We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost effective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derag Livinghotel Maximilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Derag Livinghotel Maximilian to your Saves list
Derag Livinghotel Maximilian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Kanalstrasse 11, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cost effective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel in Nuremberg for the weekend, with my wife and our son.
We got a superior suite and a single room for 216 Euro (only 36 Euro person/day!), for a flawless four star experience.
Rooms are big, with a living room and a kitchen, with two flat screen Tv, one in the living room and the other n front of the bed, and you get also two bottle of waters and two of beers included in the price.
The position is quite good: just outside the inner city walls, so that in few minutes you can reach by walk the main monuments of the city.
Breakfast was not included, and I think price is too high (16 Euro person/day), almost half of the overnight accomodation. But there is plenty of café near the hotel, so you can have breakfast outside without hassle.
If you don't find a free parking slot in the nearby streets, the hotel has an internal garage for 10 Euro/day.
All in all a cost-effective accomodation for a nice weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeragLivinghotel, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Maximilian, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
thank you for your rating and the comments. we really apreciate reading that you enjoyed staying with us and visiting nuremberg. we would love welcoming you again at the derag livinghotel maximilian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    89
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
23
44
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice location, just 20 mins walk from the main train station. Or just about 5-10 minutes walk away from the Plarrer with metro, trams and buses to different places. If you have time and you like a bit of walking, it takes you only about 20-30 minutes to the old town. You can take bus number 36 at Plarrer to the Documentary Centre. It's just so convenient. I had a single room with a single bed, I found it comfy. It's a bit warm at night as I closed all the windows. If not, it might be too noisy as my room was facing the main road. The hotel and my room were very clean, with modern facilities: wifi connection, hair-dyer, kettle, fridge and TV with various channels (well, I did not watch any). The shower was great. The cleaning service was excellent. Be aware that they started cleaning quite early (at around nine in the morning) so remember to hang out 'Please do not disturb' if you wanna get up a bit later than that. The reception service was also excellent. The girls at the counter were all very nice and helpful. They gave me tips to travel Nuremberg. The hotel does provide toothpaste and toothbrush or even slippers etc, but you need to go to the reception and ask.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Found this hotel fairly easy with our car. Great apartment like room, with a small kitchenette. It was in a great location, walking distance to the old town. Also had washing facilities and paid parking. The wifi was hit and miss though. The buffet breakfast was excellent. There were 2 supermarkets across the road with bakery. There was also a choice of restaurants. We dined in the hotel restaurant which was lovely.The only downside was that the rooms got quite warm, even in late October, so we had to have the windows open. This then led to noise from the road! But nonetheless a good choice for all the amenities we wanted.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

There was nothing hugely wrong with this hotel, but it was a little weird.

My bedroom had only a single bed, which was a bit of a surprise. OK, I was staying by myself so it was no big deal, but I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel and didn't get a double bed.

It also had very odd looking and dated decor. There was a little (and yes, I really really do mean "little") kitchenette with a couple of rather ancient looking electric rings. There was also a kettle. In theory, I could have attempted to make myself a hot drink by putting the kettle on the electric rings, but they looked so old and cranky I didn't really fancy it. Why can't they just supply an electric kettle like other hotels do?

Once nice feature was that there was a fridge with a couple of bottles of beer and a couple of bottles of mineral water, all of which were complimentary.

The bathroom also had a rather dated feel to it, but it was clean, and the shower pressure was awesome, so no serious complaints there.

Breakfast was adequate. Not brilliant, but adequate.

Service in the bar was delightful.

On the whole, I really can't make up my mind whether to recommend this place or not. I think I'll just let you make up your own mind after you've read my specific observations.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a room with a double bed, if you want a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is among my favorite returning hotel in Nuremberg! Depending on your budget, room can be moderately sized to quite large (up to 2 floors suite). Location is excellent, near the old town and subway is within a stone throw. Not too many restaurant very close but old town has lots. Breafakst served in a glass house is always satisfactory. Nice sauna in the basement. Staff is more than friendly and gives excellent service and... wifi is now FREE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

the room was small. no air condition. very small bathroom. formal kitchen but without any equipment and cooking s not allowed (you can only make tea or coffee). the street is very noisy. the only positive thing that it is not so far from the city center (10-15 miniutes walk)

Room Tip: try no to choose room with windows to the oberkanalstrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel just outside the centre of Nuremberg. It has excellent access to the subway (2 mins walk). The room is well equiped with a little kitchenette to make snacks and drinks if you are staying with a family. Balcony looks out onto a bar area but noise wasn't a problem even on a Saturday night.
Only one down side - no air conditioning on the hottest day (35 degrees!). We bought a small fan which helped at bight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derag Livinghotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Maximilian

Address: Obere Kanalstrasse 11, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derag Livinghotel Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.