We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel\hostel two times in the past two years

Good location - close to the old town
Clean rooms and good facilities
Friendly and helpful staff
Reasonable prices

A good deal in Nuremberg during the toy fair

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    49
    36
    20
    19
See reviews for
28
16
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Until now I have been to a couple A&O locations and I can say that they share almost the same characteristics. Clean rooms, good breakfast, good value for money, proper for short stays. However, as a negative aspect when travelling with children is the category of people which hangs out in this hotel: there are many strange, noisy people who do not care about anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is very well situated for a visit to Nuremburg. 10 minutes walk from the main street with lots of restaurants etc. Parking is limited but there is an underground carpark in the square behind it. It's a hostel / hotel so don't expect luxury - you're staying here for a good basic roof over your head while you explore the city. Clean spot and friendly staff. Pool table in lobby. Breakfast basic but good. We stayed with a 6 year old child and it was just fine for us. I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

i stayed there with 4 friends and got a hotel room for 5 which is cheap compared to other hotel i search on web. the room is clean and the staff were nice. they have lift so you don't have to drag your suitcase up the stairs. the bed were nice and in a good size. the bathroom was clean too. it is good enough for you who want to spend the rest of the day outside and comeback to the hotel just to sleep. of course, it will be boring if you stay all day in this kind of low budget hotel. the price shows, but still clean, near the main railway station, cozy and sleep able :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my students while traveling through Germany in June. We arrived on a very hot day, one of those days when you wish some Germans understood the concepts of ceiling fans, room fans, or simply air conditioning. I've stayed in some hotels when it;s hot with no AC but this place was like an oven.The rooms were miserably hot and opening the windows simply sucked in more hot air. Tried opening the doors to the hallway and that didn't help much. I basically had to abandon my room until it got dark. One would think that this hotel would be sensitive to the needs of its guests when it comes to a comfortable climate and at least have fans in the rooms, if not AC available during the warm season. My kids were in the same boat too as was my other chaperon. The other big issue is that, at the crack of dawn, I discovered just how thin the windows are on the street side of the hotel. A trash and a recycling (?) truck came and it seemed an eternity until the finished smashing/compacting glass and trash in the street below before hauling it off. Every car horn, every squeal of brakes and other street noise could be clearly heard as if the windows were wide open (I was so bothered by traffic noise during the night I tried shutting the windowsto block it out). This was among the poorest night's sleep I have ever had in any hotel. Other than these things, there is a nice lobby and staff seemed friendly and helpful within the bounds of which they had to work. There is a great bar on the top floor where you can get cocktails and have a nice view. It's just a shame the other problems cannot be fixed, otherwise, this would be a pretty decent place. No one in our group got much sleep, except those that were lucky enough to not be on a street facing room.

Room Tip: Do not go here in late June through July since if it is hot, you will roast alive in this hotel. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A&O is in a great spot near the train station and old town. Modern and clean compared most hostels. Room was clean but worn a bit. Nothing out of the ordinary for hostels that have daily turnover. Lobby was inviting. A&O offered a number of services at a reasonable price. Breakfast, laundry, ect..... Rooftop bar was inviting. Staff was knowledgeable and kind. Biggest issue was street noise that made sleeping difficult. Construction nearby and a busy road made for early mornings. Get a place in the back and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

GREAT all around place to be, spacious rooms, and very clean in room bathrooms. The staff made it especially special. BIG lobby bar, cheap prices. Guest kitchen downstairs and washing machines downstairs - no windows? that would be the only point they need to improve, is gues kitchen upstairs, and places to dine...apart from their restaurant. VERY safe place to be at

Room Tip: minutes from train station, yet very quiet place to be..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.