We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can make for a long visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende
Bayernstrasse 110, 90478 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 911 2315666
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$30*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds...
Ranked #1 of 146 things to do in Nuremberg
Attraction details
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can make for a long visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is loaded, I repeat, loaded with information regarding the rising of the Nazi party and it's place in WWII. There is an audioguide that you carry, type in the number, press against your ear. There are no artifacts but a plethora of printed panels with detailed information. There are also short films scattered throughout. It is almost information overload but for a WWII buff this is a must see. We also walked out to the parade grounds and stood where Hitler stood and it is a bit creepy to imagine the 100K + soldiers in front of you. Plan on at least 2+ hours or more to visit the Documentation Center plus parade ground.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    209
    44
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“the best museum ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I will start by saying I am not a museum fan, I prefer to walk the streets and wander around to get to know a town, and its people. but to this museum we went, and spent the whole afternoon, It is so well organised, so clear in all the explanations, so interesting. It makes you really understand how many things happened, what is what triggered what happened and how did the Reich end. Really great, I think anybody near, should take a detour just to go to Nuremberg (very nice little town) and this museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gorah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“History not to be forgotten....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Be prepared to walk....and walk....but it's worth tired feet to see this wonderful exhibit that documents the rise and fall of the NDSP, Hitler, and all the crazy and grandiose ideas they had. If history is not to be repeated, then this important exhibit and grounds need to be seen.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Give yourself a full day (at least - 2 afternoons would be optimal) to walk through this center and the area surrounding. There are films & side audio documentaries with most of the exhibits. And you may want to walk the grounds to consider everything you learned during the tour. Whether you know a lot about this period of history or know next to nothing, you won't be disappointed. They have done a stellar job of exhibiting the that period of history.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“You Could Almost Hear Hitler Speak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We walked around the lake past the Congress Hall. Gary, Kenny, and I visited the Grossestrasse, the broad avenue that connected the Rally Grounds to the center of Nuremberg. But by far the best experience was standing in front of the speaker's platform --- the Zeppelin Tribunal --- in the Zeppelin Field. Although the stand are overgrown with weeds and falling into ruins, I could imagine Hitler speaking, addressing the Nazi Party Conferences in the 1930's up through 1938 as flags waved in the background. The monumental setting, the vastness of the field, the lighting effects could all help explain why so many of those attending the rallies were spellbound by what he said. Visiting the Rally Grounds helps the modern visitor understand World War 2.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende also viewed

 

Been to Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.