We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Save Saved
You added Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #27 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and thought it was really good. The hotel is situated 5 minutes from am plarrer train station and across the road from old nuremberg. It was spotless and the reception staff were very pleasant. It's a basic hotel but a good base to explore all the sights. My only gripe and someone mentioned this earlier is it can be quite noisey during the night, it was ok the Friday night but the Saturday it was really noisy during the night (our room faced the back), not sure if there is a nightclub near but that is the only thing I can say was not so good. It's a good budget hotel with a great base and we would return.

Room Tip: Try and go to the front though it may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    232
    60
    12
    6
See reviews for
63
151
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

First off finding the Hotel was a bit of a puzzle because the Hotel is located off a one way street, which comes off a very busy extended roundabout.
Our GPS Originally took us onto the the road we were meant to be on, albeit to the wrong side. We ended up going round the the local blocks of flats and the very long roundabout again. I only saw the big Ibis Hotel Logo by chance because I was the passenger and happened to be looking up towards the top of the Houses.
Tip to Management: The Hotel definitely needs more signage!

Once we arrived at the Hotel there is underground parking chargeable at 8€ a day.

The best point about the Hotel is that it is located.just across the road from the old walls of this historic city, moreover getting to the city centre by foot take no more then 5mins

There's not much to say about Ibis Hotel rooms because there pretty much the same no matter where you stay. They're clean and comfortable, not very large and have a shower and toilet and usually have no more then two plug-sockets.

I stayed with my Uncle on the business package which includes the room, breakfast and WIFI. (normally you have to pay for the WIFI)
Using the WIFI at the Hotel is very annoying, one has to get an access code every day from reception. Once activated the code allows access to the WIFI for 24 hrs. We found that the WIFI is very temperamental and we both had problems where it kept logging us out! Very Annoying!

The Hotel has a bar and restaurant which doubles as a breakfast room in the morning. The breakfast room decor style can only be described as that of an old fashioned German pub-it is all clean but really needs a good update to bring it into the new millennium!

Breakfast was ok, not as good as in previous Ibis Hotels. The first day we came down for breakfast at 9:20am and there where no hard boiled eggs. Even after repeatedly asking the eggs arrived at 9:55! Nobody wants to wait 35mins for boiled eggs!

The breakfast Buffett consists of bread, pastries, yogurt, fruits, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and of course the obligatory coffee machine and juice machine.

I can only eat Gluten Free foods, and there was a packet of GF Bread although it was already dried out around the sides- I got the waitress to get me a fresh packet.

All in all, This is not the best Ibis I've ever stayed, but if there's two of you staying, the price works out very reasonable indeed,and given it's location close to the city centre we probably would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well this is a Ibis so don't expect much. I find this hotel very clean and the breakfast is enough to get the day started. It is 5 mins away from the underground and a few stops away from messe. The only drawback is that is is a little cut of when it come to dining in the evening. Staff there is the best I've come across in an ibis hotel so far. I only use ibis for business as usually the are close by to the fair grounds. Would not choose an ibis for vocation personally.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

2nd Hotel on my recent Germany trip, Great location, the average sized rooms are just big enough for me as I just need a place to sleep and wash, the city is really lovely and this hotel is just outside the Altstadt handy enough on to get to the train, though there are 2 Ibis nearer they were just a few euros dearer when I was booking my hotels I chose this Ibis and I would certainly use it again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice hotel very close to the city center. The rooms are clean and modern, and it's a great value for the amount you pay. The breakfast is also very nice and worth the money. Only downside was that the parking garage is very small and was full at the time of arrival. There for the car had to be parked in a garage nearby which looked very unsafe and was also more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Address: Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#17 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2-star ibis Nurnberg City am Plaerrer, which was completely renovated in 2011, is located in the center of the old town. The hotel has 155 air-conditioned rooms with WIFI access and 4 meeting rooms for up to 162 people. You can surf the Internet for free in the lobby with our WIFI or using our Web Corner. Our friendly reception staff and the bar and snack service are available 24 hours a day. You can enjoy our extensive breakfast between 4am and midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nuernberg Centrum Hotel Nuremberg
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.