We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Spoeckmeier

Zum Spoeckmeier
Rosenstrasse 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 268088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 2,702 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $0 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were touring along Marienplatz and wanted some traditional food and beer for lunch. This place is more intimate than the Hofbrau house. We had traditional wurst platter with sauerkraut which was all very good. It was exactly what we wanted for lunch! Neat, good service and a welcome rest from all that walking!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    72
    124
    46
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice typical Bavarian-style place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Totally central, a few m from Marienplatz, this is a very nice place where you can find the typical bavarian beer and food in a neat and comfortable environment (if you like crowded and noisy places dripping beer everywhere, than this place is maybe too clean for you ;-)
Service is good and the price is fair, considering the position and the quality of food and beer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, sensible prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ate main meals here twice during our short city break in Munich. It is conveniently located, close to Marienplatz and has traditional German fare. I had the Pork Medallions each time - yeah boring, but it tasted so good !

Lager beer was good too. Restaurant is quite busy, but food served quickly by staff in traditional dress. We enjoyed sitting outside watching the world go by. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
661 helpful votes 661 helpful votes
“Not My Favorite - Wouldn't Go Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Food was just mediocre - and you can get that ANYWHERE. They were nice enough to take our reservation for a small group so I can't complain. But really - there is better food to be had elsewhere in Munich. The Hofbrauhaus is one. Zum alt Markt is another great choice. L'Osteria in Schwabing was also good. It's not difficult to find good food in Munich so try other places before coming here. The service was also not friendly - waitress was cold and aloof.

Go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We spent two evenings here in Munich and would come back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great tradition type of atmosphere you're looking for in Munich, but without the out of control frat boys that have been drinking there all day. My husband and I stopped in one day to get out of the rain and have a beer. Ended being seated by a few guys from Northern Germany that we hit it off with and stayed the rest of the night. Great traditional food and good beer. Good for all ages. We saw tables full of older couples in there 70s, families with kids, couples like us in our middle ages and everyone just having a great time. We came back the next night to watch a big soccer game and just as fun. There are lots of great places in Munich, but this place just fit us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Spoeckmeier also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Spoeckmeier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Spoeckmeier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.