We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behond Expectaion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Behond Expectaion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I travel for a living and I found this hotel to be on the very for front or customer service. The hotel has an exquisite restaurant, beautiful rooms and exceptional service. The hotel is directly location inside Nurnberg and close to great attractions

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sarah R
thank you ever so much for your nice review. Since you do travelling for living, I assume that you have stayed in a lot of hotels and therefore value your comments even more.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    263
    114
    20
    16
See reviews for
103
241
73
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our stay here was during the Christmas Market in Nurnberg. We arrived by train from Strasbourg France on a Sunday, and the bahnhof or train station just across the street. Upon arrival at Le Meridien, we received an upgraded room! We do not know why, maybe it was just good timing. The desk clerks were all very nice and pleasant. I left my gloves at the front desk by accident. Luckily the clerks held on to them... I was very grateful. The front desk directed us to the Christmas Markets and a wonderful restaurant for dinner which served the delicious Nurnberg sausages! Our upgraded room was large with 2 windows over-looking the train station. All was very quiet. The bathroom had 2 sinks, clean, bright white and very elegantly retro...we loved the decor. One evening we visited the lounge for drinks on a cold night. The sofas were very comfortable and cozy. The service was great also. I would only stay here when in Nurnberg, Our visit was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear LadiesMantle8
thank you very much for your review. My team and I are greateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you decided to return to us once you are back in town. We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We picked this hotel for our Christmas market vacation due to its central location, while still provided a quiet night of rest. It was really easy to get to from the airport via the subway. It was a bit confusing as to where to get the subway tickets once we exited the airport since it was a small airport and there was no clear sign. (it is located near the second subway entrance to the left, once you left the airport) However, once you get to the hotel, it's almost like a home away from home. The hotel was right across the street from the Tourist Information, which was the start of the main street that lead down to the Nuremberg Christmas market. It took about 10 min walking to reach the market but all the small kiosks along the way made it seem like the market already started before we reached it. (we really enjoyed the sausage stand that had currywurst)
The hotel was also situated across the street from the main train station that had trains going to Munich, Wurzburg, Rothenburg ODT, etc. We bought the Bavarian tickets each day to travel to those cities with trains that run after 9am and it definitely helped that we could quickly get there once we woke up. It felt safe even after we returned after midnight. There were a lot of breakfast options in the train station or in the subway station so we didn't feel like we had to eat in the hotel or took the lunch box option (with fees) that the hotel provided. (although that was a nice gesture) The train station also had a convenience store where you can buy snacks and water. The hotel provided free wifi in the lobby (not in the room) and a small business center so you can print your boarding passes, etc. The room was pretty big compared to other European hotels that we stayed in. We did take advantage of the hotel breakfast on the last day of our stay and it definitely did not disappoint. We will definitely come back and stay with them again during our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear foodienyc82
thank you very much for your review and your detailed description of the hotels location and the things you can do. I very much appreciate your comment that you will stay with us again once in town and I want to thank you for your loyalty in advance.
My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back and remain
with best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I really liked this hotel. The breakfast buffet is delicious and ample, of course serving those tasty Nuremberg grilled sausages and also Miso soup. Staff is cordially friendly and visibly takes pride in what they do. Reception staff is very attentive and goes out of their way to make one feel welcome or assist in any way they can. The hotel is central, just next to the train station and a good spot for both trade fairs (by car or underground) or exploring the city. I would spend a bit more here as the cheaper rooms tend to be a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear OliverJavert
thank you very much for your review and your very nice summary of our associates. I also appreciate that you liked our F&B offerings and our central location. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived at the hotel we were short a suitcase that Emirate Airlines had left in Dubai. Having been travelling for 30 odd hours we were tired and a little frustrated. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. When we explained the baggage issue they offered to follow up with the airline and assist in getting the luggage to us. They were also extremely helpful with storing our luggage the next day at no extra charge and organising a taxi to take us to our river cruise boat.
The room was large and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had heated towel rails and a great bath and shower. The buffet breakfast was extensive and delicious with great choices including champagne.
The hotel’s location is fantastic especially if you are arriving by train as it is just a walk across the square from the station. It is also located right at the entrance to the old town with many attractions in close walking distance. Definitely will stay here again if we visit Nuremberg again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Quiet-Pair
thank you for your review. It is nic to read that all associates took care of you and that they offered assistance to you. I also like to read that you liked the location, the room, the bathroom and our breakfast. Despite the fact, that your arrival was a little bit spoilt, we are glad to hear that you would stay with us again once you are in town. Thank you for that. My team and I wish you a nice river boat trip and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Extremely dissappointing when expecting 5 stars. The rooms (single room) are tiny, poorly lit and the view out the window is a wall. The train station is loud and delivery vans disturb annoy as from 6am. The walls are thin so you can hear your neighbour on the phone. Wifi coverage is poor and expensive.

Positive :
- gin cocktails in the bar
- valet service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Stephan J
thank you for your review and my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your comments to the owning company and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed several times at this property and it has consistntly met or exceeded my expectations. Ths hotel is in a good location in proximity to the central station and the pedestrian precinct. Therefore, it is a suitable choice for both business travelers and tourists.

The hotel managed to provide its guests with modern amenities while maintaining its grand hotel charme. Rooms are all nicely decorated, clean and comfortable and as SPG gold member I receive each time a complementary drink and snack at the hotel bar. I was also impressed by the friendliness of the hotel staff, which in al cases was cordial and dediated to godd customer service.

I can highly recommend this hotel to all visitors of the Nuremberg area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Alex E
thank you very much for your review and your kind words which I will pass on to all my associates. We know that we have a good location for all sorts of different guests who decide to stay with us, but what really makes adifference is the kindness and friendliness of all employees, that is what makes the difference. Once again thank you for sharing your thought to the public, you are a true ambassador.
My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#19 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.