We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klughardt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Klughardt Hotel to your Saves list
Klughardt Hotel
Tauroggenstrasse 40-44, 90491 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reading, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here visiting the Christmas Markets and Nuremburg. This is a small family type hotel, so don't expect room service, restaurants and bars (they have an honesty bar), but do expect friendly service and a quiet residential location. The hotel is situated a couple of easy minutes walking from a tram stop that will take you into the city in 10 minutes (a two day ticket sold by the hotel costs about 6 euros). Our room was functional rather than plush and clean and nicely maintained. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but there was no noise at all from outside. Our room had twin beds (I think this is quite common in Europe). As someone else has mentioned, the breakfast room is probably is a little small so be prepared to share or be flexible with your times!. Breakfast was good, a continental style with breads, meats and cheese rather than hotplates with eggs and bacon and so on (although they will make you eggs on request). We liked the personal style and helpful staff and would recommend this hotel for personal travellers who want a simple, friendly, clean and quiet hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've stayed one night in this hotel. The location is good, just few meters from the main road with all necessery facilities and infrastructure. The room was large, absolutelly clean, comfortable bed and equiped with everything you would need. The reception was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, only I found breakfast room too small. In overall for the price you pay you cannot find better place to stay in Nuremberg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nuremburg was the 2nd night of our self drive tour around WW11 Germany. We got off to a bad start in this city as we met friends in Wurtzburg and were much later leaving than anticipated and as a navigator perhaps I shouldn't have had that last glass of wine!!!! Consequently we were a lot later to arrive than planned and got dreadfully lost - the receptionist was very helpful and this was no problem - we phoned to say where we were and she tried to direct us and in fact she stayed on late till we got there!!! It was basically me jumping into a cab and hubby following it to find the hotel!!! LOL As we'd arrived well after reception had closed we didn't take up the offer to help with bags, but she showed us round properly, ie breakfast room and "honour bar". But it was a nice introduction to the hotel. The car park was at the back (private car parks keep down insurance costs).
We'd booked a comfort room and it was brilliant! There was a door from our room onto a communal terrace (nice for me a smoker). The room was spotlessly clean with huge amount of storage and a lovely large shower room. The bed was very comfortable. We had a view over an immaculate garden which was noce on the morning we had "off" from sites of interest.
The couple that own the hotel were friendly helpful and very kind - on our first morning as I was sitting smoking, the husband and I got chatting and consequently he came up and lent me some of his wife's books. They were also very helpful in directing us to the tram stop - Nuremburg has a magnificent tram service - 5 mins down the road and you at are the stop and in the centre, very quickly. They helped to sort out the best tram card for us too, which you can buy from reception. They had maps etc to help too.The breakfast was good and the room lovely with proper tablecloths. BTW all the staff spoke good English BUT helped us when we tried our somewhat hesitant German!!
We were sad to leave and would certainly stay here again.
Nuremburg is beautiful, the Old Town particularly. Please note if you are going for WW11 there are no "public " tours - you have to DIY or book privately.

Room Tip: Book a comfort room if you are staying for more than 3 nights - its worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel while staying in Nuremberg. We would definitely stay there again. We had a "suite" since we are a family of four so the room was spacious with a small kitchen area that had a stove, refrigerator and coffee maker in it. It was very clean and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great! The location was perfect with only a 5 minute walk to the tram station with a 10 minute ride to the main bus/train station to make any connections and all of downtown sights. This hotel was also only 15 minutes away from the brad new Playmobil Fun Park which is great if you have small children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We used this hotel as a pitstop on a long journey. It was spotless, well equipped, friendly and good value for money. My only complaint was the lack of an evening meal or bar, but there are a lot of choices in close proximity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is relatively small hotel, or rather B&B, in purely residential area. Extremely clean, modern, fresh, though a little smallish, room, comfortable bath. Like in all hotels in Germany, you can open window, and it was great in October. Our room overlooked some grassy flat roof, neat private houses with flower gardens, and we had a patio. At first, we were surprised to find that the beds had the cheapest kind of foam mattresses, but slept very well anyway. Very good breakfast for such a small place. The only problem was insufficient parking: the manager had to let us into her own private spot overnight. If you are going to drive, make very clear during reservation that you will need parking.

Room Tip: Weather permitting, a room with a patio is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed several times in this family owned hotel and I am now treated almost as a permanent guest. The rooms are all very clean. The hotel has different sizes available from single to 'junior suit'. Best of all the breakfast - it certainly meets international standards. If you wish to explore Nuremberg by bike - the hotel offers free of charge bikes. I will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klughardt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klughardt Hotel

Address: Tauroggenstrasse 40-44, 90491 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#17 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Klughardt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klughardt Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klughardt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.