We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Bavarian food?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LENZ Schank und Speiselokal

LENZ Schank und Speiselokal
Pettenkoferstr. 48, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 (0)89 55239771
Improve this listing
Ranked #269 of 2,824 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Modern Bavarian food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The restaurant is supposed to be "modern bavarian food;" however, I felt that it was more american than modern. It was very good and decently priced. The portions are large and the restaurant has nice outdoor seating. If you want the authentic bavarian experience, this place is not what you're looking for. After several days of meat and potatoes, I was happy to have a change. I had salmon, which was very good. We sat outside and our waitor was super patient. The restaurant is located so close to the octoberfest ground that you can see it from the outdoor seating. I was staying at the Ghotel hotel, so it was a short distance from the hotel and the main munich train station.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    67
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to relax and enjoy good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading about this place on Tripadvisor we decided to try out this restaurant and it certainly lived up to the many positive comments written about it. The service was outstanding and the food was good quality and in very generous portions so we went back to our hotel sated and smiling!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice local place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not typical Bavarian food. The curried tomato soup was outstanding. Roast port delicious and Thai curry worth a try. Good beer, good service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great experience. Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were told there was a good Resturant around the corner from our hotel and they were right. Wonderful place with great traditional meals plus an Asian Flare.
It's well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“A winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

While looking for our nearby hotel I went in to request directions. Crowded with lunch time patrons. After checking in to hotel we decided to return for a late lunch. Food and service were outstanding. Great Wienerschnitzel. Teen-age granddaughters really enjoyed their first authentic German food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LENZ Schank und Speiselokal also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
 

Been to LENZ Schank und Speiselokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LENZ Schank und Speiselokal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.