel in der Lounge kostenlos das Internet benutzen konnten.

Kostenloses Internet aut dem Zimmer genießen darübeerhinaus alle Telekom-Kunden und alle unsere Gäste, die direkt bei uns buchen - und nicht über einen Reiseveranstalter. Das kommunizieren wir transparent und nachvollziehbar auf unserer Homepage. Und selbst wenn dies von Ihnen - aus welchen Gründen auch immer - nicht genutzt wurde, so kostet die 24-Stunden Nutzung des Internets bei uns mit einem HotSpot-Ticket 4,95 €. Für diesen Preis bekommen Sie auf dem Münchener Oktoberfest in diesem Jahr nicht einmal eine halbe Maß Bier. Premium Rate? You are pulling my leg!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, spacious and clean rooms, with a great bathroom (not many hotels in this price class offer a bath tub AND seperate shower). The staff os very friendly and helpful. When I booked the riom on their website something went wrong with the date which i did not notice in the cofirmation email. When I arrived they showed no booking. But the lady at reception quickly solved this issue without delay.
The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cam be ordered through room service.
I will definitely come back when next in Nueremberg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel to other readers of tripadvisor.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially your recomendation of our cuisine is something that makes us happy and is a big delight for my staff and me.

Yours sincerely

Peter Loew and the team of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is the main draw for this hotel.

Our Room was generally very well sized and lots of room of my wife and myself. Although this hotel is old they have refurbished it sometime ago and rooms are clean.

Receptionist are always helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is good compared with other European hotels but after 4 days there is no change in the selection.

The hotel is actually made up of different sections and buildings, Probably added later in its 30 year history. The point is not all the rooms are the same. We saw 2 rooms and they were very different. So what kind of room u get would be your luck.

Our room was on the first floor and the sound of traffic was very clear. With the occasional siren being very loud.

The cleaning service got progressively worse as the nights went on. By the last day we did not even have tissues and shampoo was not provided as well.

Whilst I would stay here again I would still prefer to stay in the ancient town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthatt bei uns auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat. Entschuldigen Sie bitte, dass ich mich jetzt erst für Ihre Bewertung bedanke - leider hat sich bei uns aufgrund eines technischen Problems die Antwort etwas verzögert.

Ich hoffe, Sie hatten inzwischen einen guten und gesunden Flug zurück in Ihre Heimat. Wir hoffen, das Ihr Aufenthalt in Nürnberg einen Teil Ihrer schönen Erinerungen an Europa bildet.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Quite good and friendly hotel. Rooms are well kept, and quite comfortable (at least I had - staying in the older part of the hotel).
Rooms are clean. Breakfast good, with variety of selections of food. Attentive service. Despite the hotel location is nearby railway station - the external noise is acceptable. Problem might be during summer days (looks that the hotel has no HVAC in rooms, and windows opening might be the noise problem).
Parking is available, but quite complicated to go there (from the city routes), missing is good information on it.
Overall classification: Good value ratio for hotel standard & price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundliche Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben und dies auch den Lesern von Tripadvisor mitteilen. Persönlich bin ich immer sehr dankbar, wenn sich erfahrene Reisende auf diesem Portal zu Worte melden und Ihre Wahrnehmungen schildern. Denn gerade solche Reisende sind es, welche die Stärken und Schwächen eines Hotels mit der Objektivität des Kenners fair einordnen können. Darüber freue ich mich jedes Mal.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freut sich

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotels Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Making almost weekly business trips to different countries in Europe, I tend to have a positive impression about the quality of the average German hotel. Usually you can get a very nice and clean room for not a lot of money, and breakfast is usually great. This hotel reminded me again about the fact that there are always exceptions to the rule... What a disappointment : already from the start, when I entered the room : old carpet, at least a couple of decades old, combined with a very bad smell... the concept of renovating a hotel still needs to be invented in this place. On top of that, the hotel is located very close to the main railwaystation, and a very noisy avenue adjacent to the railwaystation and the hotel. Soundproof windows ? No, not at all... Opening or closing the windows : didn't matter, just the same level of noise !!! In the bathroom I could enjoy the fact that the person visiting the room the night before, must have had long black hair...
The girl at the reception desk, when checking in, explained me that breakfast was not included in the rate. As I had to leave early anyway, I decided to buy something at the railwaystation in stead. But when checking out, all of a sudden 11 Euro was added to the bill for breakfast... When asking the lady why it was added since I didn't have breakfast at all, she told me that it was not included in the roomrate but that I had to take it anyway...??? What a joke ! The first hotel ever where they force me to pay an additional fee for breakfast, even without having any ! A very absurd situation to be honest... not really sure how such a hotel can survive but probably they can benefit from the weeks were all other hotels are fully booked because of things going on in Hannover Messe. Probably, there is no need to mention that I will never return to this hotel at all...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

Ihren Ausführungen ist unschwer zu entnehmen, dass es Ihnen bei uns überhaupt nicht gefallen hat. Ihre Wahrnehmungen stehen allerdings in erstaunlichem Kontrast zu einer Bewertung eines hochzufriedenen Gastes vom selben Tag hier auf Tripadvisor - aber das nur am Rande.

Was die Berechnung des Frühstückspreises angeht, so gibt Ihre Darstellung ein völliges falsches, an Rufschädigung grenzendes Zerrbild dessen wider, wie wir täglich bei Dutzenden von Gästen ordnungsgemäß beim Check-Out die Rechnung darlegen.

Als Letztes möchte ich die Besucher von Tripadvisor darauf hinweisen, dass Sie eine vollkommen abwegige Theorie in den Raum stellen. Die von Ihnen erwähnte Hannovermesse findet in über 400 km Entfernung zu einem gänzlich anderen Zeitpunkt statt. Nürnberg liegt in Bayern, aber auf eine wirklichkeitsnahe, faire Wiedergabe von Tatsachen scheinen Sie ohnehin wenig Wert zu legen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen in die Niederlande, die ich als ein deutlich entspanntere Nation kenne und schätze, als es Ihre Zeilen vermuten lassen.

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#33 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zentraler geht es nicht! Das 4-Sterne-Haus mit Tradition und privatem Management ist direkt am Nurnberger Hauptbahnhof und Sudstadtpark gelegen. In bester Citylage ist es der ideale Ausgangspunkt fur Ihr Shopping-Vergnugen oder Ihren Spaziergang in die wunderbare Nurnberger Altstadt mit vielen interessanten Sehenswurdigkeiten.Direkte U-Bahn-Verbindung zur Messe und zum Flughafen. Tram direkt vor dem Haus.15 Veranstaltungsraume*Restaurant*Lobby-Bar "My Lord"*kostenloses W-Lan in allen Bereichen des Hotels*Hallenschwimmbad*finnische Sauna*Dampfdusche*Infrarot-Warmekabine und Dreamwater Lounge (geg.Gebuhr). Freuen Sie sich auf Gastlichkeit, die von Herzen kommt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.