We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halali

Halali
Schoenfeldstr. 22, 80539, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-285909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 3,229 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Simply stated: The Halali provides an outstanding dining experience at reasonable prices. The menu changes frequently and has a good selection of meat, game and fish dishes. We have dined at the Halali 3 times in the past 2 months, and each time, the food was superb. Impeccable, friendly service. The lunch menu - 3 courses at € 25.00 - is an absolute bargain. Highly recommended for special occasion dining. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank inbavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Service, Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, Service, Atmosphere. Food is fantastic. Service is very nice. abit expensive but worth to try!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to a dinner gathering with 2 of our Bavarian friends early this year. I have to say, during my stay in Munich this time Halali definitely made one of the highlight for my New Year celebration.

The restaurant had traditional interior yet posh decor, good lighting in the main dining room, maybe it was a bit too sharp for my own taste, it would be nicer if the light was dimmed down a bit throughout later the night.

Staffs are efficient and attentive, sommelier is knowledgeable and has great understanding of how to serve the wine in the proper manner, not to over chilled the white and carried out the decantation service accordingly for the red.

Truffle and Lobster, they were the highlights for my meal. The ingredients could not lie nor hide, fresh, fresh, the freshest and the best ingredients do not need to be manipulated too much by the chef! That was what HALALI showed you on the plate, actually on all the plates.

If you are happened to be in one of the most amazing city in Germany, pay a visit in Halali for some quality Bavarian fine food and fine dining experiences.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CG0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian hunting fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Halali provides an upscale Bavarian experience just outside the center of the city and the Hofgarten. We stayed at the Vierjahreszeiten hotel and walked through the lovely Hofgarten pas the Bavarian capital to get to the restaurant. The menu features wild game prepared in traditional Bavarian ways. It helps to have a reasonable command of German here as the owner and waitstaff struggled a bit with English, but no matter they are very warm and hospitable and glad for your business. Most of the clientele appear to be well-heeled Munich denizens. The atmosphere is quite nice with lots of game trophies (mainly antlers) displayed on the walls. The desserts are also excellent and the chef presented us with a couple amuse bouches during the meal as well. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I'd booked this based on TA reviews, and it didn't disappoint. Lovely atmosphere, and nice menu though a little limiting if you refuse to eat foie gras (like I do!). Asparagras soup was light and flavoursome, and turbot fillet in ceps crust and ravioli just delicious.

Service was immaculate but friendly and unstuffy and we were surprised to see it less than half full on a Saturday evening. Locals obviously do not appreciate what they have on their doorstep! With aperitifs and 2 bottles of wine the bill was around €230 for 3 of us before service, which whilst not cheap, was acceptable for the quality. Maybe the "Münchners" don't agree!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halali also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Halali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing