We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, limited wifi, ok location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small room, limited wifi, ok location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A&O is a bit of a walk away from the Haouptbanhof, along a main road. Reception was curt and abrupt, will not go out of their way to help. We booked a twinshare in the hotel section, so we got free wifi and a TV with an ensuite. Room was small, with a strange vinyl covered mattress and no sheets other than the bare covering of the vinyl mattress, and a thin blanket. Pillows provided were thin and uncomfortable. Bathroom was small and cramped but clean. There was a large desk and 3 chairs in our room, which made it more cramped, considering the size of the room. Windows open up to the hostel, and we always had to draw the curtains close as there's always someone peering into the room from somewhere in the building.

Security enabled Wifi is only available on one device per room regardless of how many people were in the room. No free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
26
12
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My friend, my niece and I stayed on one night in the hotel part of this establishment. We took a family room that had twin beds and bunk beds to accommodate 4 people. I had booked on booking.com and was under the impression that the room rate for the night was for 4 people; however at check-in we were told we had to pay an extra charge for the bedding for the 3rd person. As it was already late in the evening, we just paid up and took the extra bedding to the room only to find that all four beds already had bedding! When we went downstairs to reception to return the extra bedding the staff matter of factly told us that the fee was for the 3rd person regardless of whether we used the bedding!?? Nonetheless, we were satisfied with the cleanliness and good working order of everything in the room and the close proximity of the Christmas market to the place; so 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here-- was clean, beds were comfy, staff was helpful, can't complain!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I agree with other comments about the position it is very close to the train station but it really is a hostel not a hotel ....we paid €125 for a Saturday night and no way was it worth that!!!!!!! For a start it had vinyl covered foam mattresses!!!!!! Like some thing out of a bad English boarding school!!!!!!! The room was very pokey and the toilet was inaccessible unless you sat sideways on it.Breakfast was ok but honestly those beds .....I still shudder when I think about them

Room Tip: Don't say here if you do ask for a room on the opposite side from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed two nights in the hotel portion of the A&O, which is fundamentall a hostel. For a hotel room in a hostel, the experience was absolutely five stars. One should have no illusions though: this is NOT a five-star hotel by any means! But my room was clean and spacious, the staff spoke English, and I experienced no problems (aside from noisy neighbors, to be expected on Friday and Saturday night at a youth hostel).

The A&O is just a few minutes' walk east of the main train station and the main gate to the old town, so it is in an excellent location. There are a few restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, or you can walk five minutes to the old town restaurants. Late night (or at least later night than usual) services are available at the train station, again just a few minutes' walk from the hotel.

My room was pleasantly large (for a hotel room in a hostel) but the bathroom was cramped: don't try to use the toilet if you have long legs. :) Thankfully, I have short legs. The TV was tiny and there was no phone. The (excellent) hotel wireless internet costs 1 euro per hour, with discounts for longer time periods. You have to buy a separate ticket and code for each session of use.

Overall, I was happy with the experience -- and for the price, I was thrilled!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are very noisy due to heavy traffic, trams, and trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very convenient place to stay - just 5 minutes or less to walk to the train station, and then another couple of minutes and you're in the old town. Breakfast was worthwhile (not included) with lots of stuff to choose from. The staff were really friendly and polite. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm with an en suite (separate little rooms for the shower and toilet). It had all the facilities you'd need.
Only minor problems. It was on the main road so got a bit noisy from traffic (not a problem if you have ear plugs or are a heavy sleeper). Even though the staff tried really hard to be helpful (and were helpful in the end), it seemed like every simple thing took longer than it should - like 15 minutes to check in, 5 minutes to pay for breakfast.
Also, depending on what you want from the hostel, you might find it a bit bland. There didn't seem to be any other backpackers there, it was mostly large school and family groups.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberec
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A couple of years ago I have started my "short ladies ´holidays" . My friend and me we have been twice in Dresden and this year in Nuremberg. Every time in this chain of hotels. Goog standard hotel, close to railway station, what is good, you don´t need to take care for the car. Price is in the relation to the quality of service. Breakfast also for the amount of money sufficient. Fot the next year we again paln to visit some of the next places with A&O hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 13-15, D-90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.