We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice authentic atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Der Nassauer Keller

Der Nassauer Keller
Karolinenstrasse 2-4, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 852 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Cuisines: German
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice authentic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice authentic atmosphere with good food. Had potato dumplings in almost every main course of every dinner. But the potato dumpling of this restaurant is by far the best. I don't know how they did it, but the potato dumplings here does have a more refreshing taste and different texture. Btw, nice salad dressing too. After having meat + meat + more meat or sausages for 4 days, we really started to appreciate the little things eg. taste of potato dumpling or salad dressing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Watch your head and your step”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We happened upon the restaurant while walking around town. I don't think one could ask for a more pleasant atmosphere. It wasn't crowded when we arrived, but got very crowded very quickly with locals, which is always a good sign. My wife and i both had the Nurnberg sausages with sauerkraut which was good and our travelling companions had something different, At first, the waitress seemed annoyed, but she warmed up a little later. Overall, it was a very nice choice for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food was good, as was the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

A small shadow was casted due to some nature seen on the wall twice during the dinner. A mouse was seen by several of us two parties climbong on the stony wall to the opening covered by cast iron artwork. Food and service was great, and we do not bother if the mice eat droppings, but then we realised there must also be mouse droppings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Down in a cellar but a cut above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had dinner three times in early April at Der Nassauer Keller in Nürnberg. The food was quite good, the service excellent (same waiter each time, Daniel, who remembered our preferences), and price was reasonable. We wanted to eat German food, and most of the German restaurants had similar menus. This one, however, had the regular items but also a few different listings. In the three meals, we had hochzeitssuppe (“wedding soup”), matjes herring in cream sauce, Nürnberg bratwürste with sauerkraut (a local specialty), grilled lamb, grilled rumpsteak sauerbraten, and schweineschäufele (pork shoulder, another local specialty). The room is in the high-vaulted cellar of a famous tower just across from the St. Lorenz Church. As one previous reviewer noted, there is a very steep stairway leading down the restaurant. We certainly wold not have gone back had not the experience been pleasant. We had a glass of wine and beer on each occasion. Our three bills were 52,50€ (an extra beer on this one), 36,70€ and 47,70€.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good food in a cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

After a good but not particularly remarkable "Hochzeit" soup, I had the local sausages with sauerkraut - the sausages were very tasty, and the sauerkraut was possibly the best I ever had. The Weiss Bier was fruity and eminently drinkable. It is a small place located in the dungeons of a medieval tower, very picturesque. I was served by a very efficient waiter, there is really nothing I can complain about, but a little more cordiality would help this place's business, I am quite sure...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Nassauer Keller also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Der Nassauer Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Nassauer Keller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.