We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 minute walk to Hauptmarkt/ Christkindlesmarkt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg to your Saves list
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“10 minute walk to Hauptmarkt/ Christkindlesmarkt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

- Centrally located
- Very friendly staff: taught us how to make spatzle, called our cab, gave directions to hotspots
- Located directly in front of train station
- Only 19 euro taxi ride from airport and 13 euro on the way back
- Rooms were very clean with good heating and great water pressure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LostinHI
Thank you for your review and the nice description about the hotel. Just for your informationthere is also a tube running from the airport to the main train station just opposite the hotel. The ride takes 10 minutes and cost only 3.00 Euros.
My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    279
    121
    22
    18
See reviews for
107
260
74
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had to stay at The Grand for a business trip, but added a few days to enjoy the Christmas Festival. I've been to Germany several times to Munich and Berlin and love coming here; Nuremberg was no different. I can't list all the reasons that Germany is superb, just come and enjoy it.

However, The Grand should not be high on your list. They unreasonably up-charge for everything: internet, breakfast. The rooms are not modern; the walls and doors thin, letting in outside and inner noise (bring ear plugs). The staff is generally nice, but in accordance to the cost of the hotel.

I was disappointed. I'm a preferred guest with this hotel chain, and that meant nothing. This may sound like I'm crying in my bier, but if I spend my money with this hotel and they don't recognize my loyalty, then what good is it?

Anyways. This was the last hotel to fill up in the city during a trade show and I can see why.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ThisIsntMichael
thank you for your review, even if it is not as good as I wished for. Xmas time is a peak season for us and high demand has an influence on the end price we charge, I am sure you know that since we all adopted this strategy from the air lines. As a Starwood Prefered Guest you should receive special attention and if that was not the case I want to sincerely apologize for that. We are aware that some rooms can be louder than others and we have it on our agenda. I hope you will give us a second chance and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
273 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been staying at the Meridien Nuremberg a few times for business reasons over the last weeks and it has been very enjoyable.
I did like the Grand Deluxe rooms, that are spacious, nicely furnished and quite. I was a bit afraid having a room facing the street, but the windows are great and block out the noise. Bathroom was old-style, but nice and clean. Internet service was fast and reliable.

The gym and spa area in the basement seem recently renovated and provided a small selection of equipment for an evening-workout.

The bar as well as the restaurant are excellent and the staff super nice. Breakfast was good, typical European spread with eggs, fruit, cheese and much more. Definitely not at the level of an Asian-style Meridien, but good enough. Staff at breakfast seemed a bit overwhelmed and the restaurant was packed at times. It took long to get a coffee and to have dirty dishes removed.
The bar served good drinks and food (I very much enjoyed the burger) and the restaurant serves great dinner, even if on the more expensive side.

I would be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear SFLeonce
thank you for your review and the detailed description about the services on offer. It is nice to read that you liked the rooms and the sound proofed windows. You are right with the brekfast. The restaurant can seat up to 120 people and at peak times it can get crowded at times, but as you rightly said, we try our utmost to have a friendly service in place to compensate for this. My team and I hope that you will stay with us again and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel ticked most of the boxes for me. It was perfectly located for the station and The Old Town. The rooms were most comfortable and clean and the staff very courteous. If I'm being picky, I would say that the rooms were very warm though, and having the window open was somewhat noisy. Also the breakfast at 24E was very expensive when for less that 5E, you could have a hearty blow out in one of the station cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear docfun
thank you for your review and the comments about the location and the room. I agree that the price of 24E for breakfast is not the cheapest, but we have the biggest choice in town to satisfy all of our international clients. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in mid-November.
Very nice old hotel, lots of character, well maintained and in good condition. Check in process quick and efficient. My only criticism is that the room I was given was very small indeed, smaller than your average European hotel room. As I was only there for two nights I didn't ask to be moved. Other than that I found that everything was great. Really pleasant and polite staff, room service breakfast was good. I ate in the restaurant and in the bar, the food was exceptionally good.
I would return to the hotel (though ask for a larger room) if I was visiting Nuremberg again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very conveniently placed across the square for the station and local trams and one of the entrances to the walled city. Staff at check in restaurant and bar pleasant and efficient. Room 432 looking out to inner courtyard quiet and very comfortable for our 2 night stay. Slippers, dressing gowns, nice toiletries and a hospitality tray. Excellent breakfast buffet lots of choice and to finish a glass of trocken. Bar area small and comfortable for a snack after busy days sightseeing. Voucher in room for complimentary water, coffee, glass of wine and nibbles, a nice touch. Lovely not overpowering perfume smell in corridors. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Inner court yard rooms lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Collybean
thank you for your nice review and your comments about the hotel which is highly appreciated. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back once you are in town.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Le Meridien is located in a wonderful location for seeing all the great sites in Nuremberg. If you are arriving by train, you can easily walk across the street to the hotel. Even though the Train Station is so close, I never heard or was bothered by any train noise. On the other side of the street is the entrance to the walled Old City. There are so many shops, great restaurants and lovely cafes within a short walk. The Castle and Cathedrals are also within walking distance. Don't miss the market in the square! Lot's of great vendors selling local food products, crafts, flowers and produce. Check with the hotel for market schedule.

Our Grand Deluxe room was very spacious, actually very large for Europe! Comfortable King bed, big desk to lay out all your personal items, large bathroom and plenty of closet space to store your luggage. Our room was very clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. The staff was very friendly and professional, and their English is excellent. They made several great restaurant recommendations. We had cocktails and appetizers in the lounge one evening and the breakfast buffet one morning. The service was pleasant and the food was enjoyable, a little pricey though. You must try the city specialty, Nurnberg Sausages! They are small grilled sausages (actually the size and ingredients are regulated by the city) and they are something we talk about craving all the time! I wish I had some right now!

Special thanks to the valet who programed our Tom Tom! We drove onward to Prague without missing a single turn! I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Le Meridien. I was very impressed with how very kind and helpful the staff was.

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe rooms are indeed "Grand!" Plenty of space to spread out and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Lisatini1013
thank you ever so much for all the praise you have given us and you are a true ambassdor for us. You are right when you say that we have a beautiful and unique location. By train it takes you only 10 minutes from the airport to the hotel and as you rightly said we are just next to the main train station. I really like your comments what all can be done in Nuremberg and I hope it will encourage others to visit our beautiful city. You also made me and my colleagues very proud when stating that you received good service, this is our main aim and we try our very best to achieve that every single day for every single guest. Once again thank you for your review and the entire team is looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
NH Nuernberg City Center
#22 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
#63 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#31 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.