We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to start Christmas, Excellant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derag Livinghotel Maximilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Derag Livinghotel Maximilian to your Saves list
Derag Livinghotel Maximilian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Kanalstrasse 11, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a way to start Christmas, Excellant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived Friday morning 21st Dec with our luggage expecting to drop off , but were pleasantly surprised when handed the keys to our room. Our room was an apartment with everything you could want for 3 adults and more, comfortable beds and room. We had booked Breakfast but on finding we had a small kitchenet I cancelled. Our daughter, 17yrs old, was not all well and on our departure date they allowed us to stay in the room untill late afternoon so she could sleep without being disturbed. Can not fault the staff at all, will definately return, they really helped make our stay. only complaint, no english tv except News, would be nice for some TV movies to be in English! Location great, food great, Xmas markets amazing :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    83
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
42
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here recently for the Christmas markets. It's 5 minutes from Gostenhof metro, 10 from Plarrer (edge of old town). We had a suite with an extra bedroom on the side for our kids, and a loft for us on the upper level. Worked great for our family of four.

My only complaint is the night we arrived there was only one receptionist on duty, and it took 30 minutes for him to process everyone in front of us and us to get our room key. Always polite, but they could have used extra staff at times. Internet is chargeable now, but apparently that changes in the new year (2013).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for an Xmas Market Trip. The hotel is five minutes walk from the U-bahn (Gostenhof) and about 10/15 minutes walk from the Old Town. The room was large with a separate living room and small kitchenette (in the USA it would be called a suite). The bathroom was tiny but adequate,The beds were comfortable. We didn't eat there because the breakfast was extremely expensive. We did however use the bar and that was reasonably priced. The Reception staff were excellent with no request being too much trouble.

We did struggle to find somewhere nice to eat in the area. Most of the local restaurants appeared to be Greek or Turkish. We did eat at the Kartofel pub/restaurant on the main street.which had lovely food and the waitress was very nice and even suggested other restaurants.

Would we stay here again ? The simple answer is yes provided it was the right price since it had everything needed for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel offers an amazing value for the traveler. it is located within a walking distance of downtown Nuremberg. The rooms are clean and very reasonably priced. I had an amazing price for a Sunday which was one of three days I spent there. The front office staff are really helpful. The hotel offers an OK breakfast and they have a small restaurant that offers good beer and some very nice simple dishes. the serving staff are capable and serve you with a big smile

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place could use a make-over. Brass and red carpets, mirrors, wicker...very 80s.
BUT - I slept great, the rooms are quiet and stocked with everything you might need. The kitchen/bar area is a nice feature. The heated floors in the bathroom are a great touch. The breakfast is a rip off - super expensive for what you (don't) get. The internet is also a rip off. You can tell this hotel is targeted at the business traveller, but even being a business traveller who can expense the costs, you still left feeling ripped off.
The service was average - neither friendly nor rude.
About a 15 minute walk into the centre of town, it is not a terrible location.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non-smoking room (if those exist?). My room had a smokey whiff about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights to experience the Christmas Market in the Old Town. Location is about a 10 to 15 minute to Old Town but yet another 10 or 15 minute walk to the Christmas market through Old Town which is however very interesting, beautiful buildings fountains and a nice walk (but a bit cold when it is snowing and only 2 degrees) brr.... I am sure there is a near by bus or UBahn stop you use however we preferred to walk.

We had an apartment on the 4th floor which was like a loft with a full kitchen, stove top, microwave, fridge, sink. Only two small spoons, two beer glasses, two water glasses and two tea cups were provided but would be nice to also have additional utensils and maybe two plates as well. The free minibar which consisted of two bottles of water and two bottles of beer each day was appreciated. The furniture and decor is dated but for the price we found it acceptable. The one hour of internet was a nice offer but in our room the connection was very bad and my husband had to work from the lobby that was our only complaint. There is a supermarket across the street for anything you may need which is very convenient. Next time we would rather stay in the old town if it would be in our budget however if not we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leer, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet street appr. 10 to 15 minutes by foot from the main railway station. The Underground is appr. 3 minutes away. But Taxi rides are not expensive, appr. 8,-/9 Euros to the railway station or the pedestrian area.

The hotels has a nice bar and a breakfast room which is not very big. The breakfast buffett is OK but has not much room, so sometimes its a bit crowded.

The rooms offers a small kitchenette and a small balcony (less than one square meter) on to the street which should be only for smokers. The interieur is a bit old fashioned and in the TV there is no Sky program anymore.

The hotel offers Wifi free for one hour only BUT you have to take this in total, you cannot split the time.

Overall a nice stay but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derag Livinghotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Maximilian

Address: Obere Kanalstrasse 11, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derag Livinghotel Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.