We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Maritim Hotel Nurnberg to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Maritim Hotel to attend a conferenced in Nuremberg. It is in a great location, between two train stops, both of which are only a 1-2 minute walk away, and directly across the street from the old city. The hotel lobby is beautiful and elegant, and the rooms are very clean and quite comfortable(although they could be a bit plain for some). An amazing buffet breakfast is included with the room rate. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and took care of all of my questions and requests promptly and cheerfully. If I return to Nuremberg, I wil definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our hotel and your positiv feedback. I hope you had a safe journey home.

I am really happy that you liked your stay in MARITIM hotel Nuremberg. We are glad to offer our guests the direct proximity to Nuremberg´s old town and the main rail station.

Your positiv feedback concerning our service and the breakfast I passed to our employers.

Dear Guest, I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    127
    57
    14
    5
See reviews for
18
68
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located close to most things worth seeing in Nürnberg, but it does need refurbishment. If you arrive by train or subway from the airport, it´s a 3 minute walk from the central train station.

My room was spacious with a nice view of the medivial fortifications across the street. The decoration was probably stylish in 1995, but now it could need some renovation.

The gym was a disappointment, but they do have a nice indoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the the top floors facing the street. Noise is not a problem and you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel and your room, also you didn´t like the decoration.

With great regret I have also registered your negative notes. We are always aimed to improve and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel during your next stay in Nuremberg.

Sincerely Yours

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent here 3 nights in a trip to Nuremberg. The location is fantastic: 200 meters from the main rail station and just across the street from the old city gates. The rooms were quite spacious and cozy. The view from the room to the old city is fantastic, and when the windows are shut the room is silent.

We've ordered in advance and paid roughly 115 euros / night. We felt we got excellent value.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positiv feedback about MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you liked the location of our hotel. We are glad to offer our guests the direct proximity to Nuremberg´s old town and the main rail station.

I am also happy that you are satisfied with our rooms and that you enoyed the view over the beautiful city.

Dear Guest, I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely Yours

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

For 175 Euro ($218) a night for a "superior" room, I figured that "a modern and elegantly furnished room" would be a room that has been updated since 1995. The fixtures were very tired, the bed tiny and lumpy, and the bathroom cramped. The pros: the view of the city from our balcony was spectacular, the parking easy (and incredibly close to the city and train station), the room was large and staff as a whole were helpful and very nice. The whole hotel just needs a facelift to bring it out of the 90s.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay in MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you are satisfied with our service. I passed this positiv feedback to our employers.

With great regret I have read your negative comment about our rooms. We are always anxious for improving our comfort and benefits.

I look forward to welcome you again in nuremberg and in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are heading for the Verkehrs- oder Germanisches Nationalmuseum, this place is ideal to its closeness to the museums and to the train station as well (5 mins on foot, both). Most helpful staff at the reception. Rooms large, but lacked some daylight; baths nice, even with a bathtub which was a bit small if used as such (and I am 5'7"). WLAN not free. Breakfast great (the largest selection of fruit juices hitherto seen; inclusive of the infamous Bavarian weisswurste). Restaurant good quality of food, everything freshly prepared, but portion size a bit tiny.

Room Tip: Rooms towards Tafelhofstrasse tend to be a bit dark; Do not go for half-board (starter and mains onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.
I hope you had a safe journey home.

I am pleases that you are satisfied with our service and our breakfast buffet.
A successfully start to the day is often supported by a sufficient and healthy breakfast. To enable this to our guests, we pay attention to a rich and extensive selection at the breakfast buffet.

We are glad about your kind notes and look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As we were travelling around Europe by train the hotel was in an ideal situation to reach from the railway station. I was apprehensive that it was so close to the station but was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Our room was lovely, overlooking the old city wall with no threadbare carpets (!). It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff polite and friendly. Would like a longer visit to Nuremberg and would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have taken for rating our hotel.

I am happy that you are satisfied with our service and passed the positive feedback to our employers.

I am also pleased that you were happy with our rooms and our breakfast buffet.

We are glad to offer our guests the direct proximity to Nuremberg's old town and the main train station.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcomeing you again at our hotel during your next stay in Nuremberg.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were three couples who recently stayd for 1 night. We were all very satisfied with the room, good service and very nice breakfast. And, the breakfast had champagne - lovely! :) We will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback about MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
I taken very positive note that you were happy with the selection and quality of our breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcome you again in nuremberg and in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Nurnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.