We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weinhaus Schneider

Weinhaus Schneider
Sparkassenstr. 1, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-29161306
Update restaurant details
Ranked #132 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for a place that served Raclette - a French/Swiss cheese fondu sort of thing that is great in the cold. But we found more than good food, that atmosphere & service was extraordinary. It was a little pricey but on our next trip to Munich we will certainly have this on our itinerary!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    42
    28
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Weinhaus Schneider is a quaint German eatery right in the middle of Munich. The atmosphere/decor is very cozy and friendly and perfectly in line with what I would imagine as an old Bavarian restaurant. This restaurant was recommended to me by a local but upon arrival I noticed most people were actually tourists. From my experience, this is generally not a good sign, but fortunately in this case, my experience wasn't completely right. I came looking for Schweinbraten and was not disappointed. The Schweinebraten came on a very interesting old plate, with a Knoedel and some sauerkraut, and the portion was generous. The whole old-style decor and candlelit environment provided for a really nice dining experience, and I felt at times as if I was having dinner in medieval Bavaria. I was however slightly disappointed that the braten was a bit dry and not so crusty, as this is one of the features I like the most about it. Some people have told me that it's traditionally not crusty so maybe this was voluntarily like this, but I still prefer the crusty version from the Oktoberfest tents, so I can't avoid my disappointment. All in all I would have expected a bit more from the Schweinebraten, particularly considering the price paid. Aside from that service was very good. We were greeted with enthusiasm and the waiters were friendly and diligent throughout dinner. I was also pleasantly surprised to see a Portuguese menu, which was a first in Germany for me :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fondue restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a find! Only fondue restaurant in Munich and had a range of fondues available, my companion is vegetarian so I assumed I would have to share a cheese fondue. However the manager said they do fondues for one so I had a beef, chicken and pork fondue with six very tasty home made sauces. Staff extremely helpful, very pleasant evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with great staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've never made a review before and, sincerely, didn't have intentions to write one. But this restaurant made me want to.

Our reservation was easily done and our table was ready when we arrived. Besides the Fondue, there were other choices that seemed pretty nice (and were!!). The food came quickly, but before that they offered many entrees that were delicious. Drinks were also very special.

Being really sincere, this was the best restaurant we've been during our trip. We've been in the best restaurants in Berlin, Frankfurt and Stuttgart, but none matched the quality, staff and great atmosphere that Weinhaus has offered. Even comparing to top notch restaurants in São Paulo (Brazil) is a really good place!

The cheese fondue is out of this world, and the meet fondue (oel) is very well balanced. Chocolate fondue is also great, and you can choose between milk chocolate and white chocolate. About the atmosphere: really well decorated, romantic and clean place.

By the end, we didn't even want to know about any other restaurant. We went back there two more times in a roll! Really, it's a MUST GO restaurant!

Thank you, Michaela and all the staff from Weinhaus Schneider for the great dinner! Looking forward coming back soon =)

Best regards to all,
Alexander

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old world style- close to Marienplatz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely old Bavarian style restaurant with a menu that features mostly fondue. Delicious on a cold winter night! But be sure to make reservations as it is a rather small but very quaint establishment. The owners, Michaela and Otto were friendly and helpful and spoke English. The selection of wine and beer is fairly extensive and there is most certainly plenty of good pairings for a scrumptious fondue. I have seen other posts regarding the price of the cheese fondue but frankly, the price of cheese in the market has skyrocketed. We enjoyed a festive atmosphere, a wonderful dinner and a good chat with the owners who have had this establishment for many years. We would return again tomorrow. ( although my waistline can't handle it)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinhaus Schneider also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Weinhaus Schneider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weinhaus Schneider, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.