We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Nuernberg-City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Nuernberg-City to your Saves list
Motel One Nuernberg-City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very clean and modern hotel well situated near the train station. We found the staff to be excellent. They helped with the smallest details, gave excellent suggestions and were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    146
    33
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
89
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed for one night. Location is convenient at the train station which is very close to downtown, in walking distance to the center of Nürnberg. The hotel is not extravagant, but it has most of everything you need. Value is very good, you get free internet, a good comfortable (albeit small) room. I do recommend the breakfast, as there is nothing else around and it's good. If price is an issue and you are not planning on spending much time in the room - this is it.
Dinner or lunch is a no, and the lounge at night seems to be a popular place to have a drink or take a meeting.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbauer, Manager at Motel One Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the goodreview of our hotel!
If the offered Snacks at the Bar Lounge is not fitting your needs we would be glad to recommend a good restaurant within walking distance to the hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
your Team from the Motel-One Nuremberg-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

You get what you pay for though the room could have a few more amenities, it is very bare , but very clean and tidy and a good base for a city break, especially during xmas market, excellent airport access and great staff

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbauer, Manager at Motel One Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel, especially the mentioned quality of our staff. It is part of our concept to offer rooms on a high quality base with reduced amenities (i.e minibar is replaced with our Bar Lounge which is at your service 24/7) at a sustainable low budget rate.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
your Team from the Motel-One Nuremberg-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We came for the Christmas market and knew it was a busy time of year. Called ahead to make sure there would be parking, and the receptionist informed us that they could not reserve parking but if we got there by X time, we would be fine. Lot was completely full when we got there (earlier than the time recommended), and so the receptionist pointed up the street to where there was another open lot. This "lot" was a part of a construction site that you had to back out of to exit, and also completely full. We drove around for about 45 minutes before we found another place that was about 10 min walk from the hotel. I know this is partially due to the busy tourist crowd, but if you are coming here with a car during a busy time, you will likely find yourself in a similar predictament (this may extend for all hotels on this strip unless they take parking reservations).

Gave it only 2 stars because when we returned from the market, we were annoyed to find that by that time the hotel was relaxing their policy for the guests that came after us, allowing them to park on the sidewalk directly in front of the building, whereas we were not allowed to. Also, you have no temperature control in the room, and though it was hot, we couldn't sleep with the windows open because of the noise from the train tracks directly below. Another random oddity - no handsoap in the bathroom; just another bottle of shampoo/body wash.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Great modern hotel walking distance to the Christmas market while not being too expensive. Yes the rooms are a little smaller, however it was still comfortable and if it helps keep the price down, that's fantastic.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Booked this hotel purely based on price and wasn't expecting much.
It's very modern and the TVs playing footage of a real fireplace is a little cheesy but that's the only negative.
5 mins walk from the Hauptbahnhof (although you can't walk on the footpaths at the moment because of the construction site, it's a bit scary trying to run across the busy road with no crossing).
Rooms were very comfortable, shower was amazing and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Nice hotel with great ameneties for the price. At 89 Euro/night, you have a very comfortable lobby and lounge area, and convenient location just a 5 min walk from Nurnberg Hbf.

Pros:
- The lobby is cheerfully decorated and brightly furnished. It feels airy, welcoming, cozy, and modern.
- Rooms and bathroom are very clean and modern (yet cozy). The bed was hard (as German beds tend to be), but very very comfortable.
- Breakfast (8 euro) is affordable and plentiful. Cured meats, cheese slices, breads, a phenomenal croissant, cereals, yogurt, fruit, tomato, coffee drinks, and juices.
- Location: 5 min walk from Hbf, 7 min walk to Königstraße and the alstadt.
- Service was good -- they provide irons, ironing board, sewing kit, etc at the front desk. The staff could be a pretty curt with you, but they were always helpful.
- For 89 euro/night, you can't really go wrong with this place!!



Cons:
- Rooms are very very small. This is where you get what you pay for.
- Rooms don't have iron, refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock, etc.
- While the hotel's location makes it conveniently close to nightlife & restaurants, its immediate vicinity is not very warm or welcoming. During our visit, there was a lot of construction taking place right next to it -- and there is no other building flanking its other side -- which made it slightly difficult to find/see, and making the area feel a bit less than safe.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel One Nuernberg-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Nuernberg-City

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 18, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#25 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Nuernberg-City 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel One Nuernberg-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Nuernberg City
One Nuernberg City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Nuernberg-City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.