We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Spoeckmeier

Zum Spoeckmeier
Rosenstrasse 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 268088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #488 of 2,811 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $0 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Traditional German fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the most hearty sized plates of food for dinner - it really is a meat lovers delight here. The food is good and hearty and the beers are really good. So many choices here. Seem to have a lot of locals as well as tourists eating and drinking here. Near the markets and old town. Good service - quick and easy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    164
    62
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very poor food quality - Overpriced - but really relaxing bavarian atmosphere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been to that place plenty of times , mostly to enjoy my lovely Paulaner beer and try a variety of sausages, instead of a proper dinner. I really like the concept of enjoying beers in the stands and having the view of the main road.For all these I can accept an overpriced beer (4,5 is expensive also for Munich)
What I cannot accept is the really overpriced food (20euros for a below average and non-tasty schnitzel???).Have tried plenty of plates but this one was the most extreme scenario! Also Kaiserschmarrn costs around 11,50 for also a below intermediate quality!

Overall I can say it is a rather touristic place which I will never try again for a proper food but only for a beer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Traditional German Food & Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Zum Spöckmeier is a German restaurant just around the corner from the Glockenspiel of Marienplatz in Munich. Atmosphere is more of a mixture of German Gemuetlichkeit meets modern furniture. It's a warm and welcoming place. Lots of tables that seat 4 or 6 people and they have two levels, so if it is packed downstairs, head upstairs and looks for a table there. The restrooms are upstairs too.

While I speak German, I did notice that all the wait staff speak English and they have menus in English as well.

Stopped there for lunch on a Sunday around 1 PM and the place got busier as time went on. Service was prompt and efficient in the German way.

I ordered the Abgebräunter Leberkäse mit Spiegelei und Kartoffelsalat which is the German meatloaf with a sunny side up egg and potato salad. It was fantastic! See my picture.

I enjoyed an Paulaner Weiss Bier with my meal.

If you want traditional German food & beer, you can't go wrong with Zum Spöckmeier.

This restaurant accepts most credit cards including American Express.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always our first stop in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is always packed with locals. If the downstairs tables are full just head upstairs. Try the Weisswurst (white sausage-don't eat the casing). Best in town. The Paulaner beer is made in Munich and excellent. My wife always orders the "Obazda", a very special Bavarian cheese plate. The menu is huge and the chefs are wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hearty German Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We dined here for a farewell dinner after travelling with a group throughout Germany. The beer list was large and Laugen Bretzel were served with the beer which really added to the atmosphere. I did find the service a little blase- meals were placed infront of us with no explanation as to what they were. The food for the most part was quite good if not on the salty side. Apfel Strudel for dessert was excellent- an extra large serve.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Spoeckmeier also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Spoeckmeier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Spoeckmeier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.