We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location next to Old City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Nuernberg-City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Nuernberg-City to your Saves list
Motel One Nuernberg-City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location next to Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is an excellent hotel, 5 min walk to the Old City entrance. It is rated as a 2-star hotel, but it should easily be a 3-star hotel. I've stayed in 3- (or even 4-) star hotels elsewhere in Europe that were not even close to the quality of this hotel. It's fully renovated, with flat screen TVs in each room and modern bathroom appliances. We paid 59 euro per room (we had 2 rooms) and had absolutely nothing to complain about. The parking is in the back of the hotel (extra charge), and, contrary to what others think, the wireless service in the lobby is complimentary. You only get charged for the wireless service in your room. The rooms don't have phones, alarm clocks or toiletries beyond shower gel/shampoo, but you can get them from the reception desk if you want any (except for the phones, of course :)).

The rooms are spotless, everything is brand new, and the location is perfect. We didn't try the breakfast with so many options around, but we did try the bar, which had lots of options (esp. for a 2-star hotel!). It's a great value and I see no reason why one should stay at the NH across the street (which is much more expensive). We enjoyed our stay in Nuremberg and would stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    142
    32
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
88
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I was in Nurnberg to visit the embedded world show. I requested my friends to book a hotel close to Hbf (Main Train Station). And truly Motel One that is located on Bahnhofsstraße Street is just 200mts of Nuremberg Main Train Station.

I was informed that its a brand new hotel. The lobby is spacious and modern. They have net access in the lobby but at a charge.
The rooms, though modern are not spacious and are like most European hotels-small.

The breakfast spread is decent and had nothing to complain on the service part.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — non availabity of complimentary net service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

The hotel's website says that it's "adjacent" to the train station, but that's an exaggeration -- it's two or three hundred meters away, and in an odd direction away from the old city. Not too bad if you want to be near Altstadt, which everyone would.

The two-bed double was a tiny room, too tiny, really, for two beds. At 59 euros a night it wasn't a terrible value, but it was too cramped.

There was parking out back (didn't use it), and we didn't eat the extra-cost breakfast. There were some PCs in the lobby; signs said that it was 4 euros for the first hour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Motel One is a great value for what you get. The rooms were clean, free wifi and it was reasonably close to the old town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a good value as it was a very big spread. The only thing I could nitpick was the music that the TV played when you entered the room. It was kind of creepy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Motel One was great value for money. It was very clean and everythgin was new. It is right on two tram lines - the #4 which can taKe you the South TO North length of the old town up to the Castle & Durer's and the #6 which takes you to Documentation Center. The parking is an extra 5 euros per day, but the motel is directly outside the city which is soooooooo much easier than trying to park within the city walls. If you are on the ground floor then ask to be on a higher floor because you can hear footsteps come into the lobby at night. If you are facing the htoel then the parkign garage is on the right side.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I went to Nuremberg in December and I was afraid of finding a cold or uncomfortable place due as the low rate I find on the internet for this hotel.
I arrived early in the morning and I was really surprised by the quality and the features of this property.
Is located just 1 minute away from the train station and it forces you to go by walk to the city centre, wich is perfect because you can discover the old streets of Nuremberg along the walking.
The staff at the reception was so kind. They gave me a nice room, very quiet.
The hotel is completely brand new so you find everything you need inside. Bar, Internet in the room, free Internet in the lobby and the best thing, a LCD Television as a fireplace!!! with real sound!! Trust me, it makes you feel better...
Nuremberg is a great city and this hotel helps even more to enjoy the city.
If I go back to Nuremberg I will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We only stayed in Nurnberg one night, but this hotel was a great place to spend it. It is close enough to walk to the old town and felt safe when walking back at night. It seems new and pretty modern. The rooms were good, not too small, but not overly large, clean with plenty of hot water. There was free wifi internet in the lobby or you can pay for it in your room. Staff was professional and helpful. Parking was 5 Euro/day, a reasonable charge. You won't need your car once you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Nuernberg-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Nuernberg-City

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Nuernberg-City 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Motel One Nuernberg-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Nuernberg City
One Nuernberg City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Nuernberg-City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.