We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende
Bayernstrasse 110, 90478 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 911 2315666
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$29*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds...
Ranked #1 of 146 things to do in Nuremberg
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Documentation Center was really well done. I recommend starting your day there and buying the day pass. Then you can get in to a handful of other museums that day for free. We chose the Documentation Center and Nuremberg Trial Museum/Courtroom. Anyway...I would give yourself about 3 hours to visit this place. Included in your entry fee is an audioguide. We spent about 2 hours in the museum and didn't listen to the entire guide - there is a lot of information. Then we walked around the lake to visit the grounds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    209
    44
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Very good - but a victim of its own success - and stupid visitors ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having studied German history at University, this was on my 'must do' list! It's based in the incomplete Congress Hall. Best way to get there is on the number 9 tram which is clearly marked for the Documentation Centre and leaves from the Hauptbahnhof opposite the yellow post office building (tip - buy the all-day travel ticket at €5.10 to potentially combine this with travel to other attractions). Journey takes about 10-15 minutes.

Entry is $5 Euro for adults with free audio guide. Cafe on site serving a decent coffee. Lockers available at €1 (returned) and recommended as the interior is quite warm.

Exhibits were very informative explaining the rise of the Nazis - I did not learn a lot more new, but I was fascinated by the actual insight into hour the rallies were organised. The audio guide worked very well but was slightly confusing as it would suddenly spring into life when it came near certain audio-visual displays.

You get a fantastic view of the Congress Hall from an exterior balcony and you can walk inside at ground level.

I really enjoyed my visit, but it was spoiled by a couple of things. Firstly it is a victim of its own success; I understand that it was built to cater for 100,000 visitors annually but that is now double. As a consequence, the first few rooms (which are quite small) can get packed - especially if you arrive at the same time as a coach party. Secondly, a guide for one of these coach parties insisted on giving his own commentary - loudly. Trying to listen to the audio guide was even more difficult and was very disruptive (especially as the group barged their way through to keep on their schedule). If everyone on the coach party was given an audio guide (and the majority seemed to have them), why bother causing disruption with your own commentary, however well-meant?

And finally, I had the misfortune of meeting one of the rudest / arrogant people I have ever met in my travels. Okay, I'll be charitable and say just plain dumb or stupid. You sat (with your daughter I think) in one of the smallest exhibit rooms and made an extremely loud and animated personal call on your mobile telephone, whilst everyone else was trying to read the exhibits or listen to the audio guide. You ignored the dirty looks and carried on regardless. I was so tempted to follow you around and start my own conversation right behind you. Your total lack of respect for others and ignorance was breath-taking - shame on you. Note to the management - can you put up some 'No Mobiles' signs please?

Okay, rant over. I understand that there are plans afoot to expand the centre, which should alleviate the over-crowding issue. Things can only get better. In the interim, still well worth visiting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for History, Take the Tram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pretty cool if you like history, if not I wouldn't recommend this specific place. Instead I'd recommend the non-history lovers to just walk around the entire complex. Nuremberg turned this Nazi complex into an absolutely beautiful park with tons of running/walking trails with benches scattering the trail.

Take the #9 Tram toward Docu-Zentrum if you are coming from the Hauptbahnhof, it's the easiest route to get there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Huge amount of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is one of the best things to see in Nuremberg, if you like history. You could spend days in there, but using the audio tour you can listen as much as you like to the exhibits. Very interesting and fair presentation of the facts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Feeling of being at times of Third Reich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I could feel the vibes of the Nazi army parade at the Stadium , i could hear the shouting Nazi soldiers with Hitler taking the guard of honor. i could see the sufferers being crushed. i felt it for almost two weeks after that. one should be here at least once in lifetime.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende also viewed

 

Been to Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.