We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, economical city-centre hotel - ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Probst

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuremberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Probst
Save
You added Hotel Garni Probst to your Saves list
Luitpoldstr. 9 | 90402 Nuremberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,007 reviews 1,007 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 336 cities Reviews in 336 cities
864 helpful votes 864 helpful votes
“Simple, economical city-centre hotel - ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A straightforward, slightly old-fashioned hotel in the centre of town, a couple of hundred yards from the train station, with exceptionally kindly and helpful owners.

Bed comfortable, breakfast excellent, price very reasonable. If ever I go back to Nuremberg I'll stay at the Garni Probst again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kranj, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is one of very rare where I haven't found a single fault! Being a very frequent traveler, I can say it was an amazing stay and I definetely recomenda and will come back again!
We were lucky to get a room since times of fair can get very busy, last room in the city. It was a beautiful renovated room, nice warm bathrooom. Breakfast selection was one of the best. Many variery and even fresh fruit and tomatoes,gat coffee and fresh bread.
Parking is available in 200m distanced garage fo 10€/24hrs (purchased at hotel!). Location is top, citycentre and very quiet. Sleep quality is excelent!
Reception and other staff are exceptionaly nice and with a great sense of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for inner side rooms, they look on to the courtyard and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We found it to be newly renovated, friendly, and everything that we needed during our stay in Nuremberg. Our room was quite large, had abeautifully renovated bathroom, was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom did not have a hairdryer, but we were able to borrow one from the hotel office. We loved the location that was so close to the train station...just steps away. It was a great location for everything that we did in the city. The breakfast was ample and the family who owned the hotel were very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this is a small, family run hotel, and should be considered in this context. Firstly, everyone who worked in the hotel was extremely friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. However, this can't take away from the fact that our room looked pretty tired, run down and worn, and had obviously seen better days. Same can be said for the bathroom which was equally shabby.

Our room looked out on the street below, which as others have pointed out contains a couple of bars and some sex shops / strip clubs. Problems arose when we were woken each night by people exiting these establishments (we stayed Saturday night and Sunday night) which was not great.

Location is ok - close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk through the town centre to the old town.

All in all, we had an ok stay and it was acceptable for our needs given the price we paid (60 euros per night). That said, we would probably look elsewhere should we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. It's a family-run business and you can tell... They're not overly professional, but trying their best to be helpful. Considering the rather low price, it's not a terrible place, but could be so much better. The "reception area" is not welcoming at all, seems more like a set for an 80s revival movie.

Don't expect too much from breakfast. There's a very nice café across the street, though. Some rooms have been renovated, others are very tired and in need of renovation...like our room. It reeked of cigarettes and was very small. When we asked for a different room, we were shown a slightly nicer room, but not nice enough to actually warrant a move. Too bad.

Location is very convenient inside the city walls, everything can be done by foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melnik, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this nice and cosy hotel for just 1 night and we loved it there.
The family Probst is really very nice, friendly and hearty!
I will surely be coming back to this hotel whenever I'll return to Nuremberg
The location is great, since it's very close to Nuremberg's HBF (Train, Bus, Tram) station besides being also very close to the city center and its multiple shops.
The breakfast was also very good for the overall price we paid. Of course in some other places where you'll pay more, maybe the breakfast buffet will have more variety.
Notes: We didn't go there by car, so I can't say much about how it's with car parking. We also didn't need Internet so we're unaware about Wi-Fi availability/pricing(if any)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Already enjoyed multiple visits to this cosy and friendly hotel, very close to the main train station. Small and good rooms, great breakfast (5€), wireless LAN (5€) and great experience in the elevator to enter the hotel ;-)
Very friendly and supportive people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Probst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Probst

Address: Luitpoldstr. 9 | 90402 Nuremberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Probst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.