We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halali

Halali
Schoenfeldstr. 22, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-285909
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,721 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Simply stated: The Halali provides an outstanding dining experience at reasonable prices. The menu changes frequently and has a good selection of meat, game and fish dishes. We have dined at the Halali 3 times in the past 2 months, and each time, the food was superb. Impeccable, friendly service. The lunch menu - 3 courses at € 25.00 - is an absolute bargain. Highly recommended for special occasion dining. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    36
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Service, Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, Service, Atmosphere. Food is fantastic. Service is very nice. abit expensive but worth to try!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to a dinner gathering with 2 of our Bavarian friends early this year. I have to say, during my stay in Munich this time Halali definitely made one of the highlight for my New Year celebration.

The restaurant had traditional interior yet posh decor, good lighting in the main dining room, maybe it was a bit too sharp for my own taste, it would be nicer if the light was dimmed down a bit throughout later the night.

Staffs are efficient and attentive, sommelier is knowledgeable and has great understanding of how to serve the wine in the proper manner, not to over chilled the white and carried out the decantation service accordingly for the red.

Truffle and Lobster, they were the highlights for my meal. The ingredients could not lie nor hide, fresh, fresh, the freshest and the best ingredients do not need to be manipulated too much by the chef! That was what HALALI showed you on the plate, actually on all the plates.

If you are happened to be in one of the most amazing city in Germany, pay a visit in Halali for some quality Bavarian fine food and fine dining experiences.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian hunting fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Halali provides an upscale Bavarian experience just outside the center of the city and the Hofgarten. We stayed at the Vierjahreszeiten hotel and walked through the lovely Hofgarten pas the Bavarian capital to get to the restaurant. The menu features wild game prepared in traditional Bavarian ways. It helps to have a reasonable command of German here as the owner and waitstaff struggled a bit with English, but no matter they are very warm and hospitable and glad for your business. Most of the clientele appear to be well-heeled Munich denizens. The atmosphere is quite nice with lots of game trophies (mainly antlers) displayed on the walls. The desserts are also excellent and the chef presented us with a couple amuse bouches during the meal as well. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I'd booked this based on TA reviews, and it didn't disappoint. Lovely atmosphere, and nice menu though a little limiting if you refuse to eat foie gras (like I do!). Asparagras soup was light and flavoursome, and turbot fillet in ceps crust and ravioli just delicious.

Service was immaculate but friendly and unstuffy and we were surprised to see it less than half full on a Saturday evening. Locals obviously do not appreciate what they have on their doorstep! With aperitifs and 2 bottles of wine the bill was around €230 for 3 of us before service, which whilst not cheap, was acceptable for the quality. Maybe the "Münchners" don't agree!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halali also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Halali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.