We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food; very good service; German atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pillhofer

Pillhofer
Konig Str.78, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 791 restaurants in Nuremberg
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding food; very good service; German atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was an excellent experience!!
The servide started with a very positive and smile when I walked in. Despite the fact that I did not have a reservation, the staff immediately seated me with another guest.

The Goulasch soup was very good and had a high quality meat and vegetable base. Very good!!

The Schaeuferl Pfanne was excellent!! Right amount of food, very tasty food, great red cabbage, the dumplin was presented sliced, and the meat was also slices. Unusual for Schaeuferle.

I highly recommend this restaurant!

The price and food combination is excellent!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    31
    48
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“perfect ambience and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Right at the center, a block from the Train Station, this restaurant came recommended by my hotel staff, and by it's feel from the outside. Booths or tables for couples, and a communal long table for we singles. The other single diners there were reading papers, doing their homework and chatting if called upon.
Good beer, great wine- all with a full glass, quick service and a smile better than a London Pub. Super friendly staff in traditional clothing.
But the food made the evening. A good portion of an 18th century recipe for pork with Sauerkraut, seemingly authentic [ hard to say I never ate in Nuremberg during the 18th century].
The room looked and sounded good, the food was great, the experience friendly and when I went to the street, full and half drunk I'd spent 22 Euros.
For reference, my hotel nearby would have charged 65 euros from the same meal and Im somehow sure it wouldn't have been as good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed in Nuremberg two nights Jan 2013 and ended up eating here both nights. The food is traditional Frankish food so you need to turn up with an appetite! Everything tasted delicious and the service was great. The place has a lovely atmosphere and is very reasonably priced. Would definitely return if in Nuremberg.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentically Bavarian + friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge from the Le Meridian across the street.

We ordered a small pint of Radler Beer(3.30Euros), 6 signature Barvarian Bratwurste(7.70Euros) and Sauerbraten(13.90Euros, a pot roast). Everything tasted great, and the portion were huge.

This was a perfect lunch spot, nicely decorated, friendly staff with good foods, will definitely be back if we're in Nuremberg again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
846 reviews 846 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 302 cities Reviews in 302 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
“Huge portions, restaurant maybe a bit "folksy"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The food's OK, especially from the point of view of quantity. (The Leberknodelsuppe came in a container like a soup-tureen.) But why do they put the dates of their recipes on the menu ? And do waiters in Nuremberg usually wear shorts ?

Prices reasonable. Beer fair. Atmosphere (early evening) good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pillhofer also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Pillhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillhofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.