We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to get the listening device” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende
Bayernstrasse 110, 90478 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 911 2315666
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$30*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds...
Ranked #1 of 146 things to do in Nuremberg
Attraction details
Pompano Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You have to get the listening device”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The exhibit was done nicely but if you go you have to get the listening device or it won't be any fun as everything is in German. There were two smaller exhibits on the sides but they had no translations so we briskly walked thru. Kind of warm in some spots but very interesting and thought provolking

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    209
    44
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything was in chronological order and very easy to follow. Everything was in both English and German and an audio guide included in the ticket price so it was very understandable. We went there with a tour so we only had about an hour there but we could have easily spend 2 or 3 hours to read through, watch and listen to everything.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Time Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found it really easy to get to the Centre by bus. The stop is right outside the main doors, so it was even convenient on our rainy day in Nuremberg. More importantly, this centre was really awesome and was the focus of the single day we had in this quaint city. We spent an incredible 2.5 hrs there. It was remarkable how the city and its residents played an important role in generating excitement about the Nazi Party and Hitler.  There are many personal accounts reflecting on the Hitler vortex that seemed to suck everyone in.  Even though it has been several weeks since my visit I remember it vividly and learned a great deal. It's hard to believe that such a beautiful and charming place was host to such villians. Definitely go. Worthwhile.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Very well presented history of Nazism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

With the text in German and English, the Documentation Centre offers a history of the Nazi party and Nazi Germany. The focus is on the years from 1921 to 1939, and on the place of Nuremberg in that history, with a very full account of what happened and its significance. I first visited this place four years ago, and my impression is that the exhibition has been made more complete and has been sharpened a bit. There were lots of high school students in the place; I hope they learned from it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“excellent use of this historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The building is huge, I knew the idea of the architecture at the time was as grand as the politics, but nothing prepares you.
The 'museum' was a great insight into Nuremberg's past and the grandiose ideas of some insane people. It was important to keep this building as a memorial to the past, and the architect has done well to not allow the modernisation of the building to celebrate its original role

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende also viewed

 

Been to Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.