We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Probst

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuremberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Probst
Save
You added Hotel Garni Probst to your Saves list
Luitpoldstr. 9 | 90402 Nuremberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this is a small, family run hotel, and should be considered in this context. Firstly, everyone who worked in the hotel was extremely friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. However, this can't take away from the fact that our room looked pretty tired, run down and worn, and had obviously seen better days. Same can be said for the bathroom which was equally shabby.

Our room looked out on the street below, which as others have pointed out contains a couple of bars and some sex shops / strip clubs. Problems arose when we were woken each night by people exiting these establishments (we stayed Saturday night and Sunday night) which was not great.

Location is ok - close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk through the town centre to the old town.

All in all, we had an ok stay and it was acceptable for our needs given the price we paid (60 euros per night). That said, we would probably look elsewhere should we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. It's a family-run business and you can tell... They're not overly professional, but trying their best to be helpful. Considering the rather low price, it's not a terrible place, but could be so much better. The "reception area" is not welcoming at all, seems more like a set for an 80s revival movie.

Don't expect too much from breakfast. There's a very nice café across the street, though. Some rooms have been renovated, others are very tired and in need of renovation...like our room. It reeked of cigarettes and was very small. When we asked for a different room, we were shown a slightly nicer room, but not nice enough to actually warrant a move. Too bad.

Location is very convenient inside the city walls, everything can be done by foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melnik, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this nice and cosy hotel for just 1 night and we loved it there.
The family Probst is really very nice, friendly and hearty!
I will surely be coming back to this hotel whenever I'll return to Nuremberg
The location is great, since it's very close to Nuremberg's HBF (Train, Bus, Tram) station besides being also very close to the city center and its multiple shops.
The breakfast was also very good for the overall price we paid. Of course in some other places where you'll pay more, maybe the breakfast buffet will have more variety.
Notes: We didn't go there by car, so I can't say much about how it's with car parking. We also didn't need Internet so we're unaware about Wi-Fi availability/pricing(if any)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Already enjoyed multiple visits to this cosy and friendly hotel, very close to the main train station. Small and good rooms, great breakfast (5€), wireless LAN (5€) and great experience in the elevator to enter the hotel ;-)
Very friendly and supportive people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while visiting the Weihnachtmarkt in December 2011. The room was larger than the typical European hotel room with fluffy down comforters, a great bathroom and the location is perfect- just a few minutes to the train station and all of the shopping! The hotel staff was so kind. We will always stay at Hotel Garni Probst when we visit Nurnberg!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 nights in a quadruple room. The room wasn't terribly large, but we really only in the room to sleep and take afternoon breaks. The bathroom was pretty small, but OK for 2 adults and 2 children. We were on the 3rd floor, which is where the reception and breakfast room is located. The very small elevator stops on this floor, making it easy to transport luggage. The hotel is located within the city wall and on a pedestrian only street. We were able to park outside the hotel to unload our luggage. The safe, clean parking garage is located a very short distance away. We had a rental car, and the garage was 13 euros/day.

The Probst family is very friendly and accomodating. They served our breakfast every morning, had cookies by reception throughout the day, offered gummy bears and suckers to our children, and had our key ready when we returned:)

We had absolutely no problem with the neighborhood or street noise (our room faced an inner courtyard). We went to the Christmas Market every day (short walk with lots of shopping and stalls in between) and also went to the Nazi Documentation Center (train located just outside the city wall).

We chose this hotel primarily for its location. The price was also excellent as we paid 100 euros per night. We would definitely stay there again. I would give the family and service 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an en suite bathroom on the 3rd floor. Our room faced a quiet inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is a very convenient hotel, close to the train station and downtown. We stayed here and attended the Christmas Market. It worked out very well. The family that runs the hotel were kind and accommodating. They spoke really good English and the breakfast was super. There are some strip clubs down the street, but there are also some nicer restaurants. It's kind of a mixed bag along the street. This is a nice clean hotel and a really good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Probst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Probst

Address: Luitpoldstr. 9 | 90402 Nuremberg, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Probst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.