We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Moody Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Nurnberg to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Moody Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've stayed several times on business. I like it ...its has a certain warm mood about it. The decor is probably old fashioned, lots of dark wood and cream. The is bar is nice with a good mix of seating and staff who are professional and willing to pass the time of day. The bedrooms would not excite one who frequents boutique hotels, however they are warm comfortable and functional....above all they are quiet which I value. Good breakfast etc.

I'd certainly go again on business....but not for vacation.

Room Tip: There is a good value Italian 100 Meters from the back of the Hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback of your stay.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in our hotel during your businesses in Nuremberg.
I will transfer your special annotation of our bar to the service staff.
Our hotel furniture and interior is in a timeless exclusively style, so it contains a lot of wooden, golden and crème colours.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel, next time you are visiting Nuremberg.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    132
    61
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
71
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights to attend the Spielwarenmesse. The lift was slow, room had threadbare towels, mediocre linen and an ancient tv. The wifi (which was expensive to boot) coverage area didn't extend to my room.

The staff was friendly and the bar was lively (though also very expensive). I skipped the €19 breakfast for coffee and a roll at the station two doors down.

All in all, I would be sorely disappointed if I came to Nuremberg on holiday and chose the Maritim Hotel as my base to explore the old city. But for a business hotel during a major trade fair, it was reasonable (save for the wifi situation).

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

The positive feedback within our staff I have passed to my employees.
With great regret I have registered your negative notes.
I am very sorry for the problems you had connecting to the wifi network,
the hotel building itself contains strong walls making it difficult for wireless signals to get all over.
Please contact the Front Desk next time, we immediately would have changed the battered towels and lines for you.
We are going to take your feedback to advance.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to improve your impressions.

With best regards,

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clean and well maintained hotel. But it is a bit expensive for the facilities provided. WiFi is not provided free of cost and you need to pay separately for a day's or hourly package. Breakfast is ok. I know it is asking too much, but it would have been good if there were some indian dishes also served for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg,

I am pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel, also there were extra expenses for the internet connection.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel, next time you are in Nuremberg.

Yours sincerely


Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by train so location is ideal - only 3 mins walk from train station but also close to town. An underpass next to hotel takes you under the road to give you direct access into Old Town and about a 10 minute walk finds you right in the heart of the old city and the Christkindlemarkt, which was lovely to visit. Room was large & warm, bed was comfortable. Some other people we met complained about rooms being too hot or cold but we found our heating worked fine and were able to control warmth. We were on front of hotel, overlooking old town which was nice but the road is busy so you wouldn't want to open the windows to get some fresh air. It was very cold when we were there (minus 8 one day) and hotel was lovely and warm, so no fear of being too cold. Breakfast was great - about everything you could have wanted and more besides! Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke great English. Not a very stylish hotel but comfortable and well located - did the trick!

Room Tip: Rooms on front have busy main road but also a view. We are told the rooms at the back looked onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time rating our hotel.
I am pleased that you are satisfied with our service and the hotel itself. Our location is our special benefit and is a sign for MARITIM Hotels.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel next stay in Nuremberg. It is a very nice city all over the year.

With best wishes

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

good, clean hotel though quite pricey.breakfast and wifi not included. Close to train and city centre and staff were friendly, spoke english and gave us an umbrella to use when it was raining. Room was quite old though comfortable, view of construction out of window. It was fine but not outstanding for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback of your stay.
I would like to apologize for the room with view on the construction side.
Proximity to old town and main station concludes that we are an inner city hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city and in our traditional hotel.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a very short walk to the Christmas Markets and the old part of town, so the location in good. Our room was small, and very uncomfortable due to the lack of pillows and the fact that we were unable to regulate the heat, causing our room to be very hot. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was attractive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time rating our hotel.
I am pleased that you are satisfied with the location of the hotel itself.
We are located directly at the entrance to inner city and also the famous “Christkindles Market” is only a few minutes away in Christmas time.
Dear Guest, please report the lack of pillows immediately to the front desk next time, so we are able to bring you another pair of pillows and give you a hand with regulating your radiator.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel next stay in Nuremberg.

With best wishes

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting Nuremberg with a Great Rail Journey holiday to the Christkindlemarkt and when we got off the train the Hotel Maritim was a very welcome sight and very handy for the Bahnhof and the old own. Our bedroom was nice and spacious and the quality of the buffet breakfast out of this world. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Nuremberg.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and the positive feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Nuremberg.
I will pass your satisfaction to our staff.

I hope we can welcome you, if your journey brings you to Nuremberg again.
It is a lovely city all over the year, not only for visiting at Christmas time.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Nurnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.