We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy and warm hotel right in the middle of Nuremberg.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A cosy and warm hotel right in the middle of Nuremberg.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Le Meridien is in a historical building, but inside is all very stylish and well-played. The staff is very friendly - you really feel welcome there. It is located basically in the middle of Nuremberg and you have easy access to everything. To the airport it's only about 16€ by taxi, but the trainstation is right in front of the hotel, so you can go by train also. The food selection is wide and it's good too. The rooms and specially the beds are very comfortable.

They could however provide better wifi service to rooms and lower the room prices only a little. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear karelkask
thank you for your review and the description of the hotel. It is nice to read that you liked the ambience and that you praise the associates. I also have some good news for you and for all others who read this. We just increased our internet from 20 MBIT to 100 MBIT so all problems should be solved and the speed will be much faster.
My team and I hope that you will stay with us again once you are in town and remain,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    226
    91
    14
    11
See reviews for
91
200
68
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

- Centrally located
- Very friendly staff: taught us how to make spatzle, called our cab, gave directions to hotspots
- Located directly in front of train station
- Only 19 euro taxi ride from airport and 13 euro on the way back
- Rooms were very clean with good heating and great water pressure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LostinHI
Thank you for your review and the nice description about the hotel. Just for your informationthere is also a tube running from the airport to the main train station just opposite the hotel. The ride takes 10 minutes and cost only 3.00 Euros.
My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had to stay at The Grand for a business trip, but added a few days to enjoy the Christmas Festival. I've been to Germany several times to Munich and Berlin and love coming here; Nuremberg was no different. I can't list all the reasons that Germany is superb, just come and enjoy it.

However, The Grand should not be high on your list. They unreasonably up-charge for everything: internet, breakfast. The rooms are not modern; the walls and doors thin, letting in outside and inner noise (bring ear plugs). The staff is generally nice, but in accordance to the cost of the hotel.

I was disappointed. I'm a preferred guest with this hotel chain, and that meant nothing. This may sound like I'm crying in my bier, but if I spend my money with this hotel and they don't recognize my loyalty, then what good is it?

Anyways. This was the last hotel to fill up in the city during a trade show and I can see why.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ThisIsntMichael
thank you for your review, even if it is not as good as I wished for. Xmas time is a peak season for us and high demand has an influence on the end price we charge, I am sure you know that since we all adopted this strategy from the air lines. As a Starwood Prefered Guest you should receive special attention and if that was not the case I want to sincerely apologize for that. We are aware that some rooms can be louder than others and we have it on our agenda. I hope you will give us a second chance and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been staying at the Meridien Nuremberg a few times for business reasons over the last weeks and it has been very enjoyable.
I did like the Grand Deluxe rooms, that are spacious, nicely furnished and quite. I was a bit afraid having a room facing the street, but the windows are great and block out the noise. Bathroom was old-style, but nice and clean. Internet service was fast and reliable.

The gym and spa area in the basement seem recently renovated and provided a small selection of equipment for an evening-workout.

The bar as well as the restaurant are excellent and the staff super nice. Breakfast was good, typical European spread with eggs, fruit, cheese and much more. Definitely not at the level of an Asian-style Meridien, but good enough. Staff at breakfast seemed a bit overwhelmed and the restaurant was packed at times. It took long to get a coffee and to have dirty dishes removed.
The bar served good drinks and food (I very much enjoyed the burger) and the restaurant serves great dinner, even if on the more expensive side.

I would be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear SFLeonce
thank you for your review and the detailed description about the services on offer. It is nice to read that you liked the rooms and the sound proofed windows. You are right with the brekfast. The restaurant can seat up to 120 people and at peak times it can get crowded at times, but as you rightly said, we try our utmost to have a friendly service in place to compensate for this. My team and I hope that you will stay with us again and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel ticked most of the boxes for me. It was perfectly located for the station and The Old Town. The rooms were most comfortable and clean and the staff very courteous. If I'm being picky, I would say that the rooms were very warm though, and having the window open was somewhat noisy. Also the breakfast at 24E was very expensive when for less that 5E, you could have a hearty blow out in one of the station cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear docfun
thank you for your review and the comments about the location and the room. I agree that the price of 24E for breakfast is not the cheapest, but we have the biggest choice in town to satisfy all of our international clients. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in mid-November.
Very nice old hotel, lots of character, well maintained and in good condition. Check in process quick and efficient. My only criticism is that the room I was given was very small indeed, smaller than your average European hotel room. As I was only there for two nights I didn't ask to be moved. Other than that I found that everything was great. Really pleasant and polite staff, room service breakfast was good. I ate in the restaurant and in the bar, the food was exceptionally good.
I would return to the hotel (though ask for a larger room) if I was visiting Nuremberg again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very conveniently placed across the square for the station and local trams and one of the entrances to the walled city. Staff at check in restaurant and bar pleasant and efficient. Room 432 looking out to inner courtyard quiet and very comfortable for our 2 night stay. Slippers, dressing gowns, nice toiletries and a hospitality tray. Excellent breakfast buffet lots of choice and to finish a glass of trocken. Bar area small and comfortable for a snack after busy days sightseeing. Voucher in room for complimentary water, coffee, glass of wine and nibbles, a nice touch. Lovely not overpowering perfume smell in corridors. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Inner court yard rooms lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Collybean
thank you for your nice review and your comments about the hotel which is highly appreciated. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back once you are in town.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.