We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Non Smoking Room smelled like Cigarettes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cristal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Willibaldstrasse 7, 90491 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Our Non Smoking Room smelled like Cigarettes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed here only for one night since we wanted a hotel near the airport(its about 3.8km away).When we checked in, our requested non smoking room smelled like cigarettes.

My only comment about our room is that it is too old fashion...still has those pinkish wall papers and pinkish curtains. Also the bed linens need replacement, its a little bit off white already(compared to the other hotels we stayed in Nuremberg.

Internet is free but you must get the password frm the front desk.Parking is not free(2 euros./night)

It is however very near to a shopping mall.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Very clean rooms, quiet. The breakfast was adequate - nice china and tableware. The staff was friendly and most helpful - even though we speak little German. Within a few minutes' walk to the train station. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

Our stay was very nice. WIFI connection was weak but survivable. It is convenient walk to the central part of the city. We were at the castle in about ten minutes walking with packs. Will stay again

  • Liked — cleanliness and convenience
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

Just had 3 nights here and the hotel is just fine if you don't want to spend much and you don't want to be in the busy city centre. Located right on the subway network just 5 minutes from the airport and city centre, buy a "DayTicketPlus" and 2 adults can use all the public transport for a whole day or all weekend if bought on a Saturday, cost 6.20 euros.
If you want to walk it's approx 30 min easy walk to the old town. The rooms are warm,quiet,comfortable and come with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is best described as "adequate". There is plenty of choice but not a lot of any one item so things tended to run out fairly quickly. There are a few tables in a no smoking area which is a bonus in Germany. The only downside to this hotel was the service. The welcome was not particularly friendly and no info was given at check in. Service at breakfast was ok if you timed it right, get there when it's busy and you won't get any coffee like we did one morning. Check out was equally as unfriendly although efficient. The room maids were friendly though. Even for German standards the service was a bit "distant" but you can cope with it for a couple of days, you certainly wouldn't stay a week here ! Nuremburg itself was mostly ok. The christmas market was always busy and rather expensive. It may be the oldest market in Germany but certainly not the best. Not really a lot to see in the city so 1 or 2 days here is all you need. We took a train ride to Augsburg (about 1 hour by ICE) and we thought the market and the city were superior to Nuremburg. One tip in Nuremberg is not to eat and drink on the christmas market. Go down the main shopping streets and you can find gluwein for 1e and a half meter bratwurst for only 2.50e and far better quality and value than the market itself. It is also less crowded.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2002

We stayed there about 2 years ago. Clean and comfortable rooms, professional staff. Parking in back (very important in this town). Just a few blocks from the Metro. Good breakfast bar.

We'd use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Willibaldstrasse 7, 90491 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.