We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY FIRST TIME IN NUREMBERG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer to your Saves list
Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“MY FIRST TIME IN NUREMBERG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Ibis is well located within some minutes walk to the old town. Easy to access from the highway. Has a good parking. The team was helpfull and the check in was fast. Room was cleaned as well as the toillete. Breackfast was diversified and always fresh. Good coffee and hot chocolate available. Very glad to stay in this Ibis.

Room Tip: Room number 420.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    257
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
73
170
63
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A typical ibis hotel with a great bed and great hot shower. Convenient location with easily accessible public transportation. A little hard to find because 'ibis' is not on the front door, just 'Nurenberg City am Plaerrer'. Some of the staff were helpful while others were almost rude.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was conveniently located across the street from the Old Town. The rooms were very clean and exactly what you need for a quick visit to the city. Had great service upon check in and the hotel staff were very informative about getting around the city. The bar staff was exceptional! Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something on a budget, close to the city center as well as close to the man train station!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and thought it was really good. The hotel is situated 5 minutes from am plarrer train station and across the road from old nuremberg. It was spotless and the reception staff were very pleasant. It's a basic hotel but a good base to explore all the sights. My only gripe and someone mentioned this earlier is it can be quite noisey during the night, it was ok the Friday night but the Saturday it was really noisy during the night (our room faced the back), not sure if there is a nightclub near but that is the only thing I can say was not so good. It's a good budget hotel with a great base and we would return.

Room Tip: Try and go to the front though it may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

First off finding the Hotel was a bit of a puzzle because the Hotel is located off a one way street, which comes off a very busy extended roundabout.
Our GPS Originally took us onto the the road we were meant to be on, albeit to the wrong side. We ended up going round the the local blocks of flats and the very long roundabout again. I only saw the big Ibis Hotel Logo by chance because I was the passenger and happened to be looking up towards the top of the Houses.
Tip to Management: The Hotel definitely needs more signage!

Once we arrived at the Hotel there is underground parking chargeable at 8€ a day.

The best point about the Hotel is that it is located.just across the road from the old walls of this historic city, moreover getting to the city centre by foot take no more then 5mins

There's not much to say about Ibis Hotel rooms because there pretty much the same no matter where you stay. They're clean and comfortable, not very large and have a shower and toilet and usually have no more then two plug-sockets.

I stayed with my Uncle on the business package which includes the room, breakfast and WIFI. (normally you have to pay for the WIFI)
Using the WIFI at the Hotel is very annoying, one has to get an access code every day from reception. Once activated the code allows access to the WIFI for 24 hrs. We found that the WIFI is very temperamental and we both had problems where it kept logging us out! Very Annoying!

The Hotel has a bar and restaurant which doubles as a breakfast room in the morning. The breakfast room decor style can only be described as that of an old fashioned German pub-it is all clean but really needs a good update to bring it into the new millennium!

Breakfast was ok, not as good as in previous Ibis Hotels. The first day we came down for breakfast at 9:20am and there where no hard boiled eggs. Even after repeatedly asking the eggs arrived at 9:55! Nobody wants to wait 35mins for boiled eggs!

The breakfast Buffett consists of bread, pastries, yogurt, fruits, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and of course the obligatory coffee machine and juice machine.

I can only eat Gluten Free foods, and there was a packet of GF Bread although it was already dried out around the sides- I got the waitress to get me a fresh packet.

All in all, This is not the best Ibis I've ever stayed, but if there's two of you staying, the price works out very reasonable indeed,and given it's location close to the city centre we probably would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well this is a Ibis so don't expect much. I find this hotel very clean and the breakfast is enough to get the day started. It is 5 mins away from the underground and a few stops away from messe. The only drawback is that is is a little cut of when it come to dining in the evening. Staff there is the best I've come across in an ibis hotel so far. I only use ibis for business as usually the are close by to the fair grounds. Would not choose an ibis for vocation personally.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

2nd Hotel on my recent Germany trip, Great location, the average sized rooms are just big enough for me as I just need a place to sleep and wash, the city is really lovely and this hotel is just outside the Altstadt handy enough on to get to the train, though there are 2 Ibis nearer they were just a few euros dearer when I was booking my hotels I chose this Ibis and I would certainly use it again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Address: Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#18 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#19 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2-star ibis Nurnberg City am Plaerrer, which was completely renovated in 2011, is located in the center of the old town. The hotel has 155 air-conditioned rooms with WIFI access and 4 meeting rooms for up to 162 people. You can surf the Internet for free in the lobby with our WIFI or using our Web Corner. Our friendly reception staff and the bar and snack service are available 24 hours a day. You can enjoy our extensive breakfast between 4am and midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nuernberg Centrum Hotel Nuremberg
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.