We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Town - Lots to see and do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadt

Altstadt
Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Activities in Nuremberg
Type: Neighborhoods, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Town - Lots to see and do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Old Town of Nuremberg. Most people associate this city with World War II Nazis and the subsequent trials. If so, they are missing the best part. The Altstadt is surrounded by the old town walls and the crowning jewel is the Imperial Castle. Yes, we have seen more impressive castles but this one should not be missed. There are also several Cathedrals and other structures that are well worth a visit. While there we had a wonderful German meal at Bratwursthausle that is just south of the castle. There is also some good shopping (if you are in the market) but watch out for the ones that are not family friendly if you have kids. There are also the traditional street vendors selling perishables. The area was wonderfully lit at night and we had a beautiful stroll by the river.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    79
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing during the Christmas , special atmosphere! It was super cold but a hot wine makes everything better :-)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful old towns I;ve ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The buildings were absolutely beautiful, a lots of nice bars and restaurants (not only beer gardens), free parking places (if you know were to look-we found one near a church)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic and just lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You can walk and walk and walk and not run out of things to see and do. I like to walk for a while, shop and stop for coffee.
I love listening to the street musicians, check out the latest fashion, walk up to the castle to look over the city, cool down by visiting the Lorenzkirche and I love to turn the golden ring on the Beautiful Fountain in the center of the Haupt Markt (market place). The "Männlein Laufen" at the Frauenkirche at Noon is like a magnet. One had to see that old clock go into action over and over, no matter how often you have seen it. I love feeding the ducks from one of those old bridges and I love to stop for a smoked beer and some bratwurst. The Altstadt is alive!
I love the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Half-timbered houses and buildings beautifully restored.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lovely restored houses and towers and cobblestone streets create a truly beautiful area to walk through.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadt also viewed

 

Been to Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.