We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel, Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Probst

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuremberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Probst
Save Saved
You added Hotel Garni Probst to your Saves list
Luitpoldstrasse 9, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Nuremberg
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Top Hotel, Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked this hotel back in March for me and my mum to to go the Christmas markets as it was so reasonably priced for two single rooms, had good reviews and was an excellent location right by the main station.

Now when we arrived, the lift was very old and the main area was looking a bit tired, but once we got into our rooms they were really well laid out, a great size and I loved the little couch so I could watch tv.

The bathroom was clean, an ok size and had all the amenities you could need.

Now onto the breakfast, oh my word, this could not have been any better - from the breadrolls, the delicious cereals, juice, eggs, fresh fruit, just the wide selection of foods, it was such a great way to start the day - we loved it.

A highlight for us was the evening attendant at the hotel, with his great stories about Australians and his Judy Garland references!

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel, it really added to the wonderful experience that was Nürnberg and the Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a wonderful family run boutique hotel!. There must be 4 generations working very hard to run their business.

We took the bus to Nuremberg from Prague - it stops right in front of the train station and Garni Probst is about 2 blocks on the all pedestrian Allstadt (Old Town).

My german is very little, and all at the hotel have very good English.
I was surprised at how spacious our room was for the price - couch - table - ample dressing area. Comes with a hair dryer (a must) and wifi is 5 Euro. . . . we had a small hiccup with the way a newer tablet connects and Suzanne fixed the problem immediately.

Some said the breakfast was small - they must not have looked very hard! You are asked if you would like one or two soft boiled eggs made on the spot for you, meat, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, juices - and . . . tada! A POT of coffee at your table - not a cup! KUDOS!

The hotel is safe and secure and I plan on coming back!

Room Tip: Wifi charge is password secured for only ONE device (if you have more than one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 315 cities Reviews in 315 cities
766 helpful votes 766 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A straightforward, slightly old-fashioned hotel in the centre of town, a couple of hundred yards from the train station, with exceptionally kindly and helpful owners.

Bed comfortable, breakfast excellent, price very reasonable. If ever I go back to Nuremberg I'll stay at the Garni Probst again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is one of very rare where I haven't found a single fault! Being a very frequent traveler, I can say it was an amazing stay and I definetely recomenda and will come back again!
We were lucky to get a room since times of fair can get very busy, last room in the city. It was a beautiful renovated room, nice warm bathrooom. Breakfast selection was one of the best. Many variery and even fresh fruit and tomatoes,gat coffee and fresh bread.
Parking is available in 200m distanced garage fo 10€/24hrs (purchased at hotel!). Location is top, citycentre and very quiet. Sleep quality is excelent!
Reception and other staff are exceptionaly nice and with a great sense of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for inner side rooms, they look on to the courtyard and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We found it to be newly renovated, friendly, and everything that we needed during our stay in Nuremberg. Our room was quite large, had abeautifully renovated bathroom, was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom did not have a hairdryer, but we were able to borrow one from the hotel office. We loved the location that was so close to the train station...just steps away. It was a great location for everything that we did in the city. The breakfast was ample and the family who owned the hotel were very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this is a small, family run hotel, and should be considered in this context. Firstly, everyone who worked in the hotel was extremely friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. However, this can't take away from the fact that our room looked pretty tired, run down and worn, and had obviously seen better days. Same can be said for the bathroom which was equally shabby.

Our room looked out on the street below, which as others have pointed out contains a couple of bars and some sex shops / strip clubs. Problems arose when we were woken each night by people exiting these establishments (we stayed Saturday night and Sunday night) which was not great.

Location is ok - close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk through the town centre to the old town.

All in all, we had an ok stay and it was acceptable for our needs given the price we paid (60 euros per night). That said, we would probably look elsewhere should we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. It's a family-run business and you can tell... They're not overly professional, but trying their best to be helpful. Considering the rather low price, it's not a terrible place, but could be so much better. The "reception area" is not welcoming at all, seems more like a set for an 80s revival movie.

Don't expect too much from breakfast. There's a very nice café across the street, though. Some rooms have been renovated, others are very tired and in need of renovation...like our room. It reeked of cigarettes and was very small. When we asked for a different room, we were shown a slightly nicer room, but not nice enough to actually warrant a move. Too bad.

Location is very convenient inside the city walls, everything can be done by foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Probst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Probst

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 9, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Probst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.