We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Charming. Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Nuernberg-City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Nuernberg-City to your Saves list
Motel One Nuernberg-City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect. Charming. Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I went to Nuremberg in December and I was afraid of finding a cold or uncomfortable place due as the low rate I find on the internet for this hotel.
I arrived early in the morning and I was really surprised by the quality and the features of this property.
Is located just 1 minute away from the train station and it forces you to go by walk to the city centre, wich is perfect because you can discover the old streets of Nuremberg along the walking.
The staff at the reception was so kind. They gave me a nice room, very quiet.
The hotel is completely brand new so you find everything you need inside. Bar, Internet in the room, free Internet in the lobby and the best thing, a LCD Television as a fireplace!!! with real sound!! Trust me, it makes you feel better...
Nuremberg is a great city and this hotel helps even more to enjoy the city.
If I go back to Nuremberg I will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    142
    32
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
88
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We only stayed in Nurnberg one night, but this hotel was a great place to spend it. It is close enough to walk to the old town and felt safe when walking back at night. It seems new and pretty modern. The rooms were good, not too small, but not overly large, clean with plenty of hot water. There was free wifi internet in the lobby or you can pay for it in your room. Staff was professional and helpful. Parking was 5 Euro/day, a reasonable charge. You won't need your car once you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

great and cheap hotel. Finally we found comfy and clean and new which is very important for Germany hotels. Rooms are simple but well designed. Not too big, but were going to Christmas market and we only slept in room. Bathroom is very clean as well as room. Breakfast is good. great concept, great hotel. 10 min.walking to the centre of town.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed at the Motel One for one night in December. The hotel is two streets down from the train station - very convenient. Since the entrance to the old city center is across from the train station, this is also a perk. The reception staff were very pleasant, nice and professional. The hotel is relatively new and immaculate. They offer free wireless internet access in the lobby which is a huge perk - most hotels charge from 10 Euros/day to use this service. We did pay the $6.50 for the breakfast buffet. It was a typical German breakfast - deli meat, rolls, cheese, fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, tea, etc. Under normal circumstances I would not have paid this for the breakfast as a breakfast from a local bakery would cost under 2 Euro/person, but we needed this added convenience. The hotel room was small, but set up in a way to maximize space. The bathroom was beautiful (but only enough room for 1). There was a hair dryer - a real one - in the room. When you enter the room and put your key card in the slot, the flat screen TV automatically turns on and airs a fire in a fire place with the appropriate sounds of crackling wood - nice touch. The hotel is 100% non-smoking also - HUGE BONUS!! We could not hear our neighbors, but since we were on the 1st floor (American 2nd floor), we did face the train tracks to the train station and could hear the trains, but it was not disturbing and did not keep us up.

Great hotel, we will be back. Great rates!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was really warm in the lobby.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The hotel is a very good value option for staying Nurnberg.
It is less than 5 minutes walk from the main station and very easy to find
The staff on reception were very friendly all the time we were there.
Rooms are fairly small but the bed was very comfortable. There is a TV in the room but no drink facilities - not a problem as drinks are available in the foyer area. We were on the road side and did not find any problems with traffic noise. In summer it may be more of a problem depending on how good the A/C is.

Bathroom is well designed and modern. Shower was very good, my only minor moan was that the sink is deliberately designed without a plug - wastes water when having a wet shave.

Breakfast was fine for the money paid and despite being busy every morning we were there we never waited for a table despite warning us that there might be queues and found that tables were cleared and food replenished very quickly.

In summary a great value hotel - lovely modern design, not many added extras but if you want them go somewhere else and pay 2-3 times the price

  • Liked — Location and cost
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Motel One Nurnberg-City for three nights from late November to early December. The location of the hotel is convenient as it is close to the railway station and easy to find. However traffic noise (my room is facing a main road, I have no idea whether another side that face the railway track is noisy or not) is inevitable. However it was quiet when we closed the window and turned on the air-conditioner. The hotel building is very new and modern in style. The room and the washroom, as others have said, were small (but adequate to us). My wife complained the water spray that was not strong enough and we had to wait for the hot spray water for almost a minute. In general the room was clean and comfortable. We found that this hotel was rather popular as the breakfast room was quite crowded after 8am (well the staff had informed us about this). Nevertheless the breakfast buffet was better than expected and the food supply was adequate. The staff was polite. In short the Motel One Nurnberg-City is a good basic hotel.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — water spray system
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

The hotel is basic, but the value is great.
The staff is very friendly. The decor in the room was ok. Even though the bathroom is extremely small, it's new and clean.
The breakfast in the morning was also cheap and better than expected. The hotel seems popular to business travelers, families and young people.
The lobby is a nice place to hang out.
The only negative thing I could find, was the view, which was awfull.
We didn't have high expectations, and were happy about our choice.

  • Liked — The great value
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Nuernberg-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Nuernberg-City

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Nuernberg-City 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Motel One Nuernberg-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Nuernberg City
One Nuernberg City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Nuernberg-City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.