We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location + Wonderful Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“GREAT location + Wonderful Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

GREAT all around place to be, spacious rooms, and very clean in room bathrooms. The staff made it especially special. BIG lobby bar, cheap prices. Guest kitchen downstairs and washing machines downstairs - no windows? that would be the only point they need to improve, is gues kitchen upstairs, and places to dine...apart from their restaurant. VERY safe place to be at

Room Tip: minutes from train station, yet very quiet place to be..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
24
12
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Convenient location near the main train station, as well as connected to many local subway lines that also lead to the airport.

The 4 bed room was very clean, large but also cosy enough. The toilet was modern and bright, with a separate shower from the toilet, which was a lovely touch.

Wifi signal strong and solid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For full disclosure, I will say this was not my first choice for a hotel. I planned a last minute trip for my family and my sibling's family to Nuremberg. I discovered finding a family room was not an easy task. I either had to pay a fortune for multiple rooms or try something else. I was pleasantly surprised by A&O Hotel/Hostel. The family rooms had 2 singles put together to make a double and a set of bunk beds. There were absolutely no frills, but the room was clean and adequate for what we needed. The toilet and shower were in separate rooms, so one person could shower and my potty-training son could still get to the bathroom without interrupting someone.

The lobby had free wi-fi and paid access to desktop computers. The breakfast was affordable and not bad. Definitely not an American breakfast, but enough to keep everyone full until we had time for lunch. The location was perfect and all of old-town Nuremberg was a short walk away.

The cons we experienced were:
1. The wi-fi that was supposed to be available in the room did not work, so we had to go to the lobby to use the computer. They did refund our payment on the in-room wi-fi, though.
2. The rooms did not have darkening curtains so the light shown in all night long and it was hard to sleep with that much light.
3. There are no phones in the room.
4. There is no sort of extra lock on the inside of the room door. My small son escaped and would have ran off if I had not been paying attention. Not exactly a safe thing for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a nightmare stay of 4 nights at the A&O Hostel in Berlin, this was such a refreshing surprise. The staff was friendly, the lobby and dining area very bright, cheery and inviting. Our room and bathroom was bigger and seemed much brighter. Food was pretty much the same but you got to help yourself in a room large enough to move around it. The dining area also had a kids play area. I'd definitely come here again and feel comfortable enough to bring my kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hostel for one night. It is neither a budget hotel nor a hostel because of the price. 60 for a single room in any place with this limited service is a disgrace... And then 3 euro charge just to pay. I was not informed of checkout time and came to check out at half 11 to be told I wud have to pay late check out. I told the kid behind the desk that I wasn't told the checkout time was 11 and she pointed to a sign behind her. I simply refused to pay it as I was so annoyed by the price for somewhere so basic with curtains that didn't cover the window and a matress and towels that could do damage to you. Just not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visiting the Messe on business - Brilliant location - 5 minute walk to station & 7 minute walk to Old Town.
Rooms are basic with no drink making equipment but clean & tidy with good showers.
Staff very good & helpful.
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my second stay at the A&O. I stay here, on business, because in Nuremberg the hotels are very expensive, or very cost effective. This is cost effective but good. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the shower always hot and powerful, and the staff are very friendly.

The location is perfect for staying in the old town or getting the local transport.

It's a totally budget hotel but one I will continue to use with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.