We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Save Saved
You added Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #28 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Fleet
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was attending the Chillventa exhibition at the Nuremberg Messe in October 2012. I stayed here for the best part of a week from Monday to Thursday. I like this hotel, it was my second stay here and just like before it provided all my needs.

Access is very good. A direct train went straight from the airport to Plaerrer station on the underground (15 minutes) which comes out only 150 metres from the hotel (if you can find the correct exit). Then it's the same underground station to / from the exhibition centre (Messe) which is also about 15 minutes journey. No hassle.

You are just outside the old city wall so you can walk straight into the old town (Altestadt) which is mostly pedestrianised with a good selection of bars and restaurants, all within walking distance. However, beware the fantastic choice of shops, you could spend a fortune, I've never seen so many shops in such a small area, and all quality shops at that !!

Although the hotel rooms are a little on the basic basic side (it's an Ibis already), they are spotlessly clean, and you have all you need for a perfectly comfortable stay. I was on the fourth floor and my room was nice and quiet. There is a bar and a small restaurant downstairs, so if you don't want to go out, no problem, you can eat in as I did on the first night and have a quiet drink before turning in for the night. The foods not bad either

Breakfast is the usual continental affair but fine to fuel up on.

Nuremberg is a lovely place for a city break as well as a business trip so I plan to take my wife there soon, and I'd be just as happy to stay at this hotel for that trip as well. The only slight downside is the flight connection. The only direct flight to Nuremberg as far as I am aware is Air Berlin from Gatwick.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful too, so if you are looking for a mid range hotel that is clean, comfortable, conveniently located and reasonably priced then I'd have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    234
    60
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
155
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Second time in Nuremberg, on way to Budapest. Easy to find, just outside the Alte Stadt. Very friendly and helpful, recommend a couple of eating places and provided a street plan of the Old Town. English spoken, which is good with my limited German. On-site car park, free Wi-fi in the lobby. Rooms clean service very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are sound-proofed and air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are not large but large enough given that they are for sleeping in between adventures in the town. The cost of laundy services is exhorbinant so we went to a laundry some distance away. The entrance to the town centre is across the road but it must be borne in mind that central Nuremburg is bigger than it first looks. The cafe made the best coffee in Germany. I had given up drinking coffee but took the chance and was rewarded with a nice strong well brewed coffee. As we had a car access to the car park was good although not guaranteed. The hotel has many supermarkets in close proximity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice hotel for good value
room service was ok
everything clean
delicious breakfast
wifi connection quite slow

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This what a hotel should be like: affordable, close to city centre and helpful staff. Further combined with a good breakfast (full buffet), a great bed and free internet it is all I need. A minor point is the weak water pressure of the shower (would have made it perfect) but that's all. The area surrounding the hotel is not the best but you will spend most of your time in the Old Town which is just across the street. The windows are sound proof as far as I could tell but due to the main street right in front you may want to ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Address: Steinbuehler Str. 2 | 90443, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2-star ibis Nurnberg City am Plaerrer, which was completely renovated in 2011, is located in the center of the old town. The hotel has 155 air-conditioned rooms with WIFI access and 4 meeting rooms for up to 162 people. You can surf the Internet for free in the lobby with our WIFI or using our Web Corner. Our friendly reception staff and the bar and snack service are available 24 hours a day. You can enjoy our extensive breakfast between 4am and midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nuernberg Centrum Hotel Nuremberg
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.