We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausage Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bratwurst Roeslein

Bratwurst Roeslein
Rathausplatz 6 | 90403 Nurnberg, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Sebald)
+49 911 214860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 891 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Sebald
Description: The "Bratwurst Roslein" is the worlds biggest Nuernberg Sausage restaurant. In several rooms you can taste original and regional franconian style. Also the famous Nuernberg Sausages. Chef Michael Foerster is a Master Butcher and guarantees the best quality you can get.
Bristol
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Sausage Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The service is brilliant. The atmosphere is excellent. The amount of people visiting and eating here is astounding but the place operates like clockwork. Menus are typically German but are biased towards the local Franconian cuisine - this means sausages, duck, pork, sauerkraut and red cabbage oh! and the dumplings. Be careful of the dumplings, they could seriously affect your immediate future movements. The beer is fantastic and we actually ate twice in the same day at this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    194
    71
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

While shopping in the old town market square, we walked in and made reservations for later. It is a large restaurant and very popular with crowds of tourists. That said, it was a good central choice especially when tired and hungry. We had large orders of good German food and beer. The service was friendly and not rushed. We were glad we had made the reservations because, despite its size, it fills up. Make sure you order the pretzels!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice lunch after shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

we were shopping through Nurnberg and decided to pop in. We wanted nurnbergers, but didn't want to eat them outside in a few stands that were already being set up for the Christkindlmarkt. We popped in here, after lunch rush hours, and had good and fast service, and delicious nurnbergers with potato salad (me) and sauerkraut (hubs) along with a side order of fries, which were also crispy and delicious. would definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Too big restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

huge traditional restaurants with huge amount of visitors. Bratwurst worse than Bratwursthaussle but tastes not so dusty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“average German food; good but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For a German restaurant in Germany it's just average to me (being a German). If that place was in the US, I'd probably consider it as pretty good. - that gives you an idea about the quality.

They have some good meat, Knodel and German side dishes - but nothing that'll really wow you.

What I probably like the least is the atmosphere: it's loud and hectic, kind of impersonal and rather touristy.

All in all, a decent place with decent food but nothing you'll probably rave about in the end ...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bratwurst Roeslein also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Bratwurst Roeslein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bratwurst Roeslein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.